We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation -- Pity about the Thyme restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #32 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great accomodation -- Pity about the Thyme restaurant”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Had a bit of difficulty finding it since it's not on the sat/nav yet but on phoning, a young lady gave me another post code which took me right there .On arrival my friends from Australia , my wife and I were met by a very pleasant young lady ( Jaqui ) who was very helpful and efficient and before we new it we were in our rooms . After a change of clothing we had a refreshment in the bar before sitting down to dinner.The server told the Ladies what the soup of the day was and two minutes after they had ordered it they were informed that it was off (they ordered something else).Two sirloin steaks were ordered for the gents and we paid extra to have three times fried chips.The chips on arrival were soggy on the outside and and had we asked the couple at the next table ( who had already sent theirs back ) we would not have ordered them in the first place. On complaining we were told that they were three times fried and that was the end of it ( we both left the rest of or meal ) The chips were obviously of the frozen variety. Any other comments in this post pertain to the Premier Inn only.

Room Tip: The room we were allocated was 212 and up to the Premier Inn normal high standard the only minus f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    434
    111
    23
    17
See reviews for
537
496
47
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

When booking at The Gyle, I initially had some apprehension about staying in a brand-new Premier Inn located in essentially an office park suburb on the west side of Edinburgh. But it turned out to be an excellent choice. The desk staff were wonderful, especially Kerry and Iona, who really helped us feel welcome after 24 long hours of travel. The property was nicely furnished. The room was comfortable, with quite firm beds. And the location a couple of miles outside the city in the South Gyle district turned out to be a nice advantage after all.
As others have mentioned, it is right next to the small train station, and a short and smooth 5-10 minute ride gets you directly to Waverly Station downtown. Also, if you walk out of the hotel and cross the tracks on the elevated walkway (look east out the windows for a view of the Edinburgh skyline in the distance), there is a shopping center just south of the station with a Tesco's for buying drinks, snacks or meal components. (The Tescos has an cash machine/ATM too, I think.) The hotel has an open parking lot which was never full -- a delight for those days when we were using a rental car.
Rooms are typical UK/European size (smaller than US hotel rooms). But they were comfortable and even though we were overlooking the train station, there was *no* train noise whatsoever audible within the room. On the other hand, kids running on the floor above us could be heard and the thumps even rattled the light fixtures (not a big deal once everyone's quieted down for the night). Bathroom well appointed. The Premiere Inn-standard bathtub took a little getting used to: it is narrow and the floor of the bathtub is above the floor of the bathroom, so there is quite a step out and down. I wondered if that might be a bit of challenge for impaired mobility folks.
Overall, a very pleasant stay outside the bustle of the city. It'll be our first choice to stay during our next visit.
Other notes:
Breakfast in the Thyme restaurant was fine and the staff (especially Richie) was friendly and efficient. At about 9am, watch all the commuters walk past on their way to the office buildings north of the hotel. Dinner at the Thyme in the evenings was just okay -- more about that in the separate restaurant review.
There's a Costa Coffee shop attached to the hotel if one just wants a drink and muffin to go in the morning.
Like many European hotels nowadays, one must keep one's keycard in a wall slot in order to turn on the power to the room.
If driving to this Premiere Inn, check the directions carefully. It is a bit difficult to find, especially approaching from the south. Satnav will get you close enough. Note the property is so new, Google Earth still shows just an empty field where the Inn is located. It's immediately north across the street from the Edinburgh Park train station.
The train station itself is unstaffed and tickets can be bought at a kiosk; it takes credit cards. Be aware of whether the tickets you buy are peak (morning/evening rush hour) or off-peak!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay-cee-1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just stayed here for one night before flying out on holiday but this premier inn is one of the best ive stayed in and the staff are just fantastic they found out my daughter was going to be nine the next day and gave her a hugh sweet with happy birthday 9 on it , that really made her night and i thought i was a fantastic gesture by them . The room was fine and clean and quiet and an excellent place to stay if your flying out of edinburgh airport the next day its about 10 mins to the airport from there .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed last weekend 12 - 14 July whilst visiting relatives and shopping in Edinburgh and it was just as good as last time. This hotel is right by the railway station with a regular service into Edinburgh and beyond. Only 10 minutes journey for £40.60 return, far cheaper than trying to drive and parking.

Booked the meal deal which gave us breakfast and and a three course dinner, plenty of choice and well cooked and presented.

Staff more than helpfull always checking if everything is ok. I can fully recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland, uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently with my husband & 3 year old son. On arrival we were welcomed by 2 very friendly receptionists & check in was swift & easy. As we had been at the zoo all day we decided to order from the restaurant but take our meals to our room, this was no problem (it is not room service, you take your tray yourself but this did not bother us in the slightest!), we ate in the restaurant the 2nd night & both nights the meals were lovely!! Service in the restaurant is great both at breakfast & dinner time, staff are very friendly & polite & very kid friendly!!
We had 2 great nights sleep & with the hot weather the air con was welcoming. Room was spacious & clean as was the rest of the hotel.

Great location for city centre, train station is on the hotel doorstep & the journey is no longer than 10 min, if that. £3 return for an adult.

If using sat nav, the hotel postcode has you turning right a wee bit before the hotel but we noticed the hotel was further up a bit so just followed the road another 300yards or so before turning right into car park. Had noticed some people found this a problem but you really can't miss the hotel, the logo is there to be seen.
Would definitely recommend & would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneddz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break with kids 9,7,5. The structure is brand new with all the hi- tech equipments, self check in/check out facilities, elevator is roomy, room is clean and air conditioned. The parking is excellent, it in a of town that will let you drive around okay. The staff are friendly and the breakfast more than adequate. I will strongly recommend this place, we have stayed in over ten premier inn hotels in uk and so far this one is the best. The price is budget as well! Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arizo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is in outskirts of Edinburgh but well connected. Nice and modern rooms and parking. The front office staff was very helpful. No frills but great hospitality. Nice and value for money breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Airport (Newbridge) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing