We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing bar with good pub grub”
Review of The Melville Bar

The Melville Bar
Ranked #780 of 2,862 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Newly refurbished bar/restaurant in the heart of Edinburgh's West End serving great food and cocktails. Open till 1am Daily.
Reviewed 16 December 2018

We ate here on our recent trip to a local holiday rental - it was very busy, but they made a concerted effort and fitted us in for dinner. We all had good tasty pub grub and some nice local beer. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank JamesMyerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Visited here on Monday 26th Nov. Having been here previously through the day we thought it best to book. However a Monday night was obviously a quiet night and we had our choice of tables. Really good pub grub - 2 of us had the blue cheese burgers and the other had dish and chips. Good sized portions although perhaps just too much chips although we all cleared out plates. Lovely barmaid and food and drink served with a smile

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 183edithg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Found this place whilst exploring the back streets on the way to the centre
Great sandwiches and beer, barman apologised for a delay as the chef went for some fresh tomatoes - I didn't notice the delay but did use it as an excuse for another pint. Wasnt massively busy on Friday afternoon but a pleasant hour spent having a late lunch

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Lemonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Landed here as we had intended to go to the pub next door for lunch but it's been gentrified and didn't suit our needs.

We two different pints of hand pumped real ale, one was fine but the other was cloudy so perhaps not in the best of condition.

Burgers were good, some slight changes to the menu came to light when they were served but that was sorted out quickly. That needs to be addressed perhaps.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 37Wyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Great wee place to come! Me and my partner stumbled along this place, we stayed for a few cocktails which were really nice and had the nachos to share, which were tasty!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank xcheeky_chopsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Melville Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Melville Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing