We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Original Raj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Original Raj Hotel
Ranked #141 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Berkshire UK
2 reviews
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just what we wanted, good distance to the city, clean and polite staff

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    58
    58
    44
    53
See reviews for
36
108
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ovingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here overnight after Edinburgh Heniken Cup game, Comfortable warm hotel with large rooms. A little faded in some areas but great value and only 10 minutes walk to West End

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogaclod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked two nights accommodation at the Raj during the Six Nations Tournament as we struggled to find a hotel that didn’t want us to book three nights accommodation or charge inflated prices. At £130 per night the Raj Hotel was by no means cheap but we thought it might be something a little different. We weren’t wrong!
Firstly we couldn’t check in early, I appreciate that but, the gentleman who told us this at reception had obviously not been to customer service classes. We left our bags and wandered about for forty five minutes before returning and being given our room. Two floors up is not too bad if you have light luggage but I could see this being a problem if you had a large suitcase.
The room itself on first impression does have some grand old furniture but on closer inspection it is more shabby than chic. The traffic outside did not pose a problem even though we overlooked the road.
The bed was comfortable but creaked with the slightest movement so not great for a romantic getaway!
In the morning we discovered no plug for the sink which meant shaving was a bit of an effort and there were only two sachets of coffee in the room. On the plus side the power shower did as it said on the tin.
Breakfast was billed as being served until 1030 but when we went down at 1000 they had cleared away the table settings. One waiter obviously knew about customer service and set up a table for two and went to get bread for toast. An older gentleman who appeared to be some sort of manager came in and said the coffee was terrible so at least I knew it wasn’t just me. They started clearing the furniture from the room before we had finished eating which didn't make us feel like valued guests.
The next morning we didn’t even bother with breakfast as it hadn’t been worth the trip downstairs.
Unfortunately whilst our bed had been made up nothing else had been done in the room, no fresh towels and the sachets of coffee we had used had not been replaced.
All in all a disappointing stay. I would have given an average mark but for the price charged it was below average.
This hotel could be so much better with a little more effort to make the guests feel welcome and some attention to detail.

Room Tip: If you can book this cheaply then it may be worth considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I spent 2 nights in Sept. at this lovely hotel that has so much class. The decor is excellent art from India & the breakfast that is included makes you feel like a king sitting on the floor amongst the pillows with beautiful artifacts around you. The rooms are also lovely & first class. I felt like a quieen!!

Room Tip: It is in a wonderful neighborhood that is not noisy. My room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinabridges88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

After reading all the previous reviews of this hotel i was a bit worried about staying there on the night of September 17th. However, i was pleasantly surprised, the room we were staying in "Rina" was lovely, and above all, clean! The breakfast however was very basic and when we arrived for breakfast 30mins before closing, there wasn't much pastries etc left. The staff were friendly and the Indian theme was delightful change. For the price we booked this room for, we were very pleased with what we got.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The raj hotel was a very pleasant experience. The rooms have a old authentic Victorian look which makes them very romantic and warm. Staff are very accommodating and polite. It based about 15 mins from city centre so very easy to get to the middle of town with plenty buses every 6 minutes

David graham
www.cityfairtrades.com

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cftrades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baselland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Ok we didn't pay much, and chose this hotel as we wanted something near to the Airport as we had an early flight. This was the nearest we could find. The man on reception was very friendly and was able to answer all our questions We told him we would be leaving before breakfast and he told us the the night porter could provide us with something small if we wanted. But we declined.
We stayed in the room named Rina which is at the front of the hotel on the first floor. The room is large with a large bathroom. As the hotel is on the mainroad and they do not have double glazing it was very noisy and there was traffic all night long. We were both awake very early because of the traffic and decided to get up then and go to the airport. When we went to leave we couldn't find the night porter so just left the key and let ourselves out of the front door. The room is very dark even with all the lights on. We could hardly see inside our cases. It also only has one bedside lamp. The bed was large. The sheet had two holes in it. One of the window blinds was broken.The airport bus stop is close by.

Room Tip: If you think the noise is going to be a problem ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhstd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Raj Hotel

Property: The Original Raj Hotel
Address: 6 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Original Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Original Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Raj Hotel
Original Raj Edinburgh
The Original Raj Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing