We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ceases to please.”
Review of Kew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kew House
Ranked #7 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Yet another great experience at Kew House. We cannot rate this accommodation highly enough. We won't stay anywhere else in Edingburgh. This is our forth visit. Ian and Allan are the perfect hosts. Look no further than Kew House when planning your trip to Edinburgh. You will not be disappointed.
Joy and Maurice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thanks to you both again for your kind comments on your stay here. It's always a pleasure to see you. May we continue to please on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We loved and enjoyed our stay at the Kew House - definitely recommend it! The hosts at Kew House (Ian & Allan) were very welcoming and guided us really well so we could get around the city and sightseeing areas with ease.
We spent 2 nights in Kew House and absolutely loved it! The room was very comfortable, clean and had all the necessary amenities. The complimentary sherry and chocolates were most appreciated and enjoyed :)!
The breakfast was delicious with a good number of choices (including for vegetarians).
The hotel is conveniently located - if you enjoy walking you can reach Princes Street (main shopping area) in 15-20 minutes, or take a bus from the stand just across the road.
Wish we could have stayed for a few more nights!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasudha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have worked out that we have been coming to Kew House for 10 years and it's still our favourite place to stay; not just because Ian is a fabulous host and Alan is a wonderful cook but also the B&B is always fresh and spotlessly clean. Standards are kept very high and that is no mean feat over the years.Kew is the ideal location as it's about a mile from Princes Street, the bus stops just seconds away, though we always choose to walk in..as the beauty of Edinburgh is best explored on foot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LG_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

As always it is a pleasure to see you on your regular visits to Edinburgh. I'm glad the city still has lots of things to keep you interested and, of course, I'm glad we still rank as your favourite! Hopefully we can do it all again next Summer!

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent two nights at Kew House. Our room was comfortable, breakfast was good, parking available on site and the bus near the doorstep took ran regularly into the area of town where the Castle and tourist attractions are located. There was also a bus to the airport just steps away from the house as well. The hosts, Allan and Ian, were friendly and helpful. We are two mature women and don't recommend the walk into town. Hills to climb and took us 30 minutes. Save your walking for the Royal Mile!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Kew house for just one night (unfortunately) during our short trip to Edinbugh to show a friend the city. We were met by Ian who welcomed us, showed us our rooms and gave us all the information that we needed to get a bus into Edinburgh. Kew House is situated very close to the bus route both to the airport and the city. Ian was also able to re commend places for dinner and had great knowledge of lots of different places. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and absolutely immaculate. I'm a very fussy person and this impressed me so much!! Very comfortable beds with choice of duvet or blankets, bottled water in a small fridge in the room, chocolates, toiletries and even sample sized perfume. The breakfast was amazing with so much to choose from and cooked to order. Really everything was the last word and the hosts couldn't have done any more for us. They even kept our bags after check out to save us carrying them round Edinburgh on our last morning. As they are on the bus route to the airport it was effortless to simply call back for them. All in all I couldn't recommend Kew House highly enough! It's the perfect base with perfect hosts to explore Edinburgh. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESME T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks for the flattering review. You certainly seemed to have a great time in your short Edinburgh stay and I'm glad we were part of it. Hopefully we'll see you for a longer stay next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We just spent a wonderful 4 nights in Edinburgh and the Kew House was a perfect base. We were greeted by Allan, who made us feel welcome and orientated us to our surroundings, tips for getting about, eating recommendations and tours booked all attended to with great efficiency. A good selection of delicious breakfasts were available and served with good advice on the day's plans by Ian. The beds are very comfortable and it's nice to be able to have the window open to let fresh air in. Very quiet location.Mints at night and new complimentary water bottles each day a nice finishing touch as were the sample size perfumes. Its a 15-20 minute walk into town, however 3 buses stop out the front which can take you into town for a flat rate of £1.50. The no. 31 even goes around to the Royal Mile. All day bus travel for £3.50. No hesitation recommending this property and I hope to return to this beautiful city and Kew House again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed review and I hope other readers find the content useful. I enjoyed our talks about the Gold Coast and you make me think perhaps we should go back again this year! It was a pleasure looking after you and I hope we might see you again should you decide to return to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a terrific place----the room was larger than expected, it is very quiet, and the cook to order breakfast was super.

The airport and city buses stop almost at the door which makes getting either downtown or the airport very easy.

There also a number of good places to eat within 15 minutes walking distance which is really nice if one does not want to head back downtown.

More than being a really nice place Ian makes sure that you are well taken care of with regard to touring and especially with places to eat. He is a real foodie so it behooves one to listen to his recommendations and to have him make booking for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pct_loper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

It's such a pleasure helping someone get the best from their holiday and I enjoyed our chats. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here and I thank you for the helpful comments on your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,027 reviews
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew House

Address: 1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £112 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kew House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kew House has been awarded the prestigious AA 5 Star Gold rating as well as being one of few guest houses in both the Michelin UK and Europe Guide. We are just 15 minutes walk West of Princes Street and have easy bus access to Edinburgh Airport. Our 6 bedrooms and 1 serviced apartment are stylish and contemporary with everything all guests need whether on business or leisure travel. Toiletries by the White Company. Kew House has free secure parking and free hi-speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kew House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing