We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff but hotel needs TLC and clean sheets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Original Raj Hotel
Ranked #138 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“friendly staff but hotel needs TLC and clean sheets”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Reception was really good as I was looking to check in at 2pm and the room was ready for me, with friendly staff.
It advertises as being the 1st Indian themed hotel in the UK and it's not got to the point where they need to start renovating and improving areas.
There were at least 2 mains sockets in the Noor room that I stayed in that were loose and you had to be careful when removing a charger that the socket unit didn't come away at the same time.
The bathroom def needs some TLC, but the shower was great, powerful and loads of water. A soap and shower gel pack were in the bathroom trying to hide the area above the toilet that needed some paint and further TLC.
The room has a flat screen TV, really too low for watching in bed - could do with being wall mounted and a desk type of unit - just don't open the draws, those you could open some wouldn't close as with the built in wardrobe. It had character but I definately couldn't bring my wife here. One night was ok.
The thing that really let the room down was the bed sheets - the top sheet had holes in it and the bottom sheet had stains on it. By the time I got into bed it was 11pm and was too late to see if reception was still available for fresh sheets. With this in mind, I thought I would skip breakfast.
When I mentioned about the bed sheets in the morning, they said I should have reported it to reception and they would have swapped it out.

Room Tip: Book early and use a def hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    62
    59
    45
    54
See reviews for
39
112
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I left it late to book a hotel for Edinburgh not realising that it was during the festival.
Having struggled to find anywhere that wasn't a mortage payment for 1 nights day I happened upon this hotel and booked it. Then read the reviews and feared the worst.

So I owned up to the other half that it might not be the best, and we set off anyway. It was relatively easy to find. Parking was readily available, though on street, it was free of charge being outside the metered times.

It's a lovely old building, full of indian furniture and hangings. Reception is a little dark, but no big deal. The chap at the desk was very attentive and helpful, check in was a doddle.

We were on the 2nd floor in Sabu, the room was at the back of the property, so very quiet. The decor was a little dated. The bedsheets were clean (i checked thoroughly given other reviews), the bathroom was again tired but clean.

Breakfast was ok, continental. We were quite late down, milk/juice were all being refreshed, so nothing was stale.

We walked into the city centre, 15mins approx, so I was happy with the location.

I think if you are expecting 5* you are in the wrong place anyway, for our needs the Original Raj was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolcered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed for two nights. It´s not given you valeu for your money.
Not good for allergy or asthma people.
Bedbugs.
Damiging hot water in the shower.
Dripping water from roof in breakfast room.
Dampness and mold in the bathroom.
The feeling was that it was dirty.
Very poor breakfast.

Room Tip: Put the money on another accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grodan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Bunie Tasmania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed one night (too long) between highland tour and flight to Dublin. First impression was of the Munsters house .and inside was dark and gloomy..Unfriendly reception, no help to get heavy suitcases to first floor. Shower over very high bath which my wife was unable to use, a very uncomfortable bed and small room.Only one bath towel and when we asked for another was very grudgingly given one. Breakfast was appalling, croissants were stale, coffee?was horrible. All in all, an experience I do not want to repeat. In short, overpriced and to be avoided.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel, since we had an early morning flight and most hotels in Edinburgh were already fully booked due to the festival. The atmosphere is completely gloomy and run-down inside, quite scary, like an old haunted house. Welcome at the reception was not friendly at all, we had the feeling of disturbing when we arrived. There is no WIFI in the room (which was at the end of a maze of a corridor), only in the front area of the hotel. The room is not clean, lamps do not work, carpet is old. Overall a very overpriced choice for what you get... We left early so we did not try the breakfast, but our instinct would have been to escape from there as fast as possible anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex81600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were very apprehensive about this place, judging by the many comments, but decided to give it a go and move on somewhere else if it was awful. However, on first impressions the room was spacious and seemed clean, likewise the bathroom. There were plenty of clean towels and the sheets looked freshly laundered. But the room was very dark, none of the windows opened and it all felt very stuffy and as though it could do with a good 'air'.

Breakfast - this consisted of orange juice, croissants, packets of jam, some slimy processed cheese slices and white or brown bread which you could toast yourself in the domestic size 2 slot toaster. The management had clearly bought the very cheapest economy ranges they could find. Nothing tasted of anything. And was that really coffee they were offering? I'm not convinced. The room where breakfast was served was pleasant and spacious, but again it could have done with some open windows to freshen it up and all the surfaces had a sticky feel to them.

The sheets weren't changed, nor was the bed made up or clean towels provided the next day.

However, on the plus side, it is a reasonably priced hotel in quite a nice location, and the staff seemed friendly enough.

But would I revisit? No.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Well I don't really have many us points for this place! I guess it was clean enough...

First off I think for what it is and what you can get in Edinburgh it's over priced!

The rooms was decorated fine but I swear one of the staff had used the toilet just before we checked in because it stunk of faeces for the first half hour we arrived! Not a good start!

The staff were ok but not the most attentive, we were just handed our key and told "2nd floor" cheers!

The bed felt old and flat and wasn't the most comfortable at all!

The breakfast... Wow, for what I paid for the room I expected a lot better! Shameful! It was basically terrible! The bread looked like the cheapest stuff I've ever seen, the cereal was all over the table and the orange juice was warm!!! Croissants were available but to be honest it looked such a mess I just walked out... Put my keys on the reception desk, picked up my stuff and left!

It is a little hike from the centre but to be honest not so bad and I knew how far when I booked it so I'm not complaining on that score!

I wouldn't return to this place at all!

I don't usually give stinging ratings unless its justified but I felt so let down with this place!

Basically guys if you're looking to stay in Edinburgh then look elsewhere, you will find a better standard of hotel or guesthouse that is also cheaper!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 148 in Edinburgh
628 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 148 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 148 in Edinburgh
525 reviews
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#116 of 148 in Edinburgh
350 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#57 of 148 in Edinburgh
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Raj Hotel

Property: The Original Raj Hotel
Address: 6 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Original Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Original Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Raj Hotel
Original Raj Edinburgh
The Original Raj Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing