We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hospitality”
Review of Kew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kew House
Ranked #6 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Tastefully decorated and very clean. More important is the owners' wonderful hospitality - they really go out of their way for you. Large choice of breakfast made to order. Absolutely wonderful place to stay. Buses to city centre and airport right outside the door.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TanteTynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It was a pleasure meeting you. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
157
382
74
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

just returned from a two night stay , everything was just as we had read. Room was lovely extremely clean and comfortable and the hosts could not do enough for you . It was a 15 min walk to the centre or there was an option to take frequent buses, so location was not a problem.
Would struggle to find better than this in Edinburgh and their five star rating was well deserved.
Fantastic and extremely good value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandarowlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We enjoyed having you stay with us and I am glad we lived up to your expectations. I hope we might see you again and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went to Edinburgh for a week-end and the Six Nations Scotland/France rugby game.
The accommodation was perfectly located to get to Murrayfield as it is only a few minutes walk.
It is also perfect to go to Haymarket, shops, restaurant and cafes (15 minutes walk?).
The airport bus stops in front of the Kew Terrace and the bus to go to town is 50 yards away.

We had a house to ourselves during our stay. It is not part of the period building and more modern, but provide complete independence, is cosy and well equipped.

We really enjoyed our stay and will happily go back, next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. We usually find that guests enjoy the privacy and independence while having us on hand just a few yards away if needed.
It's kind of you to take the time to review and we look forward to meeting you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Kew House and found all the good comments below to be true! Immaculate bedroom, extremely comfortable bed, excellent breakfast which even converrted me to the optional haggis! Ian was amazingly helpful and great fun! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireTriptick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Another haggis convert is always welcome. We don't actually force haggis on our guests but it is there for those that want then safe way to try it. Seriously though we did enjoy meeting you and hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there just for one night but general impression: great, cosy place. We enjoyed our breakfast and actually everything else... We do recommend the place. An excellent location with a bus stop on the other side of the road taking you in 10 min to the city centre, very clean rooms and fresh, tasty food.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anetttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed for a night recently at Kew House as I was going to a Rugby Match at Murrayfield. I found this Guest House to be first class in every way. I was made very welcome when I arrived and the care and attention which I received was fantastic. I felt very much at home and the bedroom was beautiful and I really enjoyed my breakfast the following morning, everything you could ask for. I would highly recommend this Guest House and can't wait to make a return visit to it.

Alison Leckey
Lisburn, Northern Ireland

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleckey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
It was lovely to meet you. I think the result of the previous night's rugby match may have also contributed to your enjoyable visit!! We get used to putting a brave face on Scottish defeats. It was a pleasure looking after you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmthout, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our first time visit to Kew House was one to remember. The perfect organisation, the warm welcome we had, the kind attentions we found in our nice room, the helpful and friendly mindset of our hosts, the outstanding and varied breakfast... everything was just perfect. Thank you Alan and Ian !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thanks for your comments. It was really enjoyable having you with us for a few days and it was fun talking to you both each morning. Hopefully we'll see you next time you are in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
94DR
#9 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew House

Property: Kew House
Address: 1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kew House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kew House has been awarded the prestigious AA 5 Star Gold rating as well as being one of few guest houses in both the Michelin UK and Europe Guide. We are just 15 minutes walk West of Princes Street and have easy bus access to Edinburgh Airport. Our 6 bedrooms and 1 serviced apartment are stylish and contemporary with everything all guests need whether on business or leisure travel. Toiletries by the White Company. Kew House has free secure parking and free hi-speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Kew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kew House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing