We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value hotel between the airport and the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good value hotel between the airport and the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent 1 night at this hotel before our return home, so we needed a hotel close to the airport but not very expensive. This was it. The best: 1) the tram station is just outside the hotel: about 10 min to the airport and about 20-30 to the city centre; 2) also good value for money; 3) free parking in the hotel's parking lot. The not so good: as with all other premier inn hotels, is the charge for wifi internet - GBP3 per day (while all other places we stayed at while in Scotland had no wifi charges). The 30 minutes free wifi per day expire 30 minutes after you first log in (i.e., you can't save your unused minutes if you logged out say after 10 minutes and want to use your "balance" say 2 hours later).
Room and bath were clean and good size four our needs. Hotel (our room) was quiet. Staff were very helpful and courteous.
No proximity to restaurants, so one is limited to eating at the hotel's restaurant or drive or take the tram to a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertJohn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear RobertJohn_Canada

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s great to hear that you have found us to be the best option for a one night stay before leaving for the airport. With Edinburgh airport being only 10 minutes away by car and Edinburgh city centre being only 10 minutes by Train, we are located perfectly between both. With lower than city centre prices and we don’t charge for car parking this just adds to our great value.

We provide 30 minutes of free Wi-Fi per day for our guests for more it only costs £3 for 24 hours. If we were to provide free Wi-Fi for all our guests we would have to raise our prices. Not all our guest require Wi-Fi so we believe that having it as extra gives our guests the best possible room rate.

I’m pleased that you found our rooms to be clean and of a good size. Our team here enjoy looking after our guests and I am happy to hear that they were helpful and courteous towards you.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    418
    108
    22
    17
See reviews for
520
477
47
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a really good Premier Inn. The facilities are pretty much exactly what you'd expect as they are obviously part of the large chain of hotels, but the staff go above and beyond and the rooms and restaurant are really nice. I visited the restaurant late in the evening after a long journey from the Isle of Skye and asked if the food could be prepared to take to the rooms. I was expecting either to be told no, or that there was a much reduced choice, but the barman explained I could choose anything. I chose a lovely platter to share with my husband and this was cooked to order and parcelled up really sensibly so I could take it upstairs. I also ordered two coffees which the barman promptly made when I first ordered - he then realised that they might have cooled when the food arrived and insisted that I have fresh ones. This is serious attention to detail from a chain hotel and I was really impressed. Thank-you, I'm sorry I didn't get your name!

Breakfast the next day was the only slight disappointment, as it seemed to be the usual Premier Inn food.....I do understand the considerations and constraints but I think it would set the chain apart if they would only use fresh, local food supplied directly to their hotels. I don't come to Scotland for the full English!

Although we didn't use it, you could fall out of the hotel door and into the station which was served by both trains and trams. I also saw several buses - I presume these stop at the station and connect with the city too.

All in all a really good Premier Inn, located in a sensible place for the airport, a stop over on the way north/south or a good place to explore the city from. It was lovely and quiet as it was situated on a business park. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: All would be good as they are identikit Premier Inn rooms - nice and clean too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank not_big-not_clever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear not_big-not_clever

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you have had a great stay with our hotel and I’m very happy that you find our team to go above and beyond! Our Thyme restaurant do their best to accommodate our guests need and I’m glad that our barman looked after you and had your meal prepared for you to take to your room as well as prepared you fresh coffees. Our team here do everything they can to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and always go that extra mile when they can.

I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our all you can eat Premier breakfast. As a brand we like to be consistent across all our hotels. This means our Premier Inns all provide the same all you can eat Premier breakfast so that you know you will receive the same great value breakfast wherever you stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m pleased that you would recommend our hotel.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding over two nights. With the tram and the local train less than 100m away access into Edinburgh was cheap and quick: £1.50 for a single ticket into the centre, way less than a parking fee. Also great car parking facilities at the hotel.

Reception was excellent and the room (as you would expect from Premier Inn) clean and spacious with standard furniture. I do like the "Good night's sleep promise".

We had breakfast on both mornings and the quality was first rate and you could have as much as you could eat.

To be honest, why would you stay anywhere else if you were visiting Edinburgh and wanted somewhere clean, spacious and accessible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiplakeHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ShiplakeHM

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m thrilled to hear that you have had such a great time staying with our hotel. I’m glad you made great use of our fantastic transport links to Edinburgh city centre. Having free parking for our guests makes it much easier and cheaper to take public transport than to have the hassle of driving into Edinburgh and looking for expensive parking.

Our reception team are very pleased to hear that you found them to be excellent. Our team work very hard to look after our guests and do everything they can to ensure a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great stay for a family of three. Quick simple check in and up to a nice, clean quiet room. Considering we overlooked the Train and Tram stops, we didn't hear any noise, and I am a very light sleeper. Trams were a fantastic way to commute to the centre of Edinburgh and very reasonable for a family day ticket £7.50, which covers bus journeys too. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We ate out, so I can't comment on the restaurant, however breakfast was perfect and plenty of choice. Only one tiny negative and it's not about the hotel, it was the Sat-Nav postcode, it took us to the retail park where we could see the hotel but couldn't access it from that side of the tracks, and this is noted on the confirmation e-mail from the hotel and they do supply three postcodes, the third one was the one that got us there. Would definitely use again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDon_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear SuperDon_1983

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased to hear that you have had a great stay with our hotel. Using our ‘Quick+Easy’ check in our guests are able to check in efficiently giving them more time to speak to our team. I’m happy to hear that you also did not experience any Train noise. Our windows are sealed shut and insulated to minimise any outside noise as well as the Train not running between 12am-6am this all ensures our hotel to be very quiet.

I’m happy to hear that you have found our team to be helpful and friendly. We are sorry you did not have the opportunity to enjoy our Thyme restaurant but I hope you had a wonderful time in Edinburgh.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great stay here - despite needing a family room (the joys of travelling with children!) couldn't fault anything here at all. Great location too for accessing Edinburgh AND Glasgow and outstanding staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Rachel S

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m happy to hear that you have had a great stay at our hotel and enjoyed our fantastic location. Our team strive to ensure the best possible service to each of our guests and I’m thrilled that you found our team to be outstanding.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Thanks to newly opened tram service this hotel has got amazing link to the city centre. Tram stop is on the door step and the price of £7.50 for daily family ticket makes it probably the cheapest option to travel around Edinburgh.
Everyting else of typical Premier Inn quality with very friendly staff.
We were disappointed wit Thyme restaurant which not only have very limited choice of food but also the food was simply not tasty. Something wich Premier Inn's restaurant usualy delivers... I would recommend eating somewhere else... (Breakfast was fine, but it is really hard to make fried egg bad ;) )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Karolina E

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you have enjoyed the great transport links we have for reaching Edinburgh city centre. As well as the Trams running every 8-10 minutes the Train runs every 15 minutes to Edinburgh Waverly. I am happy to hear that you also found our team to be friendly.

I’m very disappointed to hear that you were did not enjoy our Thyme restaurant. Our menus evolve through guest feedback and we have rolled out our new menu with 29 main courses. These range from pizzas to pastas, salads to grilled dishes and since we have rolled out this menu we have had mainly positive feedback. On your next visit should you have any specific dinner requirements please let our team know and we will be do our best to accommodate.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The food at thyme is good and it's only a few minutes from the train station the beds are comfy and the sign in is easy there is a small costa coffee next door the train noise is a problem though the sofa bed are slightly uncomfy and it's hard to find but you're guaranteed sleep between 10 and 7 as this is quiet time

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank immie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear immie h

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you found our beds comfy and our Thyme restaurant to be good. Our Costa Coffee is open from 7am-7pm Monday to Friday and 8am-4pm Saturday and Sunday. I’m sorry to hear that you had a little issue with train noise. This is a very rare occurrence. The trains do not run past midnight and our windows are insulated to minimise any noise. If you prefer on your next visit if you can call us the night before we will do our best to allocate you a room further from the train station.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing