We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible entertainment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Inn

Ye Olde Inn
Ranked #991 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Terrible entertainment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We love coming to the Yee Olde as it's very local. The food is good value for money and the atmosphere on a sunny day is great having an amazing beer garden. On a Saturday night with so many young people willing to come here before hitting the clubs, we think the entertainment- music- could be so much better/ relevant to the crowd.. If fulling utlised the armosphere would be amazing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ye Olde Inn D, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for your warm words regarding the food and service at the Inn. We're sorry some of the entertainment is not to your taste and we have taken on board your feedback. Thanks again and hope to see you soon (hopefully in the sunny beer garden!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dinner at olde inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Have been going ro this pub for a few years now. Lovely pub, nice surroundings especially the new garden out the back but have noticed that the food portions have been getting smaller. You have to have a starter cos main meal wasn't enough. No peas. All in all still a nice pub will go back. Ps karaoke on sat night. Good fun

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ye Olde Inn D, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi, thanks for your positive feedback and have passed on your comments to the kitchen. Hope to see you at the Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a great package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is just the type of pub anyone would want to be within walking distance of. It has an olde worlde relaxed atmosphere, friendly service, nice beer garden, big fire in the grate and great pub food. I am a regular visitor and, if I didn't live 60 miles away, would frequent the inn far more often. The menu has a mixture of traditional fare such as fish and chips and steak pie with some more exotic choices such as fajitas and vegetarian haggis in a creamy sauce, and all at an affordable cost. This does "local pub" better than any other place I know.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Topdowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ye Olde Inn D, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello
Thanks for your warm words with regards to the Inn and are delighted you had a great experience.
We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kids portions not good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Been here several times with no complaints. First time ordering a kids meal. 4.70 for a bit of mash with a sausage stuck in it. Not happy

Helpful?
2 Thank mazaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ye Olde Inn D, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello
Thanks for pointing this out and although we have never had any complaints in the past we are now upgrading our "Little Persons" menu.
The sausage and mash dish for the kids will now have two sausages and we will have a more varied option available on other meals.
Your feedback has been great and we hope to see you at the Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My 2 friends and I had dinner at Ye Olde Inn and I was shocked at the small portion of fish and chips that we got . Was also disappointed that there was no peas. Thank goodness my husband wasn't there as he would need to visit The Corbie before going home . Service was very good from a very smiley waitress .Just getting tucked into some toast now not long after my dinner at Ye Olde Inn .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ye Olde Inn D, Public Relations Manager at Ye Olde Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello
We are sorry you did not feel the portion of food was adequate during your visit and have passed your comments on to the manager although we would point out the light bite option on the menu does not come with any peas and is a smaller portion.
Our new menu has been well received by locals and new customers - and as a valued customer, we hope to see you back soon.
Thanks for your comments about the staff - we have a great, dedicated team and your warm words will be passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing