We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed 6 years ago and had a great visit. The apartments have everything you need and they are in a great location. Some of the rooms could do with a paint with all the mark on the walls, does look good!! Overall enjoyed our stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank graham_hyslop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

The apartment was a great place to stay in the heart of Edinburgh old town. Walking distance from the station and all main attractions, but a quiet location just behind the Royal Mile. A standard double room proved to be spacious and well equipped with everything you need for a few days stay, including a generous supply of tea, coffee and fresh milk. The kitchen area was particularly good and although we didn't it would be possible to prepare a full meal. Handy to have Tesco Express so close too. Thought it good value and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was a great place to stay with an apartment so we could catch up with some washing and do a bit of eating in.
Only complaint is they charged me in Au$ instead of British Pound. I questioned this on the eftpos machine but was told this was normal and despite the fact it showed $ would be in pound. This was not the case and I was charged a fee on my account as I used a card that help multi currency. I later found out they should have asked me to select whether I wanted to pay in $.
This aside I have not complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZMD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The apartment has everything we need to have a good vacantions. The staff was impec. Near to markets that alow you to cook at home or buy food in restaurants if you prefer. Best of all, near of all atrations to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghosty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stay at the apartments for the 2013 festival. Only 5 minutes walk from the Pleasance and only 10-15 minute walk from the Royal Mile and some of the big other venues. The kitchens were well stock and useful (especially given all the restaurants have a queue a mile long during the festival) and there is a Tesco's and a Pizza Express below the apartment. There is also a very good gastro pub (the Holyrood) just five minutes down the road.

There's decent parking and the room are bog standard.

Only downer was one of the restaurants near by emptying their bins early in the morning but that wouldn't stop me staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a family break. The walls could do with a freshen up but otherwise well presented roomy accommodation and clean. The water system is crazy noisy when the taps are on and you do hear noises from other rooms a bit but nothing more severe than most places. It is off the Royal mile and around a 20 minute walk up to the Castle. It's a good location within easy walk of the train station and there are plenty cafés and shops close by for food and drinks. I highly recommend Mimi's bake house for sweet treats.

Room Tip: We overlooked the courtyard and there was very little noise from outside. Room 507 has two bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmmm_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights with two children and had a two bed apartment. Very good value, very well equiped and quite spacious. I agree with others that the water system is noisy but this did not worry us. Well placed on the Royal Mile with a handy Tesco nearby. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAK2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,629 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £51 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing