We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Apartment, Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Edinburgh New Town

8 m lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
8 m lounge
One of two  Double  Bedrooms Our Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
8 m lounge
One of two  Double  Bedrooms
Our Area
view towards princes Street from street corner
8 m long lounge
Fire place
Kitchen
Dining table
Front of  flat
Local pub
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Portrait Gallery, new Albany Street
Dining table plus fireplace
Bathroom
Second double bedroom
park within 200m
our area
View towards Princes Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Baxo51
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Apartment, Great Location”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We all enjoyed our stay at the apartment and the hosts were very helpful and on hand if we needed anything. The apartment itself boasts style in a periodic manner. The apartment was very clean. Location wise, city centre is within walking distance. It's about 15-20 min walk to The Royal Mile and about 10 mins to George Street.

We recommend staying in this apartment, it's the perfect fit for a trip to Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbum...
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location with Georgian grandeur ”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were two couples staying for the weekend in this self contained ground floor apartment. The place overall could probably have been a bit cleaner but the kitchen and bed linen were spotless and it definitely wasn't dirty or anything. I'm just talking a bit of dust on the skirting boards. The bathroom was nice and clean too but the electric shower was broken so we had to use the shower supplied by the hot water tank. It turned out that three of us got a hot shower so there was no problem there but it worried me the first time I used the shower that the hot water might run out at any minute. I'd advise the owners to get the electric one fixed. Also there was only one wee bottle of shower gel (something to bear in mind for those travelling with hand luggage only) which was impossible to open with wet hands but that is really splitting hairs. The location was fantastic - 10mins walk from Waverly and another 10mins to the royal mile. The heating came on automatically and we were never cold despite chilly Scottish Octobers. We enjoyed our stay in the property and would happily stay again. Really couldn't fault the price - this was a pretty Georgian property and great for those travelling on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R
Vail, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice and excellent location”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent trip to Edinburgh, much of which can be attributed to our accommodations. The flat is in NewTown (somewhat of a misnomer for us Americans as its older than the U.S.), about a five minute walk from St Andrew's Park and the Sir Walter Scott Memorial. Another 20 minutes and your at the shops of The Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle.

The flat was well appointed and had everything needed for a great stay. Plenty of room to lounge around during the little time we actually spent inside. The entry way into the building (each floor appears to be a separate flat) was undergoing renovation at the time and was dirty and cluttered, but may be finished by now. Our only complaint would be the intermittent TV reception, but for all I know, that may be the BBC.

Of special note, the owner was very timely and responsive to all our inquiries, even contacting us during our stay to insure everything was OK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and roominess
Liked least: TV reception
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A week in Edingburgh”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely holiday in beautiful Edingburgh, and the weather was kind as well.The flat is well positioned for all amenities, lots of eateries near by notably the Magnum and The Olive Branch.A 10 minute walk from Waverly train station. The flat has a lovely large lounge and a well equipped kitchen, but I did find the bedrooms needed some decoration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lounge
Liked least: The bedrooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrinne...
dunfermline
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect flat. Great Location.”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This flat is perfect if staying in Edinburgh.it is beautiful inside and very clean it has everything you need for your stay. It is very central to everything in the city centre. I would definetly recommend staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Style of flat and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath B
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The flat is in an excellent location for exploring Edinburgh & just off the tramline. It well equipped with everything you need from kitchen utensils to ironing. The owner met us and showed us around including the wifi code. She even had milk for us after our journey! We didn't spend much time in the flat but when we were they it was comfortable and clean. We would definitely book this again & recommend to others.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location, wonderful Georgian apartment”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great stay and the landlord was very friendly when we met at the property. Fantastic main lounge/dining room. We weren't so keen on the laminate floor which was a bit bouncy and the shower over the bath is not ideal - needs a non-slip mat in the bath. Excellent location, all of Edinburgh within walking distance and the bedrooms are very quiet away from the main street, so a good sleep was not difficult. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. We liked the Magnum on the corner and Kushi on Broughton St.
Would be very happy to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The main reception room
Liked least: The shower bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing