We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All fur coat - the good - but a problem with the undergarments - not so good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greyfriars Apartments
north east scotland
Level Contributor
676 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“All fur coat - the good - but a problem with the undergarments - not so good.”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend staying at Greyfriars apartment Number 1 in Parliament Square - as reviewed in the previous two reports. It was a six nation rugby weekend and as expected Edinburgh was bursting at the seams with supporters from Wales and Scotland - including us - having a ball. Accommodation is at a premium at this time and the cost for three nights in this one bedroom apartment was equal to the normal price of a medium/high end hotel chain. We expected a special experience - however the good was almost scratched by the bad.
The good.
The location is fantastic if you want to be in the centre of the city - ten minutes from Waverley Railway Station - next door to St Giles Cathedral - midway between the Castle and Holyrood House.
The booking process - all very smooth - good engagement and communication - just ask the right questions.
The representative - Derek met us at the apartment and gave us a quick tour - he is a very helpful guy and went out of his way to explain the set up - I suggest he is worth his weight in gold to the Company( and the Scottish Tourist Board) and I trust they recognise this.
The apartment is well equipped with a cooker , washing machine /drier , dishwasher and microwave oven - lots of crockery and things to cook with - fantastic if you plan to eat indoors rather than try the hundreds of Edinburgh eateries that are within a ten minute walk.
The bathroom looks , at first glance , very swish - facy whirlpool bath , gleaming shower and mirrored walls.
A big TV.
The welcoming bottle of wine.
Plenty of storage space.
And of course the location.

The not so good.
The bedroom and the bed - the bed just fits into the bedroom - 12 inches to the wall on one side and eighteen on the other, 12 inches to the door.
There is no window in the bedroom.
Few people i know would be comfortable sleeping in a room as described above with the door closed.
The noise - this is really important.
This flat is on the second floor - above an italian restaurant - the window looks out over Old Fishmarket Close - a key thoroughfare between the clubs and nightspots of the Cowgate and the Grassmarket and the High Street. A lot of footfall.
The windows are old single pane sash windows - they do not cut out any of the noise level. I do not mean the noise from a group of loud singing party goers - although there were a few of them - I mean the sounds of empty bottles being emptied by the downstairs pasta parlour and the conversations of the groups passing through the Close.
More noise issues include the downpipe that runs down the left hand corner of the bedroom - next to your pillow if you are sleeping next to the wall - every time a loo is flushed or a bath emptied in the rooms above the sounds are transferred through this pipe.
I can sleep at a bus stop - I have slept in a ships cabin next to an engine room for many years - but after our first night I resorted to buying some ear plugs - which went a little way to flattening out the sounds of the night.

I said at the outset that the prices for this two person apartment are in line with a good quality hotel room. The hotel will service your room every day - supplying you with fresh bedlinen and towels - remember this does not happen here.
In the hotel - even at the Premier Inn - you will be supplied with tea and coffee making ingredients - there was no welcome pack - only a couple of teabags probably left by a previous visitor.
We did have a great weekend - however I expected better things from Greyfriars Apartments and will not be back.

Room Tip: Check out the noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Just had a long weekend here & the appartment was perfect. Very clean & tidy & you couldn't find a better location . 2 minutes to the castle & quality restaurants & bars.Derek was so helpful in every way.. We would highly recommend Greyfriars appartments.
The only slight issue was the bedroom in the 1 bed appartment was very tiny with no window.
But it wouldn't put us off staying again.
A couple of restaurants we dined in which were fantastic if you want a recommendation...
The Ship On The shore seafood restaurant on The Shore in Leith was great for fishfood lovers.
£10 taxi ride away & worth the visit.
The Witchery....2 minutes walk up the hill from the appartment towards the castle. Fantastic meal & service amazing..I would suggest 1 of the best retaurants in Edinburgh ?
Taxi from the airport around £20 each way 15 mins approx.
Also the 100 airport-city bus is around £3.50 each i think & takes around 30 mins & stops right outside the zoo if you want a visit.These buses leave around every 10 minutes from the airport & outside the train station from city centre.The appartment is about 10 minute walk up the hill from train station bus stop.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

The landlord is the most helpful guy going, he offered to check us in early as we got there earlier and apartment was ready, helped carry bags, rushed out to fix a problem with what we thought was the smoke alarm, actually the dishwasher beeping Oops! The bedroom is quite a box bedroom but bed very comfy. 1 Parliament square location ideal and central, though you might here some screams coming from the ghost tours! Fab base to stay on a short break.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJPrincessRoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Right in the heart of the city (the equivalent of Temple Bar for any of you familiar with Dublin), these apartments were absolutely perfect. The staff were professional and extremely helpful as an early flight meant we arrived too early for check-in but Derek in the office was more than happy to store our luggage for us until the apartment was ready to allow use to explore the city without the burden of lugging suitcases around.
We stayed in the one bedroom apartment in Parliament Square.The apartment was clean and spacious in an ideal location. The bedroom was a little on the small side but when in Edinburgh staying indoors is the last thing you're going to want to do so that was of no inconvenience whatsoever. With a fully kitted out kitchen we were able to cook and eat ourselves, and we got such a great feel for life in the city. All in all a 5star experience, would highly recommend it, and will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahGainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The 1 bedroom apartment on Parliament Square is just fabulous. The location is fantastic - a two minute walk to the castle, a couple of minutes to Edinburgh Waverley Station and situated near plenty of bars and restaurants. The apartment was lovely... luxurious, spotless, spacious and extremely well-equipped. The bed was oh so comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was fab! With the location being so central we never expected the apartment to be so beautifully quiet! Derek (the lovely landlord) is a complete star - he even let us stay later into the day on our check-out day as our train wasn't leaving until the evening (as nobody was booked in that night he said it was pointless us carting our bags around all day!). Edinburgh is a truly wonderful city and when we return (hopefully soon) we will definitely be staying here again! I've already recommended it to lots of friends! If you're looking for somewhere to stay then don't hesitate - book this apartment right now!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 568LauraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Peep Outside this place and you find the all in all of Edinburgh - Castle and whisky experience...made us love this apartment. Rooms were awesome and lighting was wonder... Quietness and eagle eye's of street down (from Kitchen though!! ) made time to fly in the wee hours of the day..Easily accessible from Railway stations through wicked and shortcut route made our travel easier...
Though the cost remains on a higher side for bachelors , but you would certainly feel great when party starts...
Bath rooms were average and only place of improvement!!

Overall , spending a little more is totally worth it..Thanks!!

Room Tip: Rooms in and around railway station are the best place to be in Edinburgh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

An amazing find. Situated 2 mins from the castle but in a surprisingly quiet street. Great views south over Grassmarket and the city, 1min to the Royal Mile. The apartment was enormous,warm, comfortable and beautifully appointed. Full kitchen, dishwasher and washing machine. Adjacent to shops, pubs, restaurants and close to Edinburgh's highlights. No internet and up 1 flight of stairs. Carparking not available on site but pay carpark close by.

Lovely, highly recommended apartment

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,370 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Old Town
The Witchery by the Castle
The Witchery by the Castle
#33 of 391 in Edinburgh
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Apartments

Property: Greyfriars Apartments
Address: Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greyfriars Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing