We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Ranked #65 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My sister and I stayed here for two nights from 19 December 2013. The hotel is in a good, central location and the staff were quite friendly. The rooms were great and we could tell they had recently been re-done. The bed was very nice and comfortable. Generally there is nothing to complain about but also not much to be excited about. All in all this hotel was very good value for money and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTravelBugSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    317
    102
    40
    18
See reviews for
213
344
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

stayed for 3 nights and couldnt complain about anything, the hotel has the new refurbished look so the big difference is the beds and pillows, they are a lot more comfortable than the old style, the hotel is very central, about 10 mins walk to waverly train station and about 5 mins walk to princess street, there are lots of places to eat and drink whatever way you come out the hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank afrobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I visited Edinburgh in March 2013 with my family, so this review comes really late, but I wanted to write a one anyway :)
My stay at Travelodge in London before was a good experience, so we decided to give it a go in Edinburgh and were not disappointed.
Me and my family booked three twin rooms and none of us had anything to complain about. The rooms were comfortable and the staff was really friendly and helpful.
The location was also very good and the price is a great value for money.
So I definitely recommend it for any Edinburgh visitor :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here with my husband and daughter for one nights stay just before Christmas, we had come to Edinburgh for the winter wonderland and wanted somewhere central which was relatively cheap, this ticked both those boxes. Hotel is a 2/3 min walk from princes street which made it an excellent location. Check in staff were extremely friendly and polite. We were allocated a room with double and single bed, the single bed was up against an external wall under a window and the window had a draft coming in so the single bed couldn't be used as was freezing which meant the 3 of us had to share the double bed. Another downfall to our room was noise, there keep appearing to be a clanking noise coming from pipes which went on for most of the night and at 5.30am bottle bins were being emptied right outside our room window so this woke us all up again. We also found that the cleaning of our room was not great we had used dirty towels left hanging on the back of the toilet door. Although we did find a few problems with our stay at this hotel due to the location I would book to stay here again but I would request I was allocated a room at the front of the hotel instead of the back where we were on this stay and to be fair you get what you pay for we did get this at a bargain price

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went to Edinburgh at the beginning of December as i wanted to visit the Christmas markets before we travelled down south to visit family for a few days. We booked the queen St travelodge for the Monday /Tuesday night for a fantastic price!!! We had a lovely room it was spotless had the most comfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel and had a lovely powerful shower. The staff were very pleasant and helpful but not in your face. I am already planning a return visit to this hotel within a few months and will returning for the Christmas markets next year with my friend and my mum and her friend. The hotel is also very central and handy for shopping etc. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

To see the beautiful city of Edinburgh you don't want to stay in your room even in December, so a Travelodge room is ideal. Their new beds give a great nights sleep as did this hotel. It is ideal because it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city yet only 5 minutes walk from princes Street. The hotel is quiet and spotless, the only downside is parking. If at the weekend parking is free in the streets till about 8.30 monday morning. St James centre 3 blocks away ok overnight but £15 a day. Hotel though is only 10 minutes away from the trains or 1 minute from a bus stop. We would certainly stay here again as this high standard budget hotel is ideal

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Gromit53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great location for the city centre. Room very big and spacious. King bed very comfy but child's bed uncomfortable. Toilet in room 113 a funny shape . And rude guests in 213 banging on our floor when we came in at 10:30 pm on 22/12/13. Also weird toilet noise when other rooms flushed? No net curtain or window vent, it was stuffed with toilet roll.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank icelolly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Address: 30-31 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing