We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #66 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This great little place exceeded my expectations- tucked away in a quiet courtyard off the main drag in edinburgh- the royal mile- you can walk to tons of great restaurants, pubs, and tourist attractions. It is also an easy walk to the train station and tour bus stops for day trips to other great places in scotland- on top of this, the 2 bedroom apartment was amazingly luxurious, clean, modern and chic...and... the staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions you might have...and...there was free internet access in the lobby...and... they give you a great basket of food and snacks and coffee to get you started for the day. I was sad to leave the place and I would most definitely recommend it and stay there again the next time I plan a trip to edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Holyrood apartHOTEL
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed at the Holyrood with a 1.5 year old and it was a very positive experience. We wanted a separate bedroom for my son and kitchen with washer/dryer but were really surprised by how great it was overall. The rooms were a good size, everything was clean and modern and the kitchen was way more stocked than I'd expected. The hotel supplied a travel cot and highchair (at pre-trip request) for my son and they looked brand new. The staff were helpful in so many ways.

I'd read reviews about loud pipes and squeaky floors. I didn't notice the pipes. Yes the floors squeaked a bit but I could walk around while my little one was napping and it was no problem. Do not let comments about squeaky floors put you off. This is a fantastic place to base yourself from and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dew192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We were more than satisfied with our overall stay at the Holyrood Aparthotel. Our two bedroom appartment was clean and spacious and all the basic equipment was provided. Location was perfect and the stuff very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnitaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed here for five nights and had a great experience. Rachel and the rest of the staff were beyond helpful and helped us with car for hire reservations and restaurant reservations. Anything we asked for they helped. The breakfast included on the first day lasted us 3 to 4 days. The location was spectacular with a hotel and restaurant next door to eat and we were right off the Royal Mile was took you everywhere in town. There was also a hop on hop off bus stop on the street in front of us.
IF you do stay here, please note that if you face the courtyard, front of the apartments, it gets roudy and loud at night. We were woken up by drunk guests every night, so make sure to ask for a room facing away.
The place was clean, spacious and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
Thank campbejuSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends. The apartments were spacious and well equipped - even had dishwasher tablets. Having 2 bathrooms was a bonus and the beds were clean and comfortable. Breakfast Hamper provided on the first day was a great extra. Free access to internet via computer at reception - You had to pay for wi-fi access in rooms
Apartments location is good - close to the Royal Mile but little noise as set back from the road. If accessing on foot, best to go through the lane in Canongate - much quicker than going via Holyrood rd.
Perfect for either a family or a group of friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfastgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

2 bedrooms, pull out couch in main room and 2 bathrooms worked well for our family of 5.
Kitchen was useful, washer/dryer came in handy and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jammer05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

My husband booked a 3 night stay for our 1 anniversary int he holyrood he got a great offer of one night free and they also upgraded us to the penthouse apartment for free it was fantastic was great to come back to after a long cold day sightseeing in Edinburgh. The space fantastic also it was very safe and reception staff could not have been more helpful. Also free internet access from a computer in reception area you could also hire dvds for your room with the fee giong to charity. All in all i would love to back here and have recommened this to many friends and family since our stay

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoAntrimGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,027 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £80 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing