We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect apartment and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building Our fuly-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building
Our fuly-equipped kitchen
The dining area
Entrance hallway
The bright seating area in the lounge
The dining table can comfortably seat four people
The kitchen has a useful breakfast bar
Some of our guests have told us this is the most comfortable bed they have ever slept in!
The bedroom has plenty storage space
There is ample space in the bedroom for the travel cot, which can be provided free of charge.
There are little extras tucked away around the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Holyrood Palace - only 200 metres from the property
View from the balcony of the apartment
Musicians marching up the Royal Mile (taken from the balcony)
Salisbury Crags loom over the Edinburgh skyline
Scottish National Monument (aka Edinburgh's Disgrace!)
Panorama of view from balcony of Browns Close Apartment
The Star Flyer in St Andrew Square for Christmas
The Scott Monument and the Big Wheel in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RUGBY8
LEICESTER
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment and location”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed at Browns Close with my wife and son on a recent trip to watch the open golf.Everything very clean and it is very close to many bars and restaurants.Excellent apartment and will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location for me..wifi for my son
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the location so convenient - and hope that the golf was worth the trip! We hope to see you again. Margaret and David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandeepme...
gurgaon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place we've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Brown's Close is perfectly located for tourists - it's on the Royal Mile, closer to Holyrood Palace than the Castle, yet it was relatively quiet at night. What really made this place stand out for us was the attention to detail. We were a group of 4 and stayed for 3 nights. The kitchen had everything we need, the sofa bed was impressively comfortable. Everything in the living room and bedroom were painstakingly colour coordinated, which was not required but was such a lovely touch. Margaret was there to receive us at noon, way earlier than our official check-in time, so we could drop off our luggage. She then kindly called us on the mobile to let us know when the place was ready. The wine and chocolates left for us were a nice welcome gesture. Since we were planning to cook at least a few times, we found the kitchen well-equipped with pots and pans and cutlery. There was also cereal, milk, oil, tea and coffee, sugar, etc. The living room had a TV, a music player and a pretty nice collection of novels, guide books about Edinburgh, board games, children's toys, CDs and DVDs. Would love to stay there again sometime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: We liked everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
What a great review! Thank you very much - it's nice to know that you enjoyed yourselves so much, and that the apartment met all of your requirements. We look forward to seeing you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KarynaSK
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect "home" close to all attractions!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Browns Apartment is along Canonsgate/Royal Mile, the perfect location close enough to amenities and attractions but without being in the thick of it.

Booking with Browns was very easy, and David was very accommodating of our needs. I travelled with my husband and 20-month old, as well as my mum and aunt visiting from Canada. We were welcomed by David and given a quick tour of the flat, which was decorated to a high standard. The kitchen and bathroom were fitted with all mod cons, and David even provided us with milk and eggs (along with coffee, tea, biscuits, chocolate and wine!).

The beds were very comfortable, the neighbourhood was lovely and we plan on staying here again when we come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homey comfort and the location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jancogo
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - home from home”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were in Edinburgh to attend a wedding and stayed for three nights. The apartment was so much more than we expected because of all the additional items provided and the attention to detail. From sewing kits to DVD's and a bottle of wine. The apartment was exceptionally clean, quality furnishings and well decorated but also a place to relax. We would not hesitate to stay here on our next visit to this wonderful city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, and for taking the time to write it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you made use of the facilities in the apartment. We hope that we will see you again - perhaps when there is another wedding to attend!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally H
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfy, homely and brilliant apartment- super location!!!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in this great apartment with our boys aged 9 and 13. Like other guests have mentioned, David and Margaret really go out of their way to make the flat very homely, clean and comfortable. The little extras such as milk in the fridge, coffee, tea, a bottle of wine and chocolates (the kids loved these!) were really welcome after a morning of traveling. Location-wise, the flat is perfect- we walked everywhere with our boys without the need to take a taxi or bus. Walking back through the lit-up streets of old town in the evening was special indeed! We slept very soundly all 3 nights on comfy beds and the apartment was surprisingly quiet. We all loved our first trip to Edinburgh and would certainly stay at Brown's Close again. As our 9 year old summed up when asked what his favorite bit of Edinburgh was (and I'm not joking....) ' THE APARTMENT!'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm, clean, comfortable
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We were very glad to hear that the boys liked the apartment so much (and hope they enjoyed the books and games!) and that you found the location so convenient - and, of course, that you enjoyed your first visit to Edinburgh. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing