We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #31 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked into this Premier inn with high expectations as a newish hotel, and Premier inn excellent standards. Check in was efficient and staff members welcoming which is always good at Premier inns. Were a little disappointed to find litter on the bedroom floor of one of the rooms, obviously not been done to the normal high standard. One member of staff said they had been busy after a hen night, which is fine but new guests don't expect previous ones litter!!.
Rooms above overnight were very noisy and although you expect some movement this was more than excessive. We asked to move and made a valid complaint. We were moved to top floor for second night but other guests banging doors and being inconsiderate to others made for just as bad a night, plus the curtain rail on the net fell down during the night rather loudly. Breakfast and evening meal at the hotel were really good, apart from the second morning not having any eggs for poaching but had eggs for frying only!! Was rather gob smacked but saw the funny side.
Made comments upon check out about the 2nights issues and hoped for someone to listen and sort out, but the receptionist needed to get someone to investigate, almost like not being believed, left a bit dejected and waited four hours for someone to sort after much chasing about. All in all this is a great hotel for location and food, but just a little more empathy and ability by reception to sort out guests issues would make this stay much better. Must say that it was all sorted in the end and Premier Inn did deliver in the end. Nice hotel just some training needed on guest being able to leave with a satisfied stay.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from railway side and ask for top floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storyreader23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Jackie B

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh.

Please accept apologise that you experienced issues during your stay with us here. I am glad that the team rectified the issue with the 1st night & moved you upstairs to ensure noise was to a minimum for you, clearly due to other guests making noise; this was not the solution for you on this occasion.

We try to ensure our guests have a good nights sleep, we regularly walk all hotel corridors to minimise all guests’ noise.

Please accept my apologise that you did not experience a normal stay with us; we pride ourselves on delivering great service & rooms to our guests.

We all look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,651)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located for the tram and train into Edinburgh. The journey by train is 10 minutes if going into Waverley which is in the heart of Edinburgh . Haymarket is a little outside the city but still walking distance .
Parking is easy and free. Thyme the in house restaurant is great good food and lovely staff.
We will be back for sure.
For coffee lovers there is an on site costa and Krispy kremes is in the shopping area the other side of the train lines

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank MikeHYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear am36

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m happy to hear that you have enjoyed your experience staying within our hotel. With the trains and trams both so frequent reaching the city centre couldn’t be easier. We have 120 parking spaces, that’s 1 per room, so why bother to pay for city centre parking when you can park with us for free.

Our Costa coffee store is also a great place to enjoy either a light breakfast or a light lunch served with great coffee! They are open from 7am-7pm Monday to Friday and 8am-4pm Saturday and Sunday.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose this for its position adjacent next to the new tram station. Its only a minute or two to walk. Fares into Edinburgh are £1.50 one way, or £3.50 for a day ticket (this includes Lothian buses). Trams are plentiful and very clean as you would expect from a brand new system. Whilst being very close to the tram and rail station, the noise was not intrusive.
The hotel itself - this is the brand new design, with aircon in the bedrooms and slightly smaller rooms than some of the older hotels in the chain. That said, they are perfectly adequate for a few nights away.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, typical for the brand in our experience.
There is a business park surrounding the hotel, though there is lots of space between buildings. A retail park is just across the rail line.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank am36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear am36

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you would recommend our hotel. We find that since the new tram stop has opened this is quickly becoming another popular option to reach Edinburgh city centre. They take 15 minutes approx to reach Princes street and run every 8-10 minutes.

Being so close to the train station we are aware that some of our guests may worry about noise but we are pleased to say that this is not normally the case. Our windows are specially designed to minimise any outside noise and due to the trains not running past midnight, we rarely have any issues with noise.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Ideal for the airport or city, given the transport links on the doorstep.
Very clean, fresh and modern facility. Staff very helpful throughout.

Just not able to take advantage of the dinner and breakfast deal as our flight was too early in the morning.

Would certainly use this Premier Inn again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Iann

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m happy to hear that you found our hotel to be in an ideal location. With the trains going to the city centre every 15 minutes we find this to be the most convenient way to access Edinburgh city centre. It only takes 10 minutes to reach Edinburgh Waverly, much easier than the 15-20 minute drive and no need to worry about finding a parking space.

I hope on your next visit you will have the time to enjoy Thyme, our in house restaurant. We offer a meal deal which includes 2 courses for dinner, a drink and our ‘as much as you like’ Premier breakfast the next morning.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

a party of 12 of us stayed here for my hen do and the staff were great helping book taxis etc would like to mention kerry from reception angel from the restaurant and tony from nights were all very friendly rooms were spotless too well done to these people

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear rachel s

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Hen night. Thank you for taking the time to mention a few of our team members. Kerry, Angel and Tony are pleased to find that they made a great impression. Our team all work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience and are fantastic at doing so.

From the whole team we wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although this hotel was not in the center of the city, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The rooms were clean and quiet and reasonably priced! The tram/train station was located just a short walk outside the hotel entrance and it was super easy to get into the city center within 10 minutes using this form of transportation. The breakfast was delicious too!!
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Kathy M

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s fantastic to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms and our great value. With the trams every 10 minutes and the trains every 15 minutes reaching Edinburgh city centre couldn’t be easier. Thank you for recommending us!

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed Friday and Saturday night at The Gyle. Was so impressed with the service in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner, we ate both twice. Attentive without being cloying, nothing was too much bother. Food was nice too.
Room nicely presented, very clean and modern.
Found the bed a bit hard though, should have asked if they had a topper or something but didn't have time, I'm sure they would have obliged.
Would stay in a premier inn again if this is the standard.

Room Tip: If you like a soft bed as if they can provide a mattress topper.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear DebsMain

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s great to hear that you were impressed with the service during your stay with us. Our team work extremely hard to ensure a great stay for all our guests and do it very well. I’m happy that you have also enjoyed our Thyme restaurant I hope you made the most of our Meal Deal. For only £22.99 you can have 2 courses, a drink and our ‘As much as you like’ Premier Breakfast the next morning.

I’m sorry to hear that you found the bed a bit hard. Just let our 24 hour reception team know on your next visit and we will be happy to fix this for you.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,554 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing