We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - hotel-staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #32 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent - hotel-staff and service”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our second visit to this hotel and as before the service and staff were top notch, the rooms and the restaurant are well serviced and very clean. The meals are very good and the breakfasts are all you can eat buffet style.

This is the standard that all hotels should aim for!

WELL DONE TO ALL THE STAFF WHO MADE OUR STAY SO WELCOME

The hotel is located just outside of Edinburgh and has free parking there is a train station 2 min walk from the hotel and the city center is only a 10 min ride on the train. An adult return ticket is about £3.00 and kids are free on weekends and school holidays. In my view its an excellent base to use for a trip to the city.

Service Excellent
Value Excellent
Sleep Quality Excellent
Cleanliness Excellent
Location Excellent
Rooms Excellent
Staff Excellent
Food Excellent
Use again Definitely

Room Tip: Book the restaurant if you are going to eat there as it gets full quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Mark G

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us & our fantastic location. It’s great to hear that you found our Thyme restaurant excellent and enjoyed our All you can eat Premier breakfast.

The staff are thrilled to know they made you feel welcome. They do everything the can to ensure our guests feel at home and know that they are always here to help.

We all look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    440
    114
    23
    17
See reviews for
541
507
48
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the premier inn at Edinburgh Park last night and was most impressed the standard that the hotel offers to its guests
The staff in all areas, restaurant, reception were first class and very attentive to my requirements and the room was spotless and had everything needed for a short stay.
I enjoyed the food both at dinner and breakfast and a good selection was available in comfortable surroundings.
Wifi is available free for a token 30 mins then has to be paid for.
I would have liked to have watched the champions league football on TV but as SKY TV was not available it was not possible.
The hotel is a bit difficult to find by car if you are not familiar with the area
I would certainly stay again now I know where it is.
Transport into Edinburgh by train or bus is only a few paces away and really very convenient.
Overall excellent value

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank doonhame10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear doonhame10

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay & our convenient location. I’m also pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our Thyme restaurant and the food on the menu.

Our staff will be happy to hear they have made a great impression. They strive to be as helpful and to make all our guests feel as welcome and comfortable as possible.

We all look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A very clean, comfortable, modern Premier Inn, which being slightly outside the city is a little more affordable. Also it is right next to the Edinburgh Park train station which takes 8mins to travel to Waverly and the trains are very frequent. There is ample parking and as a regular visitor to Edinburgh I will always use this hotel from now on. The staff were very courteous and helpful. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBSH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear KBSH_12

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s wonderful to hear that you have had a comfortable stay with our hotel as well as enjoying our great location.

All our staff strive to be as helpful as possible. Thank you for your kind review.

We all look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I travelled from Northumberland to visit our son at Uni in Edinburgh. We have stayed at the Gyle on numerous occasions as well as other city centre Premier Inns in the city. The hotel is clean and modern, parking facilities are great and transport links into the city are good. The rail station is situated just outside the entrance and the tram links will also travel to the Gyle. Food in the restaurant was excellent , the best that we have experienced at a Premier. We can't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Julie T

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

Thank you for your lovely review. It’s great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as our fantastic location.
I’m pleased to know that you have enjoyed our Thyme restaurant and found the food ‘excellent’.

We all look forward to seeing you both on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a new Premier Inn and is very comfortable. What was so useful to us is that it's right next door to a station so that you're only a couple of stops from central Edinburgh (£3 return). It absolutely couldn't be more convenient if visiting the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear RickyDerbyshire

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m happy to hear that you have had a comfortable stay with our hotel and that you have enjoyed our fantastic location. Thank you for your great review.

We all look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

So another premier inn in a different city, but the same great welcome, same clean room same great breakfast all cooked to perfection why stay anywhere else?.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it has ways access to the station

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CastlefordAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear CastlefordAndy

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

Thank you for your kind review. I’m happy to hear you have received the same great welcome, enjoyed our clean rooms and our ‘All you can eat Premier breakfast’.

We all look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Arrival at this hotel if using a Sat Nav can be a little confusing – I recommend setting it for Lochside Crescent instead of Lochside court as my Sat Nav couldn’t find the address printed on the booking, but there was ample parking.

Check in was very simple on the self-check in machines with staff more than happy to help.

The room I had was a very comfortable and clean twin room (one double and one single bed) – the room was spacious and kept incredibly clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The TV was a little on the small side, but the wifi in the room was reliable and had no connection issues. The bathroom was also fine. However, the rooms seem to have paper thin walls both above, and side to side, we were woken up to very heavy footsteps above us and people in the next room, but thankfully im not too much of a heavy sleeper so it didn’t bother me too much.

I never tried the breakfast at the restaurant as there was a Tesco over the road for a very good price. But on the subject of the restaurant we did order a Pizza and told staff we would wait for it to take back to the room, we were told this was fine, but only after 20 minutes of it being ready did they tell us saying they tried to ring us in the room, not the best impression. The Costa Coffee in the hotel was also fine.

Would I stay here again – yes, very impressed and right next to Edinburgh Park train station, and it only takes 10 minutes to Edinburgh City Centre (free parking also a bonus).

Room Tip: Ignore Sat Nav postcode and type in Lochside Crescent, Edinburgh
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcp744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Jcp744

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

Thank you for your review. When using Sat Nav, due to our hotel being fairly new, if the Sat Nav is not up to date it may struggle to find us. We do our best to send out a welcome pack to each of our guests with accurate written directions. We would however still always advise to call us if you are unsure and our friendly reception team will be happy to help direct you.

I’m pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Our Housekeeping team ensure that our rooms are cleaned to a high standard each and every time. They work hard to ensure that all our guests have the same experience every time. I’m sorry you found you had an issue with noise within our hotel. Our night team do their best to make sure our ‘Quite Time’ is adhered to. If you find you have the same issue on your next stay with us remember you can call reception at any point using the phone provided in the room.

I would like to apologise for the confusion over your pizza. This has been passed on to our Food & Beverage team to minimize the chances of this ever happening again.

Thank you once again for your review we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,853 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#65 of 148 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing