We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable apartment in excellent location - but beware of noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment in excellent location - but beware of noise!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

The location of this aparthotel is excellent - just off the royal mile, close to all major attractions, with shops and restaurants on the doorstep. The apartment is spacious and well serviced, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen is well equipped.

My husband felt that the sofa and armchairs were "apartment-sized" - i.e. designed to make a small room look bigger. He found it difficult to make himself "fit" in them. He is an average sized 6ft man.
We slept terribly while staying at the aparthotel - due to the temperature of the apartment (oppressively warm) and noise from outside the building - lorries, revellers & very noisy cats/seagulls in the middle of the night. We had to open windows to not over-heat, but then the noise kept us awake.

Room Tip: Requesting a room on a high floor (we were on level 3) and, if possible, not with road-frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Many thanks for your kind words regarding the Holyrood Aparthotel and I am pleased to read you were so impressed by the facilities in every apartment. I was suprised to hear that you were disturbed by noise as this is one of the quietest parts of the city centre, athough admittedly there have been disturbances with the building works further along the street. Although I am delighted to announce that all works will be completed before the end of this month and there should be nothing to disturb you on your next visit.
Until then...
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    374
    78
    21
    16
See reviews for
374
256
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bdrm apartment with our 9 month old daughter and we loved it! So handy to the Royal Mile and we loved having so much space. The kitchen had everything we needed and the breakfast supplies were fantastic. Only negative would have to be parking - we werent aware we had to per-book one of the few car parking spaces so had to park down the road in a public carpark - not a huge deal but with having a baby we had lots of bags. Otherwise we loved it and would definitely recommend. Great value for money!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Another glowing review and I am truly grateful for such kind words on the Holyrood Aparthotel. It is great to hear of our guests having such a fantastic time in Edinburgh and I hope to see them again soon. I would re-iterate what this guest has said about car parking - we have a limited car park and it is adviseable to book a space at the time of making your reservation - just contact a member of out front desk team who will take care of it for you.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Since I usually rely on Tripadvisor reviews to determine where to stay when going abroad, I decided on Holyrood Aparthotel for the following reasons: (1) Availability of 2-bedroom & 2-bathroom suites, (2) A fully functional kitchen, and (3) Proximity to the train station. I was not disappointed and was even pleasantly surprised that the aparthotel more than exceeded my expectations.

From Waverly Station, the hotel is about a 10-minute walk. It's a little difficult to find the hotel from High Street. Google Maps didn't help as much but the iPhone map did. As you go down High Street (heading to Holyrood Palace), turn right on the alley after Starbucks. (This Starbucks is located across Ye Old Christmas Shoppe.)

Check-in is at 2pm but if you arrive early and your rooms are not ready yet, you can leave your bags at the reception area. The reception staff were very courteous and friendly.

We booked a two-bedroom suite and it was quite lovely to find that they had us on Room 604, which is the "penthouse suite" of sorts, it being the only one with a dining area that had a skylight view. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. So were the utensils, etc. that were provided. The suite had a manual listing all the amenities and even how to operate the appliances.

Wi-fi is not free but the daily rate for Internet access was £5 per device per day, which is fairly reasonable.

There's a Tesco right around the corner for grocery-shopping. Having a kitchen makes it convenient and economical to just shop for groceries and do your own cooking.

Edinburgh is normally a cool/cold city so I didn't expect an air-conditioning system. And sure enough, there wasn't one. Or at least there were none that I could see. It was a little difficult getting used to a somewhat warm room but that could just be because I prefer my hotel rooms cold.

Overall, I had a very good experience at Holyrood Aparthotel. I have only stayed in a few aparthotels but this is definitely the best one I've stayed in so far. It may not be luxurious but if cleanliness and modern amenities are what you are looking for, this is the place to go. It's great for families and even for friends/couples who want a little taste of home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7n1dwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
A great review from this guest and very comprehensive - there is little I need add. Just to say, I hope they will return soon to Edinburgh and the Holyrood Aparthotel.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is a very nice place to stay, it is in a great location for Holyrood House and Edinburgh Castle. The apartment has good facilities and after living out of a suitcase for a week it was nice to unpack and get some washing done. Overall a very nice place to plan your Edingburgh excursions.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Many thanks to this traveller for another great review and I am glad to read that they enjoyed their time in Edinburgh. The Holyrood is indeed the perfect location for exploring Edinburgh's Old Town and all her historical treasure, but please note that we are also only 10 minutes walk away from Princes Street and the New Town.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We read some reviews warning of some rooms smelling of smoke.
So we emailed the hotel and asked about this and they said when we booked, email to request a non-smoking room. So we booked and emailed them to request a non-smoking room.
They replied they would request a non-smoking room but it couldn't be guaranteed. As they had already advised in writing that it would be guaranteed we phoned and they again advised they request would be logged but no guarantee could be given.

We had paid a non-refundable payment based on their original advice that all we needed to do was make a request once the booking was made.
We are travelling from Australia and being stuck in a smoking room would have ruined the trip for us. We decided to book elsewhere and try to get our 465 GBP back from Holyrood.

I emailed to attempt to get a refund and they said we could have a non-smoking room. Too late - we'd booked elsewhere. We have documentation of all of the above.

This all happened within days of the original booking.

So be very careful not to believe what this hotel advises in writing.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Brissie-based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I would hope all our guest ARE careful when booking any accommodation but they need not be overly cautious when booking the Holyrood Aparthotel as our previous reviews will confirm. I am sorry that this particular traveller was unsatisfied but he did book cheaper alternative accommodation after having made a reservation with us, having secured the lowest possible rate by paying a non-refundable deposit as is industry standard. I would urge all potential guests to contact us directly to answer any questions they may have prior to paying any deposit to ensure they are receiving the rates and terms most agreeable; we are there to help!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a very lovely place to stay. After a week of going from one hotel to another is was nice to be in apartment. We were thrilled that there was a washer/dryer. The kitchen was stocked with coffee and tea. There was even milk in the fridge.

The location is excellent.

The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.

A helpful hint we walked from the train station and had trouble finding the hotel. So here is what you do. You find the Bakehouse Close that is off the Royal Mile. Walk into that Close. Keep going to the end-- not very far. Then look to your left. There are the apartments.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBethMadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Fantastic review and many thanks to this traveller for sharing their most positive experience. All our apartments are welll equiped; with washing machine/dryer, microwave, dishawasher, oven and hob - we are a real home from home!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a large group of several different families staying in three of these apartments right beside each other and found this aparthotel a perfect place to explore the city. Very well-equipped, with plenty of space for our family of five and lots of light and space in the living area itself.
Staff were friendly and helpful, although reception tends to very cramped with guests tripping over stored suitcases.
The minuses were: uncomfortable, hard mattresses on the beds and water in the bathroom taps were a mere dribble which is annoying, also some noise from the street during the night, but could be avoided by keeping windows closed.
All in all a good place yo stay if you don't fancy a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayNools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing