We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #66 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A beautiful little hotel. Great Location. I was in Edinburgh working on a documentary for Canadian television. I was literally gob-smacked when I walked into the room - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living room and a kitchen - all to myself and my camera gear and I have a lot of camera gear. Getting gear into and out of the room was a little challenging as the halls and doors were narrow but I expect that in Europe. They have an elevator to the secure parking area so that was a big bonus. The staff was great - courteous, friendly, helpful - despite having to deal with a jet-lagged camera crew and a bus-load of tourists at the same time. Easy walking distance to pubs, restaurants, convenience store, book store, Scottish Parliament yet on a quiet backstreet. Very reasonably priced for what you get, I plan to stay there with my family next year when we visit relatives in Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocketsrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
A super review and many thanks for finding the Holyrood Aparthotel. I am grateful for the kind words and do look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    374
    78
    21
    16
See reviews for
374
256
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had a lovely time staying here. Perfect for our needs (apartment rather than a hotel room) and its location is well within walking distance of the Castle and Princes St for all the shopping. It is also right on the doorstep of the sights and sounds of the Royal Mile where the choice of restaurants, cafe's and pubs is very extensive.
The Aparthotel itself is very clean, comes with all kitchen utilities (apart from wine glasses for some reason, if they were there, I couldn't see them). But coffee, tea, sugar and fresh milk was provided on arrival.
There is a carpark which comes at 10 pounds per night which I think is reasonable considering that car parking in Edinburgh appears to be at a premium. The car park is small so can imagine at peak season, or festival time it would be full. However parking can be reserved on booking.
Overall, if I ever come back to Edinburgh I would be looking to come back so no more to be said, very satisfied with the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Many thanks to this guest for a super review of the Holyrood Aparthotel and I am glad to read they will be coming back to us at some point. When they do -and for the benefit of future guests - they will find the wine glasses in the sideboard unit in the lounge (under the TV).
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Hotel: location is close enough to castle and main streets to walk to unless you are handicapped. We took a bus from the airport, but then had to hike quite a ways with our luggage. Might be best to take a cab from the airport if you have lots of things to carry.

Check in is 2pm but our flight put us at the hotel at 10. We were so jet lagged and tired that we would have slept on the floor, but no rooms were ready, so we left our bags and walked around until we couldn't function anymore. The attendant (Jess I think) was really kind and managed to let us check in by noon so we could go to bed. The lobby has a computer and printer if you need it. There wasn't any wifi, but I had full internet service through my cell enabled ipad and our phones. We made a few local calls and the fee was super reasonable. 2 of us checked out before the other 3 and it was a very easy process.

We had a double/double with a fold out sofa for a 5th guest. The 2 bathrooms were nice and there was plenty of hot water. The beds were hard as rocks, but I think that's the euro standard and something Americans might not be used to. The kitchen had a mini fridge, washer/dryer combo, and dishwasher. There was a tea kettle and they stocked the kitchen with black tea and sugar. There was a lot of outside noise- seagulls, people yelling from the festival and tattoo, but I had earplugs and was fine. There was a little mouse in the kitchen, but the staff responded immediately and I'm sure that wont be the case for the next people. The rooms are a bit like college dorm living with fire doors and separation.

There is a tesco express right around the corner as well as the Queen's Museum, plenty of pubs, shops, a Starbucks, etc.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify double/double vs single/single for 2 bedrooms and confirm before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugertemptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
A smashing review of the Holyrood Aparthotel - much appreciated!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed in this place for 3 nihts.
We had a great stay,the apartment is clean,in Old Town,at the beginning of Cannongate street,3 minutes walk from the centre,and 15 from the Castle.
Edinburgh is a nice place for walk,and this is the perfect place in which you can begin your Edinburgh walking tour

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonetigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Location difficult to find initially. Superb facility only marred by lack of air-con. That meant windows needed to be open and noise was a problem at night. High prices reflect Festival demand - same everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank DMcKeownCo_Antrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
A superb review and my thanks to this reviewer for their warm words on the Holyrood Aparthotel. Please note that we do indeed have some rooms with air conditioning - just make a request with us at the time of booking to see if one is available/suitable.

Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We booked a number of rooms here for the week of my wedding and our room was supposed to be a superior suite. We paid extra for this room but after seeing our other guests rooms we were pushed to figure out why our room was supposed to be more superior. It was a nice apartment, but the master bedroom was tiny and it was a struggle to get around the bed.Also, the living room was much smaller. In the end we aasked to me moved to a normal apartment and were much happier and did get a refund for the difference. The staff seemed to struggle with the amount of questions/complaints by other guests, maybe that is something that could be worked on. I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice. It is ideal for families who are self catering and is in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y5c6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Many thanks for the positive review for the Holyrood Aparthotel, but I must point out we do not have superior suites nor do we sell any as such. We do have Executive Apartments on the top floor which are not sold because of their size, although our Penthouse is larger than the rest, but because they come with an executive package; bathrobes, fruit, mineral water, free car parking and much more.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Perfectly good for a visit to Edinburgh during the Fringe and as a family we were glad of separate rooms and the washing machine.

The place was clean and the location could not have been better (out of the hotel, left, under and arch and straight onto the Royal Mile).

There is a charge for WIFI which seems churlish and the bins can be noisy in the morning, but then you are in a city. The seagulls were worse to be honest! The staff were fairly apathetic and seemed surprised when I asked for Fringe information (even though we stayed during the Festival).

Room Tip: Care with ground floor rooms - pedestrians can look straight in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyTracyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
A great review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and my thanks to this reviewer - but I was sorry to hear you were disturbed by the seagulls - one of the disadvantages of living so near to the sea.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing