We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience at the Britannia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #147 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Harden-Murrumburrah, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Bad experience at the Britannia”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We must have been there around the same time as some other guests commenting below. We have travelled a lot in the last few years and have never struck such a bad hotel. Unfortunately it was a long weekend and most hotels had booked out, so this one was free. Now I know why.

All went wrong from the start. Didn't get the room we pre booked. Never mind. The room and corridor carpets were very dirty and looked like they hadn't been vacuumed for a week. Hot water was non existent. The fire alarms went off at 1.00am and everyone had to exit out into the rain and cold. It ended up a false alarm after over an hour waiting in a cold garage. That didn't really matter except that they went off again at lunchtime the next day. The staff quickly turned them off.

The floors were so loose and squeaky and walls very thin. Noisy drunk people drinking outside until the early hours. The second night our ceiling started leaking from pipes up in the ceiling.

Breakfast wasn't good. Scrambled eggs had some shells in it. It was busy so they kept running out of eggs and kept people standing around for ages until some more was brought out.

Staff rushed passed in the morning and we were still in the room getting ready to leave. They just gave us some towels and toilet paper after we asked and went on there way.

We were glad we found somewhere else to stay for our remaining three days in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Don't choose here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    309
    375
    328
    600
See reviews for
225
807
97
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

A frills-free hotel with a pleasant riverside location that would be perfectly acceptable to a bargain-hunter were it properly maintained. Alas, our mattress was lumpy and squeaky, the window frame was rotten and wouldn't close fully, and the television reception was fuzzy. To top it off, a fire alarm at 1:30am resulted in 300+ guests shivering in the car park for 20 minutes before a single staff member appeared. So bad it was almost funny.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oaklands87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stay away from the Britannia Hotel at all costs! So many things went wrong here that I won't even be able to list them all. First, they put us in the wrong room. Second, the room was very sparse and there wasn't any toilet paper. Third, the breakfast was terrible and their coffee machine was "broken". They wanted to sell you coffee that was behind the bar. The bed was even more uncomfortable than my freshman dorm bed. On the second night there was a false fire alarm that went on from 130 am until 2am where everyone was rushed outside in the pouring rain. The cleaning service did not do a good job and the staff was unprofessional. They really did not care about their guests. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSooner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I are traveling abroad from Australia for our honeymoon and decided to stay at Hotel Britannia for it's fair rates and ok location.

Our first impression was that our room looked nothing like the pictures shown when we made the booking. They were doing renovations and it became apparent that we were placed in the older part of the hotel.

When we entered our room, it smelt strongly of bleach. The size was decent though. The further into our stay however, the more issues arised... On our second day, our room had been made up however we no longer had any towels and our toilet paper had not been replaced (not to mention the bed had barely been made, with cushions strewn on the floor). Staff were apathetic to our request of these, and we were eventually given a box of tissues instead of toilet paper - apparently they had run out of toilet paper even though they did not say this. We were not the only guests who had this happen to them.

We were kept awake til after 2am one morning by loud and inebriated people who were outside, despite the hotel's policy on drinking outside. Nobody from staff asked them to be quiet.

On top of this, our card key did not always work; the hot water often ran out in the shower; the buffet breakfast was not worth the money (plus a staff member tried to remove a tray of food as I was about to serve some on my plate); the wifi was frustratingly slow and would only work in the early hours of the morning; the hotel was generally noisy with staff, workers and other guests.

Overall, Hotel Britannia is not worth the cheap rate you pay. It is worth less.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my now fiance.. he proposed that night and when the staff found out they gave us a drink on the house to celebrate. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean with great facilities. Overall we had a fab night and we will definitely be back to stay again :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was booked into this hotel on 1st May 2014 by my company at the request of a colleague, after a 5 hour drive i arrived to find the receptionist wiping up blood with paper towels "unprotected" both outside & inside reception. I hesitated to check in, but did so to give it the benefit of doubt and proceeded to my allocated room, when exiting the lift on floor 2 the landing was also covered in blood. Undeterred i opened the room door and was met with large soiled carpet staines, i pulled back the bed clothing to find the mattress was heavily urine stained which confirmed my suspicions. On challenging the staff on reception, they offered me a "clean room". Duly checked out with 3 colleagues in pursuit. Do yourself a favour, stay clear of this hotel its a "minger" !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It was a nice hotel with fine breakfast but it wasn't a good idea to place the entrance where it is now! Room was little draughty but we had a nice view over the river. Staff was very helpfull! Price - quality was good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 148 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 148 in Edinburgh
628 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 148 in Edinburgh
256 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing