We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Equipped Units In Prime Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked 2 x One bedroom apartments for 2 nights and were very surprised when we entered our units that we had been upgraded to 2 x two bedroom/two bathroom apartments.
I immediately phoned reception advising we would be happy to share one two bedroom apartment at a higher price and they could rebook the second unit. This was frowned on by the receptionist.who said we couldnt do that, but didn't make sense to us. We would have booked a 2 bedroom apartment if we new they had them but their website wasn't brilliant.Having said that the kitchens were well equipped and the washing machine/dryer a great unexpected bonus. The unit was huge. Also in easy access to the Royal Mile. Down side was the cost of parking at GBP 15 per night which we didn't know till checking in, and the price increasing by 40 GBP for the second night.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor. Bit noisy Saturday night but not too bad for CBD location. Probably better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good location to explore Edinburgh from
Room was adequate for a 3 night stay, although no draws was a bit annoying but very clean and the kitchen well equiped (small complaint here, that there was only 2 of everything, a little more cutlary would of been good)
We also suffered, as other reviews have stated regarding noise at the wekend with groups of other noisy guest coming in early in the morning (we stayed room 203)
The management need to address this, please at least put signs up and make it clear to groups
when they check in that there are other guest staying who require to sleep after midnight.
There is very limited parking under the building@ £15.00 a night so ensure you book a space
The rooms and the building could do with the decor tidying up as is starting to look well used
While this hotel is good value and well positioned I would reccomend only Sun- Thurs night but not weekends unless of course you are intending to burn the midnight oil.
This is a great shame as would of been perfect for families otherwise

Room Tip: do not accept 2nd floor rooms near entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

firstly you need to appreciate that these reviews are totally subjective and based upon personal experience

we stayed here many years ago when they first opened and as we were a family heading for an early flight from Edinburgh airport decided to try this for a night. the young scots girl who ''talked us down''and checked us in was very friendly and helpful. we had paid in advance for parking
(£15 per night) and we found the car park by turning in at the Tesco express and then right and down to the silver coloured gates. all was going well, the apartments are well laid out and quite comfortable and certailnly well located. there was tea and coffee in the kitchen and even milk in the fridge.
the problem we had was with the bathrooms, the water only ran at a trickle and there was no hot water, with the result that the toilet cistern took around 20 minutes to fill and the
water tank/boiler wich is located in a cupboard in the lounge dribbled away noisily all evening . there was running cold water in the kitchen tap and fortunately the shower worked

we complained to reception but were told that there was nothing that could be done and that they would get it fixed the next day, which was obviously no good to us

its just that as we paid £250 for an apartment for a night and to have only a dribble of cold water, no hot water and a limited use of the toilet I think that this is generally unacceptable

regarding rooms, the ground floor apartment windows only have pull down blinds which you need to use to stop passing pedestrians looking in. also we had the apartment in which the
automatic entrance door was fixed to the other side of the bedroom wall, as a result we could hear the motor mechanism every time it opened and late on it we heard a beeping noise, which we think was an alarm attached to the door to alert staff of people coming in.

if the water situation had been ok, we would have had a good stay but there you go

Room Tip: dont get a ground floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tosherinp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Aparthotel is in a fantastic location, in the Old Town just off the Royal Mile and easy to find on foot if you go through the archway off the Royal Mile - distinctive modern red & blue building. An easy 10min walk from Waverley Station. Check in was easy and quick.

The facilities offered for the price are fantastic - 2 beds, 2 bath (one ensuite, both of ours had showers), and a small sitting room with fully equiped kitchen, dining table & 4 chairs, TV, DVD and all kitchen equipment. Tea, Coffee, Milk & Sugar are added which is great after a long journey & much appreciated. Towels and toiletries make this as good as any hotel.

The beds are comfy but the décor is a little tired. Most walls had scuff marks or repairs - a lick of paint would spruce it up and the grouting etc. in the showers a bit mouldy & broken. Carpets and soft furnishings are showing signs of wear and a little grubby round the edges.

The biggest problem for me is noise. The floors, (in particular the nice wooden floor in the living area), are SO creaky that in the end, anyone moving about in our apartment made me cringe. The hot water and toilets use some kind of pump system so that if anyone uses the water, the noise from the pump in the living area is significant though short-term.

Finally, during the weeknights noise from other guests was barely audible - the soundproofing within the flats is great. BUT, come the weekend and the stag parties, smoking outside below the windows, the noise of groups of other guests coming in during the wee small hours, knocking on doors trying to be admitted by friends, slamming doors, loud laughing and joking and moving about on their creaky floors above your apartment at 3 in the morning would make me consider going elsewhere next time, which is a shame.

The idea of the Aparthotel is great but by it's very nature in this popular city attracts large single sex groups - it's perfect if you are one! It probably was once fantastic but I think it could do with a spruce up and for a family, staying over a weekend, I would hesitate to recommend it to my friends.

Would I stay again with a family? Maybe... depends on the day of the week and subject to an apartment on the top floor. It's hard to beat for price, facilities and location. With a single sex group going out at night, absolutely.

Feeling bad as this is the first time I have left a "less than positive" review.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tucked away just off the Royal Mile, at the quieter end of town, this suited us perfectly. Having asked for a studio apartment, but ending up with a two bedroom, two bathroom one, we were more than satisfied. Great to have a small, fully equipped kitchen, plus lounge etc.
Could do with some fresh paint, but the the comfy bed, good bathroom and other facilities made up for that.
Exceptional value by booking online, directly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to express many thanks for your favourable review on Trip Advisor. I am very glad to see that you found our serviced apartments comfortable and equipped with everything a guest may need. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Got this through Itison and totally worth the money. Stayed with friends who were over from Australia and spent 2 days in Edinburgh. Good location at the bottom of The Royal Mile. Well stocked kitchen if you had wanted to cook and we were lucky enough to have a breakfast pack and fruit basket included in our deal. Clean and modern and parking space included.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review, highlighting our terrific location and our amenities. I' am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place to stay! I like having a sitting room when I travel, instead of just a bedroom. This two bedroom, two bath apartment was great. The kitchen was fully stocked, even had a clothes washer/dryer.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is within walking distance of all the tourist attractions as well as grocery shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeMWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,055 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £82 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing