We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cafe Gourmand - CLOSED

Le Cafe Gourmand
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Breakfast and Lunch French Café/Creperie.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Standards in what was previously an excellent local café have really slipped. Service was slow, sloppy, uncomprehending (not a language issue, just poor listening and communication skills) and a tad grudging, the tea tasted of whatever chemical they use to clean the coffee machine, so was not made with boiling water, paper napkins were wet, and food that could once transport snackers to Paris through its Frenchness has become bland and British. Another former regular who won't be hurrying back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GB O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute wee cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is definitely my favourite cafe in Edinburgh. I have such a weakness for cute wee cafes but as a student it's often difficult to find somewhere nice that is also cheap enough for my low budget!

Le Café Gourmand has it all for me: the coffee is great, the food is amazing (you have try to try their crepes! Nutella and banana is my personal favourite!), the staff are friendly, and the place has such a great atmosphere. I have often spent several hours there at the weekend or on my day off, getting uni work done and having a relaxing coffee and a crepe. I could spend all day in there if I had the time!
The prices are very reasonable and what you get it well worth what you pay!

It can get quite busy, especially around lunchtime, so sometimes you may have to wait a wee bit but this is true of most busy city-centre cafes at lunchtime. It has never been such a problem that it has affected my enjoyment of the place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasmin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have been a regular here for ages but my last few visits weren't up to the usual standard. The crepes were either overdone (and too crispy) or mushy. Additionally, even though I do not mind runny yolks, undercooked egg white is not that appetising. I will not be returning any time soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nohighlandsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you love Nutella, you'll love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Nutella Crepes, Nutella Hot Chocolate & Nutella Milk Shakes, tried & loved them all! Also tried a few of the wonderfully flavoured authentic Macaroons & cannot stop going on about how amazing the 'Mango & Passion fruit' one was.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LBoogie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic French crepes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

This cafe is wonderful - I've visited many times taking various friends with me and will keep going back. There is an excellent choice of savoury and sweet crepes, and the coffee is the best-tasting in Edinburgh. If you do not fancy a crepe, there are alternatives such as soup. The counter displays cakes and yummy macarons - a sweet treat is the passionfruit macaron, it is heavenly! I don't find the menu expensive at all as the quality of the food is high - very much recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe Gourmand also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing