We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Addition to the West End!!”
Review of The Melville Bar

The Melville Bar
Ranked #783 of 2,805 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Newly refurbished bar/restaurant in the heart of Edinburgh's West End serving great food and cocktails. Open till 1am Daily.
Reviewed 22 March 2013

As William street locals, we are really impressed with the New Melville Bar! The place has a lovely atmosphere as soon as you walk in and a great, friendly team. We had the pleasure of meeting the chef, new managers and a few members of staff and it's really nice to see a team of people so passionate about what they are doing and creating something great for the locals and the area. The food is out of this world - absolute quality! We really recommend it & will definitely be making it our regular local from now on!

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DM J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stopped by The Melville on Thursday and was thoroughly impressed. The place has recently been through a comprehensive refurbishment and is now a very modern, high-end spot for drinks and food. In particular, the food was fantastic and really high quality, and the service was very friendly. I would definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chrisdharris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Went here with the girls from the office for the obligatory Fat Friday. Place is unrecognisable after a brilliant refurb! Menu has a good selection and a tapas style section for those looking to try a bit of everything. Prices were higher than I would expect for this part of town - I had the burger at around £9-10 which was delicious but much much smaller than you would receive for a similar price in many bars close by such as Sygn, Indigo Yard, etc. Great for those in the William Street are looking for a local but I wouldn't venture here if coming from further afield, you can get more for your money elsewhere. However, this wouldn't put me off going back, I would definitely try it again.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Sunday - good menu...until it was revealed that the Sunday specials were all that was available. Still a good choice tho - roast looked good, but chap next to us said it was a little chewy. I had very good parsnip soup with a deep fried Stilton cube. Pan fried coley with butternut squash sauce and roast potatoes also very good. Worth a visit but a little pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MilltownBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Amazing place to have a few drinks, Great, friendly staff, Good prices for the area.
Been all re-done so is looking amazing. Has some very nice finishing touches. Good food as well.
Would definitely recommend this to friends and family.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anonymous120890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Melville Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Melville Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing