We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still looking for a good chinese takeaway...”
Review of Shangri-La

Shangri-La
Get food delivered
Ranked #812 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Ordered from here for the first time last night, and after reading reviews thought I'd finally found a decent chinese takeaway in Edinburgh. Ordered bog standard lemon chicken & deep fired crispy beef as a tester - if they can't get that right no point in trying them again. Got the food and while ok-ish, there was something a bit not right with the chicken sauce, and the crispy beef was way overcooked & a bit like eating charcoal, and the sauce had some added unnecessary stuff to it and again just didn't taste quite right, so most was left and put in bin. I've had worse, but I've had a lot better, sorry. The quest to find a half decent chinese takeaway in Edinburgh continues. Suggestions welcomed!

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank nicki f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Very friendly welcome as soon as you enter through the door,she gave us a heater to keep us warm,the food was very nice,and everything was cooked to perfection,and we would go back again.
thanks Sonia & Gavin Clarke

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank gavin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Just enjoyed a lovely meal here last night, the food was amazing and the staff were so attentive. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was some of the best Chinese food I've had. I definitely recommend you give it a go!

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Aisling D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Called in off the cuff and was pleasantly surprised prices good food amazing and staff lovely what more could you ask for and you can even take your own wine WOW!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bigmatt3485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2016

I'm a student living in the university halls nearby, i come to shangri-la for a takeaway every week as my weekly treat. The food is reasonably cheap and affordable for students, always taste good. Big portions as well. The lady owns the restaurant is really friendly and chatty. Definitely recommend it to everyone. Planing to go sit in with friends next month for Chinese new year.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jiayin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Shangri-La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.