We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
565
435
171
54
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
435
171
54
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location travel lodge breakfast box hanover street vending machine cafe rouge family room room was clean george st bars and restaurants budget hotel rose street short walk within walking distance stayed here for nights quiet location would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
1,017 - 1,022 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It's a clean, nice place to stay. Not superb in any way, nothing in excess, but clean, good rooms. Most people aren't in the city to stay at the hotel 24/7 so this caters to those needs. Great and central location.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gressli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The location is great but the staff are absolutely shocking. No one ever mans the reception desk and there are no phones in the room so locating help when you need it is almost impossible.

During our stay our room was not serviced so we had to travel down to reception to get fresh towels and ask for the room to be serviced (which it ultimately was not). The breakfast best before date is 3 months in advance and looks like something you'd get at the start of a nuclear winter.

The lift wasn't working while we stayed either. The ultimate nail in the coffin was when they refused to hold onto our bags for a couple of hours until our flight was taking off. There was clearly space behind reception and I could see other bags there but the receptionist flat out refused.

All in all a very unpleasant stay. The only good thing about this place is the location.

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TropicalPlaces25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a little trouble spotting the Travelodge initially due to the flag outside being all tangled up and due to heavy traffic and concerntrating on where I was driving missed seeing the sign on the pavement the first time round. Handy that you can park outside to unload cases to save having to trundle them from the car park which is a short 5 min walk away (We used the 24 hour John Lewis car park) We found the hotel to be in a really good spot to access all the things we went for which was mainly the castle and the shops. Plenty of places to eat a stones throw away. I would use this Travelodge again if/when visiting Edinburgh again.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a nice clean family room, the location in the New Town was great for all Edinburgh's attractions and shops. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we will definitely be staying again. We didn't try the breakfast boxes as their is a Whetherspoons just around the corner on George Street serving a good breakfast from 8am onwards

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room with a hot and powerful shower. All public transport, shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Would stay again. Did not try the breakfast box as Weatherspoons on the next street

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews