We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #63 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Loved having a kitchenette and common room in our suite. Frustrated by the instruction booklet on how to operate the laundry equipment. What seemed like a good idea--machine-washing our clothes--backfired and 24 hours later we still had damp clothes. The out of the way location made for a very quiet stay because the hotel is set apart from the main roads yet is convenient to bus stops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MertonCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    379
    80
    21
    16
See reviews for
375
260
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

So pleased found this fantastic place to stay in Edinburgh - I used my map app to guide me to the hotel so didn't get lost but got a taxi back and was only about £4 so worth noting!
When we arrived we were greeted with very friendly staff - this was the case with every member of staff we came across. We arrived early so dropped our bags off in the luggage room and headed out with the map that reception gave us - with points of interest discussed and circled for us.
Once in our apartment you couldn't complain about the standard it had everything and more you could ask for - even including dishwasher tablets and washing powder. We had our room changed and ended up in a two bedroom room - wow had so much space.
Having the added extra of a kitchen was great and both agreed if staying again in Edinburgh it will definitely be here.
With just being off the Royal Mile was great for nearby attractions, restaurants and shops etc. We dined at Pizza Express which is on the doorstep and a lovely Indian the second night ( Vinyasa) which is about a 5 min walk away - both well worth a visit for good food.
Thank you Holyrood apartHotel you really made our trip to Edinburgh an excellent one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and booked through a comparison website so was very pleased with the price however there was no mention of the £50 deposit on top of the room charge in case of damage. Although I do not object to putting down a deposit it would just be nice to know prior to arrival. Afterall if you're on a holiday/break you usually have every last £ planned on activities/meals out etc.

Providing you leave the room as you find it the £50 will be transferred back into your account in about 5-10 working days depending on your bank...Good job I didn't need it for anything - not.

Room was nice, not sure if it's really 4 star but very comfortable. The heating works well with our room being like a sauna therefore we left the windows open at night which in turn lead us to be woken up very early by delivery lorries arriving at the back of the hotel.

Would stay again as the location was great and I wouldn't be so shocked when they take/"borrow" an extra £50 from me!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HJP2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My boyfriend and I were more than pleased with this accommodation! The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful and made our stay so comfortable. The kitchen meant we didn't have to spend our whole trip eating out and the bathroom was lovely. Overall it was quiet and offered a great nights sleep! :) On arrival is was so clean and they had left dishwasher tablets, soap' tea bags etc. ready for us to use! (Even milk in the fridge which was a pleasant surprise!) I would recommend this to anyone planning a trip to Edinburgh!

If I was to criticise one thing it would be the map provided when booking! Google map it before you come! We got lost!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Nothing beats booking an apartment rather than a hotel room, particularly if you need to book multiple rooms. This apartment was clean and spacious, with a hardwood floor in the living area and view of Salisbury Crags. It came complete with dishes, towels and linens, and even coffee and tea with a container of milk in the fridge. And unlike some other apartments I have booked, it had daily maid service. Some of the utilities took a bit of time to figure out (like having to turn on the hot water for showers outside the bathroom door) but once figured out, it became second nature. The combined washer/dryer for laundry didn't really dry, but we hear that this is typical. Conveniently located one block from the Starbuck's at the lower end of the Royal Mile. I can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: The two bedroom two bath facing the Crags was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrudnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was really impressed with these apartments and the facilities they offered. They were spacious enough for the four of us with two bedrooms and bathrooms. The apartments have everything you need and extras included for breakfast, tea, coffee & juice etc. We were in an executive room on the 5th floor which was quiet and out of the way of people coming and going. My ONLY negative comment was the creaking of the doors and floor boards. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The house keeping staff deserve a mention as these rooms and the whole place was immaculate.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor as you won't get any noise from below as our floors were very creaky as were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malynch50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your recent review of Holyrood apartHOTEL. It is with pleasure to hear that our serviced apartments met your expectations and you had a positive stay with us. We have noted your remarks about our floors and I would like to assure you that we are working on this issue.
We are glad to hear that our house keeping and reception staff added to a memorable visit to Edinburgh. Please be sure that all your comments will be shared with the rest of our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming on your next visit to Scotland's capital.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#55 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing