We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Original Raj Hotel
Ranked #139 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The raj hotel was a very pleasant experience. The rooms have a old authentic Victorian look which makes them very romantic and warm. Staff are very accommodating and polite. It based about 15 mins from city centre so very easy to get to the middle of town with plenty buses every 6 minutes

David graham
www.cityfairtrades.com

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cftrades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    62
    58
    45
    54
See reviews for
38
111
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baselland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Ok we didn't pay much, and chose this hotel as we wanted something near to the Airport as we had an early flight. This was the nearest we could find. The man on reception was very friendly and was able to answer all our questions We told him we would be leaving before breakfast and he told us the the night porter could provide us with something small if we wanted. But we declined.
We stayed in the room named Rina which is at the front of the hotel on the first floor. The room is large with a large bathroom. As the hotel is on the mainroad and they do not have double glazing it was very noisy and there was traffic all night long. We were both awake very early because of the traffic and decided to get up then and go to the airport. When we went to leave we couldn't find the night porter so just left the key and let ourselves out of the front door. The room is very dark even with all the lights on. We could hardly see inside our cases. It also only has one bedside lamp. The bed was large. The sheet had two holes in it. One of the window blinds was broken.The airport bus stop is close by.

Room Tip: If you think the noise is going to be a problem ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhstd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxshott
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived early and understandably left our bags at reception and went about our day. We arrived back at midnight and were shown to our room by the night porter. When the door was opened the sheets were half off the bed and it was clear the bed had been slept in. We raised this with the night porter but he could not do anything as the hotel was full due to the 'fringe.We raised again when we checked out but all were nonplussed. An adequate supply of loo paper would have been nice as well. Breakfast definitely below par .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank Iateallthepies19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I was pleased with my choice. Great value and unique in its styling. Possibly not everyone's 'cup of tea' but I liked it. The staff were friendly & helpful

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank neal1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere over the rainbow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I booked this hotel for 2 nights for my husband and i as he was running in the Edinburgh Half Marathon. I had emailed the hotel in advance to make sure that there was parking as we were driving up from the North of England. I am orginally from Edinburgh and have always loved this part of the town in particular these beautiful old houses.

I was relatively relieved when we arrived that it wasn't as horrendous as most of the reviews have stated. We had a large room on the top floor (no lift so not for the faint hearted lugging bags and things) The view was amazing, overlooking the rooftops of the west of Edinburgh right out to the Pentland Hills. The furniture was lovely in the room, though as others have stated a little tired, but i can live with that. The bathroom was large too, slightly too dark to do your hair and make up in, and the carpet was shabby in the room. But hey, we didn't pay a fortune for it.

The breakfast was as others have stated, barely average, seats are too low (and i'm small) so enough said on that.

My biggest complaint (and i hate to complain) was the service from the owner/manager of the hotel. On Monday morning when we came to leave we noticed we had been given a parking ticket even though upon checking in we were assured that parking was fine until 9am! This was asked again if that was right, the young man on reception duites (who's English was quite poor) assured us this would be fine. So when we got a parking ticket issued at 7.45am we complained and asked to speak to the hotel manager. When he eventually arrived he was dismissive saying that we obviously didn't understand his staff, and that we were wrong. He was aggressive and ignorant, with no apology. We left rather disgusted by his behaviour only to meet the parking attendant that had issued the ticket, and he told us, that this was a regular occurance with this hotel and to complain.

So there you have it, there are much better hotels with better facilities in the area with parking, and hopefully better trained and polite staff. I love Edinburgh and will be back but would NEVER reccommeng this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Having stayed before we were expecting simple clean elegance. What we got instead was a dirty, run down hotel. Dirty sheets, mouldy shower curtains and discarded food in the room. The dado rail in the bathroom had a thick covering of dust. No bath plug and the hot water tap for the bath came away in our hand. Whilst the night porter did his best to assist and we did eventually get a room change to a slightly cleaner but again dusty room the whole experience was very disheartening

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motoparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We booked this thinking it would be nice to stay in a themed and different hotel. What we found was a shabby old hostel where someone has out a few pictures of India on the walls. Hotel was overall dirty, rooms very basic and totally charmless (a cheap hostel came to mind). The bedding was torn and not very clean and the blanket was itchy. We had emailed ahead that we'd require a bed for a toddler but this was not provided so the whole family slept on the small double bed. None of us slept well because there was a strange noise from a bolier or dryer which kept us up. The road noise also came through the single windows. The breakfast was very plain, stale and looked cheap and I noticed the staff topped up the coffee by pouring more water in it rather than making fresh coffee. It's a fair walk from the town centre and with bags and buggy we ended up getting cabs which added to the cost of staying here. I would not recommend this - do avoid!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#87 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Raj Hotel

Property: The Original Raj Hotel
Address: 6 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Original Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Original Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Raj Hotel
Original Raj Edinburgh
The Original Raj Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing