We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

good central location in the Georgian part of Edinburgh - close to Princes George and Rose Street and Waverley Station within walking distance.
The hotel was all we hoped it would be; clean, comfortable beds, great value for money. Quieter rooms at front of hotel - Reception Staff were very helpful .Would definitely recommend this Travelodge and hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndMac310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Ideal location, quiet street, good staff and clean comfortable rooms. Not far from a good selection of cafes, restaurants, and bars. If travelling via airlink bus get off at George Street then its not to far to walk with a case.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank wilson1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

There are a number of Travelodge's in Edinburgh called "Central" we saw four, Queen street is situated about a 15 to 20 minute walk from the station but a taxi is the preferred option as it is all uphill. We stayed in Edinburgh for 4 days and used two Travelodge's and this was our favourite (the other was St Mary st). It is situated in a quieter area but still "Central" for info the castle is about a 20 minute walk but art galleries much closer.
The hotel is a typical Travelodge but does not have a restaurant or bar, however there are a quite a selection very close to this hotel, there are no hair dryer's in the room but just request for one at reception.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed 2 nights - one booked later than the other as my plans changed. The cost for the second night was considerably more - more than twice as much as the first night, but I didn't want to have to change hotels so I paid up. I could have got the Radisson for the same price on the second night. The reception is austere and institutional, but the rooms are perfectly acceptable. You know clearly what to expect from the website - no toiletries or hairdryer in the room. This was fine at the cost for the first night. I did experience internal noise in the small hours of each of the nights, but this is often par for the course hotels in cities which have a lot of stag and hen parties. The hotel is very well placed for bars and restaurants in the new town. I would definitely recommend it if you can get a good price. But for last minute deals you might be better off elsewhere. I have rated it as very good for the price I paid for the first night!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank olwenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great, central location in a very pleasant part of Edinburgh - close to Princes and George Street and all the other popular attractions within walking distance.
The hotel was all we hoped it would be; clean, comfortable beds, great value for money. Our request for a quiet room ( before we arrived) - front of hotel - was granted. There are lots of great places for breakfast so it wasn't a problem that this wasn't included. .Would definitely recommend this Travelodge and hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here before a gig as it was cheap and I'm glad we did. It's very central and near lots of nice bars and restaurants. When we stayed here it was a brand new hotel and it was very comfortable and the staff were pleasant.

The room we had was located to the side of the hotel so it was pretty quiet. We didn't have breakfast so I cannot comment on that.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess_Pretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a family room which had a comfortable king-size bed, single bed with pull-out trundle bed, all made up ready for our arrival. The room was big and on the ground floor facing the road but well sound-proofed with secondary glazing. It was very clean and had plenty of towels for four of us. There wasn't much furniture apart from the beds and we had to take turns to sit in the only chair. It could do with more chairs or a sofa and a table or somewhere to put the bags on rather than living out of suitcases on the floor. There is a kettle and tea & coffee provided.

I was a little worried we would be woken in the night by other noisy guests returning from big nights out. We had seen a hen party checking in and I'm sure they have stag nights and rugby weekends all the time. Noise wasn't a problem for us even though we were near the entrance and lifts.

Location is excellent. It is about 5 minutes walk to the main shopping street and there are plenty of restaurants, bars & cafes even closer. Very good for tourists too. Royal Mile and castle are about 10 mins walk if you march straight up the steps and steep hill. The more gentle routes will take longer of course .

Price was fantastic. We paid £92 SuperSaver for 3 nights for a family of four which is outstanding value. It's a budget hotel so it doesn't really have any facilities other than the room itself. There is no bar, restaurant, lobby area, business centre, pool, spa etc but if you are looking for a decent place to sleep and tour the city, then I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Family rooms are a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kavajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#115 of 151 in Edinburgh
406 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street

Address: 30-31 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £41 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing