We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day at The Melville Bar”
Review of The Melville Bar

The Melville Bar
Ranked #912 of 2,566 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$13 - US$27
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Newly refurbished bar/restaurant in the heart of Edinburgh's West End serving great food and cocktails. Open till 1am Daily.
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was organising a family get together so we booked in at the Melville Bar Sat 19th October there was 15 of us in total plus some children. We were there from 1.30 pm - 10-30pm, we were treated wonderfully by all the staff.
On our arrival the table, close to the bar were reserved but not set up in the way that we would have liked, so staff just simply moved them, no fuss just smiles.
The food was good, portions were really big! I had the risotto bites to start and the spicy tomato muscles for a main, lovely.
One of our steaks was sent back as it was a little rare for the diner, there was no fuss a new one was cooked, cooked to perfection and reserved with a smile.
There was even a complimentary bottle of fizz from Malcolm, thank you very much.
Your staff coped very well, as there were a lot of us to contend with!! We will be returning for our Christmas meal.
Thanks so much for our 9 hr lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Juls3299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Ive never heard of the melville before until i saw it on groupon. Me and my friend booked a table really easily which is good because i know vouchers can take sometime to use. We where greated by very friendly staff so we where instantly made to feel at home. My chicken ceaser salad was the best ive ever had. My friend had a burger and chips and weve both been back twice now as we couldnt be any happier with the service and price and how tasty the food is. Weve even become friendly with the locals to. The melville is the place to be for good food, good service and a good time overall xXx

1  Thank PINK-FOREVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We popped in earlier in the day to book a table because they said they would be
busy. We booked for just after 8 and when we arrived it was dead, 2 or 3 more
tables in and a bunch of people at the bar which turned out to be the staff that
had just finished their shift. We didn't mind too much though. After we had just
ordered, we noticed the chef was by the bar, and then we heard what ruined our
night. The female chef (Stephanie I heard the other staff members calling her)
said to the manager behind the bar 'I'm on holiday tomorrow for 5 days so I
couldn't give a s**t about the next half an hour!' she then snatched the order
from our (lovely) waitress and walked back down to the kitchen, looking over and
glaring at us on the way. We honesty could't have felt more uncomfortable. It
was just me and my boyfriend, in Edinburgh for one night and chose this place
because of the trip advisor reviews and the menu. Our night was ruined by this
one person and we wanted to get out of there as soon as we could. So
disappointed. I hope the chef enjoyed her 5 days off. She certainly made an
impact on our night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TravellerKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMelville, Chef at The Melville Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear TravellerKT,

I was really upset when I read your review. I am really sorry for the way I came across and the impression I made. It was a silly thing for me to have said, it was meant as a bit of a private jokey banter with my colleagues. I was excited about my holiday coming up and looking forward to the end of my shift and we had been really busy all day. But, that is no excuse. Please let me assure you that I would not drop my standards no matter what time an order came through and I promise I did not mean to give you any sort of look!

I can't apologise enough for making your trip to the Melville a bad experience. Should you return to our wonderful city please let me have the chance to make things up to you by returning to the Melville so that we can provide you with the experience you should have had.

Kind Regards,

Stephany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were walking back to our B&B and Melville's was on the way, so we stopped in and we're so glad! It's a pretty pub, beautfully lit, and great attentive service. We had an appentizer of black pudding on bacon and warm smoked salmon with an egg on top - ridiculously delicious. Our other food was tasty, too, and I would highly recommend this place. It was very reasonably priced, too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ppw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Had a nice lunch and few pints here after T in the Park.

Was sunny so sat on the tables outside.

Had a platter and also tried the haggis scotch egg which was really good.

Would recommend.

1  Thank rogeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Melville Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Melville Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing