We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Ranked #32 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Shrivenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great stay and great staff!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel staff was friendly, helpful and accomodating at every turn. Room was bright, clean and comfortable. Excellent nights sleep as the hotel was very quiet. Breakfast was very good. Great selection and hot items were replenished often. Simply cross the road to the train station and a 12 minute ride later ( two stops) and you are right in the centre of Edinburgh. A family return journey at off peak hours was only 6£ For two adults and two children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runnarunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear runnarunna

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with our hotel and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. Our team work hard to look after our guests and ensure they have a wonderful stay and I’m thrilled to hear that you found them to be helpful friendly and accommodating.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our Premier breakfast and our great location. Thank you for taking the time to write about us.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    434
    111
    23
    17
See reviews for
537
496
47
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I/we regularly stay in Premier Inn's for both business and pleasure. In Edinburgh, we stayed in a family room (2 adults, 2 children). The hotel is modern, clean and tidy as you would expect from a Premier Inn and the attached restaurant is a Thyme which we think are really good. The hotel is about 15mins tram ride away from the centre (£7.50 all day tram family ticket) which suited us as it meant for a nice quiet location when you have small (5 and 8) children... at least that's what we assumed....

1st night, our extra cot bed was made from super-squeaky springs - so bad that it kept our daughter, and us, awake.

2nd night the fire alarm went off at 11:30pm (apparently someone had left a heater on in the room all day which triggered an alarm? Doesn't make any sense to me but what do I know!). This distressed one of our daughters considerably, although the fire engines came really quickly and we were back inside within about 20-30min, and the staff handled the evacuation very well.

So we are glad to be home in our own beds. Now, you may be wondering why I have still given a very good rating. Well...

1) The fire alarm wasn't the hotels fault
2) The staff were excellent
3) because of (2), I had no problems when claiming my refund for the first 2 nights (of a 3 night stay) due to Premier Inn's "Good Night's Sleep Guarantee" (I have never been tempted to claim this before and hopefully will not feel the need to do so again).

So, whilst very tired at the moment, we just couldn't fault the service and standard of accommodation and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SquashedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear SquashedNomad

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh.

Please accept apologise that you experienced issues during your recent stay with us here. I am glad that the team fixed the bed for you so that you could sleep on your 2nd night.

In regards to the Fire Alarm, this is a very rare occurrence for these to be activated, this does not happen very often, thank you for your understanding in regards to the fire evacuation during your stay with us here.

We all look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I regularly stay at Premier Inn for work and leisure purposes and do not usually have a problem with them. In fact I have stayed at this very hotel before and not been disappointed. However this time my experience was not as enjoyable. Internet whilst at £10 for a week is reasonable I would still expect a decent speed, in fact the 3G signal on my phone was faster than the hotel wifi. Fine if you have a decent data package.

Like many reviewers it would be nice to be able to open the window, even just a crack as the air did become quite stale even with the air conditioning on (worse when it switched itself off in the middle of the night).

However most disappointing was on the second night when the fire alarm went off at 4.30 in the morning. Whilst I appreciate this is unlikely to be the fault of the staff (no explanation was ever given) there was no apology given at the time or the following day and no concern showed for the elderly people or very young children stood out in the cold for a period of time. When I mentioned this at check out all I got was 'we're just glad everyone was safe'. I appreciate safety is the number one priority in that situation and that the event was most likely out of the control of the staff, I think most people would have appreciated and simple 'sorry about that, it was a fault' or whatever, after all Premier Inn does 'guarantee you a good nights sleep'.

I will probably use this hotel again as the price difference between it and city center hotels during the festival will make it necessary. However at over £100 a night to stay I would expect a decent level of customer service and facilities suiting the modern day needs of a business traveller.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeOffland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Easy access to airport and city centre; very modern; very clean; very quiet; great breakfast; pleasant staff. Not many amenities, but that didn't matter to us. Not a lot of choices nearby to eat at, but again, didn't matter to us as we spent most of our time downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear JCG2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and you have found us to be modern, very clean and very quiet. I’m also happy that you have enjoyed out Premier breakfast and that you’ve found our team to be pleasant. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After arriving into Edinburgh airport I took the tram to the airport which was only about a 15 min journey (a bit costly £5 as it was from airport although the fare would take you the whole way into the city centre). The hotel is situated right beside the tram stop so is perfect for getting on and off and travelling into the city centre. The location is not the most picturesque but thats not why I was there.

The hotel itself is very new and well looked after. Staff are helpful and friendly and you get exactly what you expect from a Premier Inn. Beds are good and there was no noise either externally or internally. Just had breakfast which again was as you would expect.

In summary all good and would recommend it is a place to stay when visiting Edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watties2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Watties2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you have enjoyed our location and hotel. Since the tram has been running our guests have been finding this to be a great alternative to a taxi or bus to the airport and the city centre.

Thank you for mentioning our friendly team. They do everything they can to make our guests happy and they are great at what they do. I’m also happy to hear that as well as enjoying our beds you enjoyed the quietness of our hotel. With our windows closed to minimise noise, as well as for health and safety, you can enjoy a great nights sleep without hearing much outside noise.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked two nights midweek during Festival so expected to pay top dollar as did not fancy chancing a cheaper establishment. You know what you are going to get in a Premier Inn and this Premier Inn, albeit well out of town, did not disappoint. Out of festival time this hotel is reasonable.
It was easy to find from the ring road and getting back on to ring road, easy too.
Transport links to the City were brilliant, simply hop on the Tram for £3.50 (and this included public transport around the city too, on specific buses) so excellent value there! The tram line goes past Murrayfield Stadium, so to avoid being squashed, check out if there are any matches scheduled during your stay and avoid tram at that time.
Out of town shopping is within short walking distance of hotel and a tram ride away is the Gyle shopping centre, no individual shops, just main chain. No interesting eateries either you need to go into the City for choice.
The Hotel itself is hi-tech, but there are always helpful staff on hand to help out. There is no big reception desk, more like a little lectern which is always manned. This minimalist, more business-like style may not endear the technophobe or the family traveller but this Hotel offers all you need without any frills.
What I did like was feeling safe and secure, access to lift and stairwells was only accessible with use of key cards.
Cleanliness was ok, couple of head hairs in bath that weren't mine, but wasn't going to make a fuss, had they been hairs of a different variety, then that would've been a different story!
The room, as are most, was basic, not much dressing table space (seems most newer Premier's have adopted the small corner shelf next to clothes hanging space with a narrow, side lit mirror. Had a slight problem seeing to dry hair and kept banging elbow of side panel.
Plenty of shelf space in bathroom though and on the desk. (More suited to business travellers but ok for families too)
Bed, as usual very comfy and easy to use air con when room too hot. Considering the proximity of Airport/railway/tram the room was well insulated against external noise. Could hear people plodding in room above, so glad not children running around.
Had a second floor room at the back over-looking bin and staff smoking area but the bigger view looking toward Forth Bridge was fine. Would've liked window that opened for fresh air.
Food was good value, just £23.00 for evening meal with glass wine/beer plus an all you can eat breakfast. Service was very good, evening meal choice limited but no complaints about quality and cooking.
Breakfast is a buffet affair for both continental and cooked and staff offered porrridge and eggs other than scrambled or fried, on request. Service again, very good, sorry can't remember any names, all staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all this Premier Inn gave what I needed and it was interesting to ride the tram and see the surrounding suburbs, so little ones might find the Tram interesting too!
This may not be the most beguiling of Premier Inns but it did the job after a tiring days in the city.

Room Tip: Top floor will not have noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear anmelia

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased that you found our hotel to be in a perfect location. With Edinburgh Park train station & tram stop right next to us the 10-minute trip to the city centre couldn’t be easier.

We all look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at this premier inn while in Edinburgh visiting family. The location was great - only 10 mins by train to town from Edinburgh Park station. Its on the night bus routes but it was also only a £15 taxi home at night when I was out a bit later than planned!

The rooms were very quiet and the wifi was good value. However, it wasn't strong enough for Skype video chat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WickedWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear WickedWanderers

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location. The trains and trams are a fantastic way of reaching Edinburgh City centre during the day. During the night however the N22 bus stops only around a 5 minute walk from our hotel. This runs from the city centre every 30 minutes during the night, starting at 12.15am.

I’m sorry to hear that our Wi-Fi connection was not fast enough for you. We have just recently had this upgraded so I hope on your next visit you will find our Wi-Fi to be much quicker.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Airport (Newbridge) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#80 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing