We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Ranked #65 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, good price”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Travelodge Central on 10/19/13. We arrived to Edinburgh in the morning and they held our luggage during the day while we went sightseeing before check-in. The room was clean, small, and sufficient for us. I liked the tea and coffee available in the rooms. The best thing about this Travelodge is its location. It is just a block off the Royal Mile, easy to get to and close to bus routes.
I would definitely stay here again and save money!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    317
    102
    40
    18
See reviews for
213
344
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We enjoyed our 2 day stay at this Travelodge. It was a good location for us in Edinburgh New Town- 12 minutes walk from Waverley Station-within good walking distance of the town centre and museums etc.The staff were friendly and helpful. Even though it was near town we weren't disturbed by outside noise on Thursday or Friday night. We would certainly stay here again-my wife has stayed earlier in the year with a group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

really great location but make sure you don't have a room that backs onto the alley on a thursday night. Refuse collection at 6am is defeaning!!. Its a pity as everything else was good but i'm giving the hotel the benefit of the doubt and assuming the hotel was full

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The title of this review is plainly and simply down to an in this hotel for which I complained about and never received an apology.

Stayed for 2 nights in late October and used it basically as a place to sleep nothing else, therefore only spent from around 1am to 9am in the room.

In the early hours of our 2nd night there I awoke and couldn't get back to sleep due to the appalling smell, not wanting to wake my wife I didn't go searching around the room to fined the source of this smell - until it became too overpowering after a few hours.

It turned out that the cleaner had left a full open bin bag in the corner of the room full of the rest of the hotels rubbish (including disguarded take aways, nappies, tissues etc)

I went to reception to complain and the response I got was "really? ok I'll get someone up there soon" she then walked off!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallyduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear mallyduk. We are sorry to learn about the poor experience you had at our hotel. We expect all of our rooms to be clean and fresh on your arrival so it is regrettable to learn there was an unpleasant smell in the room which is due to our cleaning staff not being diligent when cleaning your room. We also expect our staff to provide high levels of customer care during your stay. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Edinburgh is not a cheap place to visit - you need your money for cocktails at Harvey Nicks, romantic dinner for two in some boutique restaurant & breakfast at Volvona & Crolla.

All you need in a hotel, this place has in spades: location, cleanliness and a comfortable bed.
Your money isn't wasted on superfluous add-ons that you don't usually need.
Leaving you free to buy that second Martini.

Highly recommended

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank revjgoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Having paid £50 per night for a family room my expectations were quite low. I was also worried that with the family room (my son and daughter are 15 / 13 years old and 6ft 5, 5ft 8 respectively) we could end up packed in like sardines.
Very pleased / relieved to find that the room (411) was very large with plenty of room for the four of us and our luggage. The room was non road facing and very quiet. Two windows made it very light. The heating unit was quiet and easy to control. Wi-fi was available for purchase (bearing in mind the price of the room I had no complaint with this arrangement).
The staff were friendly and professional, leaving our bags on day the of departure was no trouble for them.
I will definitely stay here again and can recommend 100%.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I frequently visit Edinburgh, but this was my first stay at the Quuen Street Travelodge. It won't be my last!

In terms of location, value for money and cleanliness the hotel cannot be faulted. Our room was very small and there is no hotel bar, so you wouldn't wish to use this hotel as anything other than a base. But when used for this purpose it is absolutely ideal!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipsnHam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#116 of 148 in Edinburgh
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Address: 30-31 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing