We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappoints”
Review of Cafe No 9 - CLOSED

Cafe No 9
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We frequent this little café whenever we want a good cooked breakfast. The food never disappoints and the staff are so friendly and attentive.

We've been to lots of cafés on Leith Walk for breakfast, but we keep coming back to this one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzycatpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leith
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

One of the loveliest meals, with the best atmosphere at this quirky wee cafe, which had lovely decorations, and great music. (We also took our own tunes!) The cafe is available to be booked for a large group in the evening. It's BYOB with a minimal corkage fee.

We had our staff Christmas out, 16 of us and we were all delighted with the choice of menu. I had the vegetarian option which was delicious.
Homemade red onion and goats cheese tartlet, s/w peppery rockette leaves and a balsamic reduction
Tartiflette.. traditional French dish of creamy potato, leek, white wine and thyme fondant topped with reblochon cheese
Crème Brulee, with vanilla.

Other examples included:
Poached chicken duxelle, supreme of chicken stuffed with porcini mushrooms and wrapped in parma ham ,s/w a creamy pocini jus
Steak diane.. 8oz sirloin steak smothered in a creamy mushroom,onion sauce and s/w hand cut chips
Pan seared fillet of salmon, served with herb mash, seasonal veg and a chive cream sauce
Luxurious chocolate and Cointreau terrine, served with a raspberry coulis and Chantilly cream

This was our best night out, and I would fully recommend getting in touch to book the place for that special evening!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great wee local cafe....”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Good range of quality food at a reasonable price served in a nice clean environment by pleasant staff. What more is these to say?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apt611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Food was delicious, great choices available and fairly priced, the staff very welcoming, friendly and accommodating an absolute gem of a find! xx

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Local Cafe”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Great options for lunch and breakfast. Chatty, friendly staff. I live in the area and regularly eat here. Does great Mexican food on a Friday evening as well. A gem of a find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank albens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe No 9 also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing