We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Cosy”
Review of Kew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kew House
Ranked #7 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed in Kew House for only 1 unit during my last visit to Edinburgh. When we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed by friendly hosts who were very keen on helping with all sort of things. I was amazed once entered the room which was recently renovated. The room was a bit small but was very clean and had all amenities that you might think of. We were given recommendations from hosts on best places for dinner etc. The house is 10 minutes walk from Haymarket station and there is a bus station right in from of the main entrance making it very easily accessible.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay in bed for later, chose a room far from the breakfast room on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed at a classic double room for 3 nights at Kew House. Before our arrival, Ian (one of the owners) already recommended and helped my friend and I book a day tour to the Scotland highlands and Loch Ness. The guest house is located conveniently along the main street, and is approximately 15 minutes drive from Edinburgh airport (around 15 GBP). Alternatively, the Airlink Express 100 would drop you at the bus stop directly opposite the guest house. This same bus also takes you to the heart of the city (Princes Street area) within 20 minutes, costing 1.50 GBP. However, my friend and I preferred to walk. A leisure walk to the city centre takes around 20-30 minutes and is very enjoyable since Edinburgh is such a beautiful city!

Our room itself was extremely clean, modern and well-equipped. The breakfast is served freshly prepared for you and it was so super delicious! On days when we couldn't have the hot breakfast (when we had to leave the house early for day tour and hot breakfast starts serving at 830am), Alan even helped to pack breakfast for us so that we could take it with us! The hospitality was impeccably warm and friendly.

I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone who visits Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemrac_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We booked Kew House via the internet and in doing so one is sometimes a little concerned as to what one might find on arrival. Absolutely no worries on that score.
Our double room and public areas were luxuriously fitted and decorated. Our hosts made us warmly welcome and were very helpful with local knowledge. Bed very comfortable and en suite bathroom boasted a lovely large shower. The small touches of brownies and chocolates, fresh flowers etc. were really special extras which we greatly appreciated. Having a fridge in the room was unusual but very useful. Breakfasts were substantial and obviously prepared with great care and thought.
Our room was at the front of the house which lies on the busy main A8 route in to the city centre but in no way were we greatly troubled by traffic noise - the double glazing does its job well.
Although pensioners we are both active and mobile and the walk in to Edinburgh centre was no hardship (despite the on-going tram works) but for the less active buses stop more or less outside the front door. It was good that we could leave our car secure on the rear car park.
We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent three nights in this high class B&B and would reccomend it to you. Our twin room was comfortable - with a tiny en suite and a view of the car park! But Ian and Allan made up for any minor niggles we might have had - they were full of ideas and suggestions for things to do and see. Their breakfasts were excellent and they helped us choose good restaurants to suit our taste. The busses pass by at 10 minute intervals making it easy to just leave our car in the secure space at the rear or Kew House. We were even allowed to use Ian's laptop to check out places to eat and catch up with our emails! We would certainly go back if we ever get the chance to visit this lovely city again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trooper1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at Kew House both at the front end of our trip to Scotland, and for last four days of our two week trip. Ian was extremely helpful before we arrived helping us scope out our independent tour of Scotland by car, and his advise was excellent. Both he and Allen also provided us with excellent advice on where to eat in Edinburgh. They also did everything they could to make our visit as comfortable as possible and by the time we left, we felt we had new friends. Breakfasts were excellent. We would definitely stay there again. Our advice would be to touch base with Ian and Allen before traveling to Scotland if you are unfamiliar with it, traveling independently, and want excellent advice on where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were having a two night stay in Edinburgh and wanted to be close to the city to walk in or catch a bus.After trawling through many hotels and guest houses we found Kew House which met all our requirements very nicely indeed.
Private secure parking, 20 minute walk to Princes Street, main route bus stop on the doorstep.
As for the guest rooms ours was very generous in size, very well equipped and tastefully decorated with good quality bed linen and luxurious towels.Nice little extras such as the fresh cut flowers and the chocolates,a chilled fridge was great for our wine too.
Our hosts Ian and Alan were charming, very knowledgeable and made you feel very welcome.The breakfast menu was fantastic, beautifully cooked and presented.
We would definitely recommend Kew House, and will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and I thank you and the previous few reviewers for the kind comments said about us. It's good to be considered "elegant and sophisticated" as it often doesn't feel like that when we are busily preparing each day! All we try to do it make guests feel comfortable and get the most out of their stay both at Kew House and Edinburgh too and a kind review such as yours makes doing it all worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was our first visit to Kew House and when we are next in Edinburgh we will definitely stay here again!

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left both Ian and Alan were fabulous hosts and we were made to feel very welcome indeed. On our arrival we were given a map of Edinburgh and were told all about the local bus service, where to visit etc.

Our room was very clean, quiet, comfortable and having a little fridge in the room was very handy. The room also came with complimentary bottles of water, sherry and chocolates. The breakfast in the morning was simply amazing!

Kew House is not far at all from the city centre, maybe about a 15 - 20 minute walk but there is a good local bus service right outside the B&B. Kew House is also in close proximity to the zoo, only 4 stops away on the bus so you don't need to worry about taking your car.

If you're looking for a stunning bed and breakfast with top class service and attention to detail, then this is it!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew House

Address: 1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £109 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kew House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kew House has been awarded the prestigious AA 5 Star Gold rating as well as being one of few guest houses in both the Michelin UK and Europe Guide. We are just 15 minutes walk West of Princes Street and have easy bus access to Edinburgh Airport. Our 6 bedrooms and 1 serviced apartment are stylish and contemporary with everything all guests need whether on business or leisure travel. Toiletries by the White Company. Kew House has free secure parking and free hi-speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kew House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing