We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kew House
Ranked #7 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay here and really can't add anything to the glowing reviews from other guests. It was superb in every way & the cleanliness of the whole place was impeccable.
Thank you Ian & Alan for everything - including the banter!!
We had visited Edinburgh before but this time we had tickets for the Tattoo, a fabulous evening in spite of the rain.
Although there is a bus stop right outside Kew House we walked the mile & half into the city every day.
Having done the main attractions last time we walked to the Botanical Gardens this time, a fair walk but all on the flat and plenty of buses if you prefer. The Gardens were lovely, very relaxing & peaceful if you want to get away from the hustle & bustle of the city for a couple of hours.
We love Edinburgh as did the friends we went with and we all agreed Kew House was an excellent choice.

Room Tip: We had the superior rooms which were excellent so can't comment on the others, however judging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    44
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
152
372
70
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at Kew House over NYE and it was an absolutely wonderful place. The hosts were incredible and it was the best breakfast I had in Scotland. I walked easily from the NYE festivities in the center to the Kew House. I can't recommend this place enough, it is truly a gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennykatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I spent two nights at Kew House - the bedroom was large with a huge tall ceiling giving it an airy feel; the bathroom was a little on the small side with a modest shower. The house generally and room in particular was very tastefully appointed, with some nice touches such as complimentary bottled water, chocolate brownies and a small box of Celebrations! The room was cleaned each day, and fresh towels provided.

Breakfast was superb - a wide range of things on offer, including a delicious cooked breakfast.

Ian and Alan were very considerate and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Kew House is discreetly located 5 minutes outside of the cacophony of Central Edinburgh. Only a $10 taxi ride from Edinburgh Waverley train station. Upon arrival, Ian and Alan met me and made me feel 100% at home. Ian patiently explained the bus system (easy and reliable) and showed me all the bells and whistles in my townhouse apartment, located directly behind the main Kew House facility, in a charming quiet residential neighborhood.

My apartment was lovely. Updated, decorated with contemporary and comforting care, all appointments including snacks, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, tea, toiletries, decor and conveniences (laundry, stove, flat screen TVs) were top notch quality. The Kew House hosts truly care about the comfort of their guests. My apartment had a lovely sun room adjacent to the kitchen. I felt instantly safe and comfortable upon check-in.

Ian walked me through all the essentials - groceries (Tesco Express), takeaway (Indian, Italian, Chinese, Fish n' Chips), and pub, and an ATM, were all less than a 2 minute walk from the apartment. Transportation to the castles, Royal Mile, Princes Street was easy (bus stops to/from were directly in front of Kew House entrance).

After several long days of walking, sightseeing, and navigating the huge crowds for the Fringe Festival, I welcomed the peace, quiet, safety, and comfort of my Kew House apartment. I stocked up on meals from Tesco Express (tasty and affordable) and truly savored my evenings.

I cannot say enough about Ian and Alan. They were gracious, kind, accommodating and reliable. Upon checking out, I told Ian with 100% certainty that I would return to Kew House on a future visit to Edinburgh.

The facilities were top-notch. The hosts were phenomenal. Stay here and leave the cool/sterile hotels to the unknowing. You can thank me after your visit :)

Room Tip: I had the two bedroom apartment with the sun room. Lovely place. Next time I may stay in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
Ian was a superb host, full of information and great suggestions during our stay, and he was so friendly and attentive to our every need. The extras such as Sherry in the room, chocolates on the pillows, etc. was a really nice touch!
Our triple room was large and spotless, the beds were comfy, the full Scottish breakfast was excellent (we loved the Haggis!), and the location was perfect. Only a short walk or bus ride to Princess Street and the center of Edinburgh. One of the best places I have stayed! Thanks Ian and Alan!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bankgirlEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We only stayed at Kew House for a few hours, due to our arrival time and then very early flight back to the US the next morning. However, Ian and Alan made sure that all arrangements we needed were taken care of immediately, including early morning breakfast prepared the night before, taxi ordered for 3AM pickup, and a neat little bottle of sherry in the room! Although the B&B is on a very busy street in Murrayfield outside Edinburgh, we did not hear any traffic or pedestrian conversation. We felt very confortable and safe there, and wished we could have stayed longer! Great service and attention to their guests have kept them busy as a 5 star B&B for 20 years! Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have been returning to Kew House over a number of years and we are never disappointed. It's our favourite B&B and we travel all the way from Kent to get there. Ian and Alan are superb hosts, the rooms are lovely, well appointed and spotlessly clean and well the breakfast is superb! Ian is only too happy to help you organise your day if you haven't done your research too.It's also a great location - only a walk or short bus ride to Princes Street and the centre of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LG_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
23 Mayfield
#2 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew House

Property: Kew House
Address: 1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kew House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kew House has been awarded the prestigious AA 5 Star Gold rating as well as being one of few guest houses in both the Michelin UK and Europe Guide. We are just 15 minutes walk West of Princes Street and have easy bus access to Edinburgh Airport. Our 6 bedrooms and 1 serviced apartment are stylish and contemporary with everything all guests need whether on business or leisure travel. Toiletries by the White Company. Kew House has free secure parking and free hi-speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kew House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing