We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hen weekend stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have just returned from my Hen weekend stay in Edinburgh at the Holyrood Aparthotel and have to say it was a brilliant place to stay. We rented 3 apartments and each had 2 x double rooms (1 with en suite) a small living room with plasma TV, DVD player and CD player and galley kitchen which was so well equipped. It had a washing machine, dishwasher, microwave and hob and all the utensils you could need plus, included in our deal was a free breakfast hamper. This even included fresh OJ, milk and bread. All of the apartments were serviced whilst we were there and everything was clean. All this for a cheap weekend and 5 mins walk from the Royal Mile, plus secure parking too! To say we were a group of 10, you couldn't hear us, or any other guests staying and were only woken up by the seagulls in the morning! Brilliant place to stay!

Room Tip: Its a little hard to find. If you go down the street after Tesco Metro, keep going round and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here recently with my mum and sisters in a two bed apartment and really enjoyed it. Apartment was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Everything you could need was provided, from tea, coffee and milk to big fully white towels and toiletries. Rooms serviced each day just like a hotel. Kitchen/cooking facilities were excellent. Location is great too, just at the bottom of the royal mile near the royal palace. Quite quiet which I liked bur close to all the action. You can easily walk to everything. Only negative was that the water pump was a little noisy but good showers and lovely hot water so we didnt really mind. Had a wonderful holiday and would definitely stay here again. Good value too but maybe we were lucky because of the time of year and no big events on.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

A superb review and my thanks to this traveler for sharing such positive experiences. I am sorry to learn they were disturbed by a water pump but will endeavour to get this investigated immediately.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bed apartment, with sofa bed in lounge, and there was plenty space for 5 guys sharing...admittedly, we did only sleep there, but for what we were after (boozy rugby weekend), it was perfect...stayed here 4 years ago, and apartments are getting slightly tired, but no complaints at all on VFM

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Many thanks for a concise but well received review. I admit I had to look up VFM (value for money - so obvious!) but that is exactly how I would wish the Holyrood Aparthotel described at any time of year!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here. We chose it for it's central location and the fact that it has separate sleeping and living areas, which means that we can relax once the kids are in bed (no tiptoeing around a dark hotel room!).

All areas were clean and well maintained, HOWEVER, on this occasion we were placed in one of the smoking apartments. As non smokers with two young children this seemed weird. There are only four such apartments and they are all grouped together along a corridor. We could smell the stale smoke as we approached the apartment and it was very noticeable inside.

This was a shame as other than that the place is great and pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messylittlemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

My thanks to this guest for their overwhelmingly positive review and my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience suffered as a result of the selfish actions of the previous guest. Our apartments are no smoking but sometimes this does not deter groups of individuals at times- much to our annoyance. Rest assured, such guests are charged (as is clearly warned in our in-room literature) and rooms are then subject to a severe deep clean, but cigarette smoke can be a persistent menace and sometimes takes a few days to dissipate entireley.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

I booked this as we were visiting along with a friend of my daughter and decided that sharing 1 hotel room would be a bad idea. On the strength of the reviews I chose the Holyrood Aparthotel and was very pleased. The accomodation offered everything that was needed. I would agree that they didn't offer luxury but they were clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful......in fact based a cost of £42.50 a night per room with a sitting area I defy anyone to find better value for money!

2  Thank Georgina214521
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

I would like to extend my thanks, not just to this reviewer, but as this booking was based on previous reviews, to all those who have taken the time to comment positively on the Holyrood Aparthotel in the past - your efforts are much appreciated!!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just returned from a two night stay with friends. Aparthotel is about 10 mins walk from Waverley station although not knowing where we were going we opted to take a cab, which was about £7. The two bed twin rooms were fabulous and what we wanted. The kitchen was very well supplied and we had the addition of the breakfast pack which was fantastic; bread, milk, juice, butters, jams, cereals. More than enough for the weekend. The bathrooms were well supplied with shampoo/conditioner, soap and lotion and also plenty of towels. There was also a irnoning board and iron and also hairdryer in bedrooms. Maid service came in after 1st night and changed towels and made up beds. The water pump made a bit of a noise, but we got used to it very quickly.
We would definitely use this aparthotel again.
Great price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We booked for 9 nights for a break and visit daughter at Edinburgh University. This location could not have been better for the University and main attractions. The apartment was lovely, clean, bright and well supplied. The room was cleaned every day and beds changed every two days. Good selection of TV channels. WiFi avaiable at extra cost. Waverley STation is a 5 minute walk away, the Royal Mile and Castle even closer.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and met all of our requests with politeness, charm and efficiency. We did not drive but car parking is on offer at a cost per day.
A lovely place to stay and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing