We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Northumberland Hotel
Ranked #149 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed here late january. It was a disaster from beginning to end. When we arrived the receptionist said she will turn on the heating and hot water. We were so cold as there was only 1 radiator, we were sitting in coats and blankets at 5pm! every day was the same.. we stayed for 3 days and every single day only 1 out of 3 of us managed to get a hot shower! Our TV didnt work, and the walls are paper thin as i got told off by the neighbours in the room next to us for laughing!! No clean towels in 3 days and room was filthy when arrived. staff unhelpful - and still awaiting a call from the manager, which never came.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlyd2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Booked one night here through laterooms.com paid £32 & to be honest wouldn't like to have paid much more for it!! We were met at the desk by the receptionist (possibly the owner) she was ok,not very talkative. Most places we've stayed at along this road the people have informed us of events that are on,which buses take you into the city centre,have you had a good run to edinburgh etc but this woman never spoke a word. We got our key & went to our room,it was ok,clean enough,very warm,bed was too hard,no remote for the tv & the channel changing button was broken so we had to change the channel with my toothbrush!!!!! There was quite a large carpark to the rear which was a plus. It's only a 5min drive from where we were going so was handy for us but probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisamacpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Upon arrival reception staff (ladies) are very friendly and welcoming, and do attend to your needs, unlike management just rude. Room was absolutely freezing! radiator did not work properly, no hot water which was a nuisance, toilet kept making a loud and monstrous sound throughout our stay. Carpet stained and dirty, TV out of use, no lamps at bed side. No light at car park when returning late at night. No lift and narrow doors to take luggage through. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND, POOR VALUE FOR MONEY, UNPLEASANT STAY IN EDINBURGH!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Booked a party in their function room and was phoned 11 days before the event to say they had double booked and were unable to cater for our party . . . Funnily enough it was on the International rugby weekend!!!
Very disappointed and the points awarded in the score are based on the fact we were unable to judge it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 6:30, room was ready and warm.. irene on front desk is a star .... very welcoming and informative.. OK bathroom a little dated but hay. We are staying for 4 nights .. very happy so far. Had a good sleep. Will write another review when I leave ...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank happyme5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Two double bedrooms
booked at short notice for six nations rugby for 1 night only. Due to scarcity of availability ended up paying £120 per room for a room that would normally go for £20. However checked in early as rooms ready, receptionist helpful re buses etc but our room only just fitted a three quarter sized bed,when pushed up against a wall covered with electrical sockets and wires . Shower poky but quite efficient although that and the basic wc/ washbasin were additions into an already minuscule room. Extractor units seemed inefficient. We had to turn sideways to allow each other to pass in the room. A cooked breakfast at an additional £ 7.50 pp was honestly the worst I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Do not stay here ever.

When we arrived at 3pm our room was absolutely freezing and e got told to wait a bit for heating and hot water. We stayed for 3 nights and in this time we were mostly without hot water and the room did not get above freezing!!!

The tv didn't work, the walls were paper thin so we were woken up at stupid hours by noise.

All and all an awful experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#136 of 151 in Edinburgh
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Twenty
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northumberland Hotel

Address: 31 - 33 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £38 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Northumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Northumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northumberland Hotel Edinburgh
The Northumberland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing