We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beats the royal mile and princes street” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #62 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beats the royal mile and princes street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Hotel prices in Edinburgh rarely correlate with the quality of accommodation. This is annoying. These apartments provide a cost effective, comfortable and spacious way to stay in the city centre. I stayed overnight on a business trip, though think they'd be an equally viable option for a social visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
My sincerest thanks to this guest; not just for taking the time to share a good review of the Holyrood Aparthotel, but also for taking the time to point out the benefit of serviced apartments.

Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    368
    76
    20
    16
See reviews for
367
253
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We chose these apartments as we have a 6 month old and needed a 'home from home' set up. The apartment was clean and the kitchen was very well equipped. Washing powder, washing liquid, tea, coffee, salt and pepper etc all provided. The location was fantastic and had the added bonus of secure car park. A comfortable stay overall although the rooms were tired looking and the floor in the living room area was ridiculously creaky. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
A super review of the Holyrood Aparthotel and many thanks for describing us as a "home from home". Glad to hear you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you soon...

Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Spacious room with a fully equipped kitchen including oven, dishwasher and washer/dryer. There were also a full set of crockery, kitchen utensils and also powder for both washers!
The room was fully stocked with coffee, tea and fresh milk on our arrival. There is a freeview tv with a DVD player ready and waiting. The bathroom was well appointed and had complementary "The White Company" toiletries. The location was convenient but for the absence of parking. Theres a useful tesco metro around the back of the block for food. The staff were happy to store bags after checkout.
The only downside was our room was in close proximity to another with a loudly closing door and noisy residents! They also charge for wifi which seems rather outdated in the modern world, especially when Edinburgh is so well covered for 3G.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robmartin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Another fabulous review and I am grateful to this guest for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive take on the advantages of the Holyrood Aparthotel. Please note, however, that there is a car park on site - spaces can be booked with Reception.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This apart hotel is really great place to stay if you are in group. We were two families and had a very nice time in this hotel. The rooms were very clean and spacious with modern amenities.You can have a nice walk from hotel to the main city centre, though you can also easily find cab service from there. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninpraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
A wonderful review for the Holyrood Aparthotel - many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had a great experience at this hotel, the staff were really helpful and the rooms were clean and modern. It also had lovely white company toiletries! I really enjoyed my stay and i felt the staff bent over backwards to make our stay more comfertable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Another fantastic Holyrood Aparthotel review - and I am thrilled to read such high praise of my team - many, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This apartment hotel was a good one for our family of five. The front dest staff was very friendly and helpful in giving directions. The apartment was very clean, although it appeared that there had been some touch up painting done using the wrong shade, giving an odd and unfinished look to the walls in the family room and kitchen. They had painted the bottom two thirds of the walls, but in a haphazard way so that the line between the two colors was not even or seemingly planned. The bathrooms were small and very clean. There was something strange with the hot water system where you had to turn on a switch in the hallway to get hot water in the bathroom. Once we figured this out we were fine, it was just another oddity. The location is ideal, just off the Royal Mile toward the bottom of the street. It is within walking distance of Edinburgh Castle, the Palace of Holyrood House, Mary King's Close, everything in the old town. It was a little noisy with the windows open as our room opened up to the parking area in the back. A nice basket of breakfast foods was provided which was unexpected and a nice touch. Our travel agent booked this apartment through a company called Small and Elegant Hotels. I would not classify this hotel as elegant, but we were satisfied other than the painting issue on the walls. I would recommend it to others and would stay here again with my family. If I were just with my husband I would find a nicer and more luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 2 bed appartment which had 2 baths. Good sized all round with kitchen / living room. Excellent location and some good local restaraunts and a small Tesco nearby.
Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#63 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing