We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect , private, pleasure”
Review of Kew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kew House
Ranked #7 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Perfect Place for city holiday in Edinburgh ! Very clean, nice, perfect logistic from / to the airport with the bus 100 and so close to the city center. Very friendly and supportive owners. Breakfast is most favor of my children. We spent 5 days and we can recommend this guest house to everyone who likes a 4 star hotel with private atmosphere. We will rebook this for the next trip.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank andreas870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We loved having you and your family here on your visit. We also had great pleasure seeing you take full advantage of Edinburgh and its surroundings. As you said before leaving I am also glad you left somethings so do on a return visit as we would love to meet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Kew house is a very nice place to stay while in Edinburgh. The owner is very positiv and helpfull and the facilities and location are just great.
We are however used to sleep with open windows for fresh air, but unfortunately not possible due to the trafic noise.
We also feel that the price for a 3 days stay is way to high.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay here during the Edinburgh Festival. I thank you for your comments and am pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality.

I wanted to respond to the point raised in the second part of your review and to be clear that your stay was during the busiest (and most expensive) time of the year in Edinburgh, namely while the Edinburgh Fringe and Edinburgh Tattoo were happening. As such, it is one of the few times that all accommodations have their rack rates in place. Our rates for that week were in keeping with that of similar establishments in the city. I am sure when you were booking with us through Booking.com you would have seen the rate comparisons shown to prove this point.

We are a city guest house with, as you say, a great location for the city centre. We have secondary glazing which effectively eliminates nearly all outside sound but is not much use if kept open at night. Sadly an open window and our city during the busiest season will mean background noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have stayed at Kew House three times and would never consider an alternative.
The hosts, Ian and Alan, welcome their guests on arrival and ensure they have everything they need. The rooms are very comfortable and the standards are very high throughout. The breakfast catered for all our needs with a very wide choice available and was so plentiful it set us up for our sightseeing around the area!
It is convenietly located on a bus route which connects directly to the airport, zoo, Murrayfield and of course, central Edinburgh - although we also enjoyed the short walk into the city.
We really cannot find fault with Kew House and can't wait to go back to see Ian and Alan again - they make you feel like friends, not guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just had 2 nights in the apartment and were pleasantly surprised on arrival. So clean and modern yet homely. Ian and Alan were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Location is excellent and the apartment is quiet with good parking. We would have loved to stay longer to appreciate all that the apartment had to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerrillSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We're glad you enjoyed the peace and quite the apartment has to offer. It's quite good to return there after a busy day in the city centre and I'm glad it did it's magic this time around. Hopefully we'll see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Everything you would expect from a top B&B, from the bed to the breakfast. Conveniently located on the road between the airport, Haymarket railway station and the city centre. Bus stops within 100 metres. Well presented, comfortable and quiet. Hosts very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a B&B in Edinburgh, look no further.

Room Tip: Can walk to city centre, but it takes about 20 min. Busses to town (Nrs 12, 26, 31) at £1.50 singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peetwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We found Kew House in the "Best B & B" Guide Book and we were not disappointed. Ian and Alan made us feel very welcome and we were immediately feeling very spoilt by the chocolate orange, sherry and chocolate brownies. The interior is spotless. The breakfasts are superb I tried the vegetarian option which was amazing. Ian and Alan only had one night available so we will definitely be returning to experience more of their friendly and caring hospitality. My fifteen year son thought it was brilliant too. Thank you so much Ian and Alan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just returned from a two-night stay at Kew House in Edinburgh, during festival season.

At the end of each of several very busy and tiring days, it was brilliant to be able to return to a place like this. The place is great - quiet, cosy, comfortable, impeccably clean, friendly and unpretentious; filled with small touches which just make the difference.

The room was a good size and had everything conveniently available. Breakfast was great; a real set-up-for-the-day and although buses are regular and convenient, we chose to walk each day into the centre of Edinburgh (about twenty minutes, at a good pace). Ian and all of the staff we met were helpful and welcoming.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cozza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,878 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,027 reviews
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew House

Address: 1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £112 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kew House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kew House has been awarded the prestigious AA 5 Star Gold rating as well as being one of few guest houses in both the Michelin UK and Europe Guide. We are just 15 minutes walk West of Princes Street and have easy bus access to Edinburgh Airport. Our 6 bedrooms and 1 serviced apartment are stylish and contemporary with everything all guests need whether on business or leisure travel. Toiletries by the White Company. Kew House has free secure parking and free hi-speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kew House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing