We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for travelers on a budget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for travelers on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This was the only place with good reviews I found that was within my budget, and I was not disappointed. I'm guessing the lower price is due to the location -- it is way outside Edinburgh city center. However, getting into the city is no problem at all. There is a bus stop, a tram stop, and a train stop right outside the hotel. It only takes 10 minutes (2 stops) by train to get to the edge of the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Everything about the hotel was great -- clean room, comfy bed, yummy hot breakfast buffet (wonderful selection of tea, coffee, cold dishes and hot dishes!). Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bonggamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear bongamon

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s great hearing that you have enjoyed your stay with our hotel. The great transport links to our city centre means that our guests can enjoy lower rates and in a quiet area without any fuss on reaching Edinburgh City centre.

I’m pleased that you have enjoyed our clean rooms; comfy beds and our all you can eat Premier Breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to write about us.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    418
    108
    22
    17
See reviews for
520
477
47
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

As a family, we booked a room in order that we could support the Baton relay the following day. We enjoyed our night in the hotel, meeting friends for a meal In the restaurant (Welsh rarebit was excellent with a full plateful, difficult to finish but I managed it, our guests were happy with the selections they made also) 9 for a meal and two people joined us later. We were treated well and the staff were first class. The Hotel is exactly what it says it is, very reassuring. A common problem with most Hotels is the toast making facilities of a morning, "the toast rotisserie/lottery" is a minor nuisance that could be sorted out easily, but this didn't detract much from our stay. We'll done Edinburgh Park. Really enjoyed our very short stay, and you will be on our list for future visits to Edinburgh.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Neil G

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with our hotel. I hope that you also had a great time during your day supporting the Commonwealth baton relay.
I’m happy that you have enjoyed our Thyme restaurant and that our team here treated you well. Our team strive to ensure great service and I’m thrilled that you found it to be first class. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

To start this hotel is NOT in the city centre, however it is very close to the office I was visiting which is why it met my needs. It was clean, modern and comfortable with helpful courteous staff. My only criticism is the food in the restaurant is uneventful, and you have to book in advance to get a table which I found strange for a budget chain, although this may be due to its location on the edges of Edinburgh.

To get into Edinburgh city centre is very convenient with a 15 min train or tram ride on the hotel doorstep costing £3 return. This would make up for its location out of the city centre for other types of travellers. Also it is in close proximity to the Airport and has ample parking for those that need

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jplw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Jplw

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you have taken the time to write a review for our hotel. I’m happy that you found our team to be courteous. They all do there very best to look after all of our guests and do a remarkable job doing so.

I’m sorry to hear that you found out restaurant uneventful. As we do find our Thyme restaurant to be very popular we always advise our guests to book a table in advance to avoid disappointment. This is generally the case in most Whitbread restaurants.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I must admit I was disappointed when we first arrived being that we were so far from the city center. But the train station was only steps away from the hotel and the trains run continually (we never waited more than 5 minutes). The train ride was less than 10 minutes and then we were in the heart of the city. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mom893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear mom893

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

We always enjoy the pleasant surprise our guest receive when they find out just how easy it is to reach Edinburgh city centre. You can avoid busy traffic, expensive parking and you have hop on a train for £3 return ticket and it only takes you 10 minutes to reach Edinburgh Waverly. I’m pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable our housekeeping team all work hard to ensure our bedrooms to be a high standard of cleanliness.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked into this Premier inn with high expectations as a newish hotel, and Premier inn excellent standards. Check in was efficient and staff members welcoming which is always good at Premier inns. Were a little disappointed to find litter on the bedroom floor of one of the rooms, obviously not been done to the normal high standard. One member of staff said they had been busy after a hen night, which is fine but new guests don't expect previous ones litter!!.
Rooms above overnight were very noisy and although you expect some movement this was more than excessive. We asked to move and made a valid complaint. We were moved to top floor for second night but other guests banging doors and being inconsiderate to others made for just as bad a night, plus the curtain rail on the net fell down during the night rather loudly. Breakfast and evening meal at the hotel were really good, apart from the second morning not having any eggs for poaching but had eggs for frying only!! Was rather gob smacked but saw the funny side.
Made comments upon check out about the 2nights issues and hoped for someone to listen and sort out, but the receptionist needed to get someone to investigate, almost like not being believed, left a bit dejected and waited four hours for someone to sort after much chasing about. All in all this is a great hotel for location and food, but just a little more empathy and ability by reception to sort out guests issues would make this stay much better. Must say that it was all sorted in the end and Premier Inn did deliver in the end. Nice hotel just some training needed on guest being able to leave with a satisfied stay.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from railway side and ask for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Storyreader23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Jackie B

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh.

Please accept apologise that you experienced issues during your stay with us here. I am glad that the team rectified the issue with the 1st night & moved you upstairs to ensure noise was to a minimum for you, clearly due to other guests making noise; this was not the solution for you on this occasion.

We try to ensure our guests have a good nights sleep, we regularly walk all hotel corridors to minimise all guests’ noise.

Please accept my apologise that you did not experience a normal stay with us; we pride ourselves on delivering great service & rooms to our guests.

We all look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located for the tram and train into Edinburgh. The journey by train is 10 minutes if going into Waverley which is in the heart of Edinburgh . Haymarket is a little outside the city but still walking distance .
Parking is easy and free. Thyme the in house restaurant is great good food and lovely staff.
We will be back for sure.
For coffee lovers there is an on site costa and Krispy kremes is in the shopping area the other side of the train lines

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear am36

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m happy to hear that you have enjoyed your experience staying within our hotel. With the trains and trams both so frequent reaching the city centre couldn’t be easier. We have 120 parking spaces, that’s 1 per room, so why bother to pay for city centre parking when you can park with us for free.

Our Costa coffee store is also a great place to enjoy either a light breakfast or a light lunch served with great coffee! They are open from 7am-7pm Monday to Friday and 8am-4pm Saturday and Sunday.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose this for its position adjacent next to the new tram station. Its only a minute or two to walk. Fares into Edinburgh are £1.50 one way, or £3.50 for a day ticket (this includes Lothian buses). Trams are plentiful and very clean as you would expect from a brand new system. Whilst being very close to the tram and rail station, the noise was not intrusive.
The hotel itself - this is the brand new design, with aircon in the bedrooms and slightly smaller rooms than some of the older hotels in the chain. That said, they are perfectly adequate for a few nights away.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, typical for the brand in our experience.
There is a business park surrounding the hotel, though there is lots of space between buildings. A retail park is just across the rail line.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear am36

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you would recommend our hotel. We find that since the new tram stop has opened this is quickly becoming another popular option to reach Edinburgh city centre. They take 15 minutes approx to reach Princes street and run every 8-10 minutes.

Being so close to the train station we are aware that some of our guests may worry about noise but we are pleased to say that this is not normally the case. Our windows are specially designed to minimise any outside noise and due to the trains not running past midnight, we rarely have any issues with noise.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing