We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, a couple of shortcomings stop this being good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Ranked #63 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Not bad, a couple of shortcomings stop this being good”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge, Edinburgh Central Queen Street in August 2013 for 5 nights - this was an overnight stay to allow one of us to catch an early plane from Heathrow. Our group consisted of 2 adults, two teenagers.

First things first: there is NO parking at this hotel. This is NOT advertised clearly on the Travelodge website - NOT GOOD. In addition, Edinburgh appears to be under major road construction, and many of the roads to the hotel were closed. When we got to the hotel, there was no obvious sign that the building was a Travelodge, and we had to park on double yellow lines to unload - NOT GOOD. When we asked at reception where to park, we were directed to a car park about half a kilometre away, which cost £16 a day to park - NOT GOOD!

The hotel itself is a nice Georgian fronted hotel on a clean, tidy street opposite gardens - however, these are private and you cannot get in to them :( Reception clean and spacious, and check-in staff were polite and efficient.

The lifts are unusual in that they have a voice telling you when the doors are opening, what floor you are on, etc. Unfortunately the voice appears to have been supplied by a failed RADA luvvie with very bad first nights nerves, which was a source of amusement for much of the stay.

The family room on the 1st floor was a good size; room was adequately furnished, clean and comfortable; bathroom a decent size and clean, and everything worked! Beds and sleep quality excellent, no noise from outside at all. TV was digital, decent size, decent range of channels, perfectly adequate.

Now the downsides: you have to pay for wi-fi, RIDICULOUS in this day and age - you can walk out of the hotel to the nearest Costa (5 mins away) and browse for free. Also - mobile phone reception in the hotel is shocking bad - you literally have to hold your phone out of the window to get a signal. In addition, the chairs in the room have got to be the most uncomfortable, badly designed in the world - everyone who sat in it complained of back ache afterwards.

Travelodge offer a breakfast option at around £5 per person, but there is a really nice little cafe about 100 yards from it that offers a bacon or sausage bap plus tea or coffee for £2.95, so we used that instead! There is also a Costa just up the road.

We used this as a base for the Fringe - there were several venues just a few yards away, plus plenty of bars and cafes and restaurants. It is a 20 min walk to the main centre of town, but the walk takes you through other Fringes areas where there was plenty to look at.

As a place to stay for the Fringe this was fine - typical Travelodge, clean, basic and cheap. If the hotel had parking, and decent phone reception, and free wi-fi, we'd rated it a lot higher.

PROS
Friendly staff
Decent sized clean rooms
Good sleep quality
Good location for Edinburgh if you don't mind a walk

CONS
Cost of food - bit pricey for what it was
NO CAR PARKING
NO PHONE RECEPTION
Cost of wi-fi

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coopuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    322
    103
    41
    18
See reviews for
217
349
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The location of this hotel is great, just 10 minutes walk from Princes Street and the train station in the "New" Georgian part of Edinburgh. We stayed in room 118 which is at the back of the hotel and was the quietest hotel room I have every stayed in in a big city, no traffic noise whatsoever. Very comfortable bed and thick pillows and also very clean. Shower room compact but very clean. Could do with more storage space for clothes and there were no bedside cabinets, but at £107 per night for central Edinburgh during festival season we could not really complain. Breakfast was not included but "breakfast bags" were available if wanted. We decided to eat breakfast out and found Patisserie Valerie on Rose Street about 10 mins walk from the hotel where there is a good breakfast menu.

Room Tip: rooms at back nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15SMB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Room was comfortable, clean and pleasant. Welcoming staff and efficient cleaning staff ensured that all my needs were met. Fine location close to central Edinburgh, particularly good for the book festival in Charlotte Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here at recent 5 elderly couples first visit to Edinburgh Tattoo. Changed our booking from St Mary's Street Travelodge to here because of bad reports from family members & bad reports on trip adviser & we were all perfectly satisfied with this hotel. Appears the rooms have been recently refurbished. Reception staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful & the rooms were clean. Would recommend room 402 which was at front of hotel and although skylight type windows was airy, clean, comfortable & quiet at night. Rooms at the rear did get some Sat night music noise from nearby properties. Only complaint would be that at £145 per room this was approx 4 times their normal price because of the festival and that level of increase is not really acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Excellent value for money. We were apprehensive about what to expect as previous stays in Travelodge's had not always been adequate. It was a pleasant surprise, our family room was welcoming with all beds already made up on arrival. The room was spacious and clean and only a short walk to Princes Street. We had booked this to extend our holiday, wish we had used it for the whole duration of our holiday (we'd have saved money too!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank J0hn177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I bought this with advanced booking at 22 pounds. Can't fault it- clean accomodation with a decent en suite toilet with shower and TV and coffee making facilities. Walk 5 minutes for restaurants and shopping. Much better value than staying at a hostel at 40pounds a night, with no bathroom and half the size of this Travelodge rooms.

My sink was stuck (cannot unplug) but I was too lazy to complain to the manager so that's on me. Other than that, I'd recommend this place, its even better value than a hostel on the Royal Mile. Such a relief checking in here after 15 hours of travelling rather than a place with shared bathroom.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was very pleased with our stay in this travelodge having had mixed experiences of other hotels in the chain. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was amazingly comfortable, with super comfortable pillows. The location was fantastic and at £108 for two nights during the festival for a family room, it was brilliant value. We didn't take the breakfast bag, choosing to get food from local shops instead. Overall, very happy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonandkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Address: 30-31 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing