We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Original Raj Hotel
Ranked #145 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The location of the hotel is good. The rooms was basic but clean. The staff were friendly but they do not have that much local knowledge. The breakfast was basic. Overall the hotel was good value fro money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hemo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was a nightmare from walking in to leaving. where to start is the question the staff were very rude and were not able to communicate properly. when we first walked in he couldnt get the money off us any quicker to get back to his computer. there was no parking and we had to park on a side street 10 mins walk away from the hotel. the receptionist didnt have a clue or idea of where we could park that was safe. we were given the key to the room and were left to find our own way to our room. the room was disgusting and filthy. it smelt of damp and it was very dusty. the room was ment to have a canopy bed there was no canopy there was no duvet just a thin rough blanket which did'nt feel or smell clean. also the bed creaked everytime you turned. the bathroom was filthy with hair on the sink and toilet. the toilet brush had soiled tissue paper wrapped around it which was awfull. the shower was a good one but flooded the bathroom floor everytime used because the filthy shower curtain wasnt long enough. the bathroom towels did not smell clean at all. the windows didnt open. and to top it off we stayed there 5 nights and every morning the breakfast was stale bread to make your own toast and a bit of cereal. the only good thing about this hotel was its location only 5 min walk to the train station. this hotel gave me the impression that it did'nt care about its customers and were only bothered about the money.
OVERALL I DO NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.

Room Tip: The only tip i have is don't make the mistake i did and say it can't be that bad because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here one night in Dec. The hotel is well situated for Edinburgh city center and is on good bus routes for most places. The hotel a bit basic, the rooms are ok but the wooden bed squeeked very time you moved. The breakfast in toast, which you make yourself, 3 choices of cereal, 2 choices of juice. and coffee. The hotel had a lock up and leave place, it felt unlived in, just a business. This may sound daft but it is a small hotel and they are usually lived in by their owners and this one clearly was not. The staff didn't seem to have much local knowledge which again is one of the benefits of staying in a smaller hotel. l'm not saying l would'nt go back but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosecraig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

I had read some of the reviews of previous guests of which they were of mixed opinions. We arrived and were greeted by a friendly and polite chap who booked us in and showed us to our room. On entering it looked fine although it wasn't the room we had booked.

On closer inspection the carpet was stained and dirty the bed was clean which was my main worry. The tv was absolutely disgusting with so much dust I had to wash my hands after touching it. The walls were dirty and marked and the skirting boards could do with a clean also. the lights were so dim, maybe to disguise the filthy room itself?

The shower curtain was all marked, the towels when used stunk and the toilet roll so thin that you needed to use loads.

We decided against going for breakfast of which was included in the price but to be honest we really couldn't stomach eating there.

The price paid for the room was £45 which I suppose is cheap but cheap and filthy is not what I expect anywhere.

The building from the outside looked stunning its a pity the same couldn't be said for the interior.

I wouldn't recommend staying here not even if they paid me. I would go as far to say its the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Not a happy customer by a long chalk......get your act together as it could be a lovely hotel if your standard of cleanliness was improved dramatically

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kstv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The room was good and the bed very comfortable. There was a good sized bath and a good shower. There was no hairdryer in the room, but there was one in reception. It was a bit annoying to have to go and fetch it. The only disappointing thing really was the breakfast. This was very basic and we went out and ate after the first morning. Still for the price it was pretty good overall.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel have more atmosphere than those in the extension at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the Scotland v New Zealand game November 2012 for two nights. The room rate was £70 per night, which is good value for a rugby weekend.

I thought the decor was unusual and very charming. The breakfast was really basic, but I was provided with a pot of fresh tea upon request. We decided to have breakfast at the Roseburn Cafe a few minutes walk away instead.

The hotel is located on a main bus route and there are buses every few minutes to take you into the main city or other attractions. The city centre is only half an hour's walk.

I found the staff to be slightly aloof, but they were helpful enough when requested.

My only criticisms are that our room was not very clean & the chamber service poor. The telephone on the bedside cabinet was so caked in dust that I wrote my name in it! I also noticed cup/glass marks on the bedside cabinet where they had not been wiped from the guests before.

The radiator in the bathroom had sprung a serious leak and the bathroom floor had flooded, so I had to put a couple of the towels down to mop up the water, whilst I went to report it to the staff. The towels didn't get replaced, so we only had one small dry towel to share between us on the morning of our departure! We didn't have time to ask for any more towels, but I am sure they would have provided them upon request.

The tea & coffee supplies were not replenished either.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saracens76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We booked our overnight stay in August 2012 on line and were extremely pleased with the result. In all regards it was excellent including the quality of the hotel, staff attitude, services, location and value for money. I suggest no one could wish for better

We walked several times from here to the Castle and old Edinburgh no problems and very close to the train station.

Geoff and Rosie Murray (from Tasmania)

Room Tip: Our room was excellent and I assume the others were as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#138 of 151 in Edinburgh
674 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
414 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#43 of 151 in Edinburgh
670 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Raj Hotel

Address: 6 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £39 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Original Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Original Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Raj Hotel
Original Raj Edinburgh
The Original Raj Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing