We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #32 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Booked this hotel after reading the many positive reviews and we were not disappointed. So much better to stay here and travel into the city centre by train. The station being located right next to hotel although we couldn't hear any train noise. For 7 of us it cost £11.20 return (4 adults, 3 children). You can keep the tickets and use for children to get free entrance into the zoo and dungeons. The journey into Edinburgh took 9 minutes. This was less hassle than driving around a busy city centre, trying to find parking and having to pay expensive parking fees.

We arrived almost an hour early but were able to check in as our room was ready, our friends room wasn't, but they allocated them a new room to save them waiting about.
The rooms were spotless, we had a family room which had 2 single beds and one king size. There was still plenty of room to walk about. The all you can eat breakfast was great value for money. Fresh, tasty and plentiful! The staff were so friendly and helpful. All in all a great first experience of Edinburgh and one I wish to repeat soon. We all agreed it was the perfect choice and will definitely stay here again. We bought the 2 day Royal Edinburgh ticket which got us into the castle, Palace of Holyrood house and aboard the Royal yacht Britannia aswell as giving us 2 days unlimited travel on 5 different tour buses- and no queuing...fast tracked straight in!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceytj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    441
    114
    23
    17
See reviews for
541
508
48
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We first discovered Premier inns earlier this year & this one did not disappoint us. Clean, comfortable, quiet, close to transport. The other reviews have pretty well covered everything, however the bedroom windows do not open & neither are there window vents to open (is this in breach of building regs I wonder?). Also Premier need to get their act together over providing gluten free food. The dessert menu is particularly limiting in choice if one can't eat gluten. However we would definitely use again.Friendly helpful staff, you don't need to self check in there is always someone there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NenNen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

This wasn't my first choice hotel .... But I've found a real gem!. The surrounding area is short of bars, restaurants, etc but the food and bar is absolutely fine. When staying this side of Edinburgh this will now be my first choice.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Days_MTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This hotel was only opened in February 2012.
The whole area is new and being developed. The roads are confusing, and the SatNav will not always direct you to the correct location.
It is a great hotel, clean and spacious rooms, the Lounge is well furnished. There is also a Costa Coffee shop and a nicely laid out dining room. However, our meal took 70 minutes to arrive which was a real disappointment when compared with everything else about the hotel- I think they must have had a problem in the kitchen!
The bathroom was really great with a nice deep bath, however, my only concern Is that when less abled or less agile persons try to get out of the bath after having a shower, when standing there is no hand support rail, and can see an accident waiting to happen. I did indicate this to the staff. No sure about the self check-in machines, much prefer a smiling face!

The hotel is on the bus route from the airport, and there is a rail station ‘Edinburgh Park’ adjacent to the hotel, with a regular train service into the city – fare currently £2.90 return.
At present there is general chaos in Edinburgh city centre due to the laying of tram tracks, many roads are closed and parking at times can be challenging.
This is a great hotel when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

i stayed here for 1 night whilst working away from my normal home location and was very surprised. I normally stay at the marriott on glasgow road, however, this time, stayed at this hotel. It was 5 mins walk from walk, so this was a bonus too.
the hotel has a self check in facility, which is the first i have seen of this kind in any hotel brand. A member of staff is on hand to assist and it was all done very efficiently.
staff are very friendly and helpful. I didnt eat in the main restaurant, however, a couple of my colleagues did and when I met them for a couple of drinks in the bar afterwards, they really enjoyed their meal.
rooms are very clean and have all which you would expect. I asked for an iron (as they dont have this in the room) and it was there very quickly.
didnt have breakfast, so unable to comment on this element of the trip.
The hotel is very new and you can tell, however, staff seem very well trained in customer service and are very attentive.
i would definitely stay here again. I have been told I may be visitung edinburgh for work again and I am looking forward to staying here again. It is a fair way away from the centre, so dont expect to have a party nearby as it is located on a business park, however, a very pleasant stay. Looking forward to the next stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in May and couldn't believe it's wonderful location, right next to Edinburgh Park station. We wanted to explore Edinburgh City and had several attractions already booked. The return off peak fare was only £2.90 each return, and with trains running every 15 mins or so made it really easy. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating attending to our every need and even ringing on the day of our arrival to give us directions on how to find the hotel. The food in the restaurant was great and the bedroom extremely clean and comfortable with everything that you would need. Would definitely stay here again and cannot praise the hotel and staff highly enough.

Room Tip: We had room 101 on the 1st floor on the corner overlooking the station - very quiet and easy to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The moment we arrived at the premier Inn last night we recieved oustanding service,the (geordie)receptionist was really helpful and welcoming. The resturant staff were really friendly and the food was great-Steak on a set menu! The rooms were comfy and clean - we were really impressed 5 star service!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,857 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#59 of 148 in Edinburgh
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing