We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a mixed bag” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bit of a mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The location of the hotel is great ,but keep in mind princes street is mainly shops ,if you are looking for the night life you will need to look elsewhere in the city .The work that is going on along princes street is something else to consider ,buses ,taxi dont run down street ,on saying that transport is not too far away .
Checkin at hotel is simple enough ,there is an automatic checkin machine ,staff were on hand to help if you had any problems.
We had a room on the same floor as the reception ,room was plenty big and was clean and tidy . View from window was not great we looked over a dentist and some nesting pigeons . We were disturbed by what sounded like a refuse truck each night . I would suggest that you ask for a room overlooking the castle .
We had problems with a toilet in our room ,this kept us awake the first night .The issue with toilet was sorted midday the following day .We did ask to be refunded for this night and i have to say we were refunded without any real problems .
As previously mentioned you get 30 min wifi daily and you can purchase more time via reception (24 hours £3.00 )
We did the £22 meal deal , which is fine for a night maybe two but thereafter the menu gets boring ,so if you are planning a long stay ,keep you options open and decide on a daily basis .
The staff were all very friendly and very helpful . We felt the restaurant could have been better staffed as at times they were over stretched . Helen in the restaurant was very efficient and helpful . Try and get a seat by the window in the restaurant the view is gorgeous .

Room Tip: Room overlooking castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InvernessLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    731
    136
    32
    19
See reviews for
752
1,016
74
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is a new hotel located right on Princess Street and across from the park and the castle. If you're into shopping, this is the place to stay. A short walk will get you to the old town or you can walk down to the station and catch a hop on/hop off bus. Right behind the hotel is Rose street where you can find a load of bars and pubs. Since the place is relatively new, the food menu is small and they have a limited selection of beers and spirits. The staff was incredibly friendly. The people all over Edinburgh were very friendly. It is a bit pricey but it is in a very central location. I would stay there again if I make it back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

stayed here with two adults and two kids and found the whole place to be superb
we had a room on the front overlooking the castle and top floor so the view was probe one of the best in edinburgh ,the food was really good and good value and the staff were excellent from start to finish

Room Tip: top floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

From the airport you could simply take Airlink 100 bus and get off in West End, this hotel is about 3-5 minutes walk (closer than Waverley Station) and right in front of the West Princes St Garden with the castle. Too bad there is a tram work along the Princes St that make this area a bit messy. This is my first time staying in Premier inn, so I was quite surprised with the check-in process for this new hotel (with the check-in machine). The lady in reception was very friendly though. The room 406 is spacious, with a double bed and a big sofa (could sleep for 3 persons I guess). No view from the window. The bed is okay but the pillows are too soft though they provided 2 kinds of pillow. They give 30 minutes free wi-fi connection in the room but we could buy voucher for 24 hours wi-fi connection for GBP 3. The bathroom has a bath-tub but they don't really provide the bath amenities (again, we could buy it from the hotel).
This hotel gives a good night guarantee but during my stay there I could not sleep well because of the noisy sound from the exhaust/fan in the bathroom (and there is no switch off button!). The next morning I've complained to the reception and she said they will try to repair it or move me to other room. At 6pm I came back to my room and seemed there was no sound anymore but at night after taking a shower that noisy sound was back and made me awake until 3am at least! One more thing, I asked another reception about where the nearest bus stop in West End for going back to the airport since there is a tram work so that many bus stops are closed. She was too lazy to find the information and just told me to go to the Waverley Station. So when I checked out, I followed her advise, walking in the rain for 10-15 minutes to Waverley Station, and when in the bus I found out the next bus stop is in Lothian Road which is only 3 minutes walk from the hotel! If I ever come back to Edinburgh, I think I would prefer to stay in a hotel in Royal Mile area since it's more happening there with many bars open until late at night while in Princes St most of the shops are close at 7pm and the street becomes so quite...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susanpradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good product!
Very Good & Central Location!
Good ratio price/product
It is a brand new hotel or fully renovated during the last year!
Good food quality!
The only negative note is for the softness of the bed's mattress!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Good site right on Princess street.
As ever good standard of room.
Very quite in the rooms.
Breakfast is OK, Evening meals are great. Drink range very limited though.
Online checkin was strange, as staff talk you through it ? Might just as well have left the staff to it.
All staff were friendly and helpfull.
Car parking discount is nice £26 down to £10 for 24 hours. But its a bit of a hike with your cases from the carpark. Short route in up and down quite steep hill, through park.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 07Versys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed here at the end of April to celebrate my husbands birthday whilst on a trip to Edinburgh. We were given a room on the 4th floor with a view of the castle which was very nice. It was nice and quiet too, with no noise from the street. Location of the hotel is excellent. Reception staff were very friendly, especially Sara on our arrival and throughout our stay. We too only had one each of hand and bath towels, despite 2 people in the room! Quick call to reception got extra towels. (Is this a new thing for Premier Inn?)
We only used the restaurant for breakfast so can't comment on the evening meals but as other reviewers have commented, the restaurant is chaotic in the morning!

Please Premier Inn, employ more staff, whilst the staff were not a problem it was the serious lack of them that was. At most 2 staff and the duty manager and one morning 1 member of staff and duty manager. Tables couldn't be cleared quick enough, food, milk, cutlery were running out, it got so bad we were looking in cupboards for cutlery and crockery that had run out and were then subsequently "told off" by the duty manager for doing so, it was chaos! The chef was getting "ratty" behind his counter, not at customers but probably about the total chaos that was going on in the restaurant. we have stayed at many Premier Inns over the last couple of years and I have to say the only way the cooked breakfast facility works is by an order being taken at the table. If Premier Inn insist on it not being by order, can they not put a member of staff on the floor to wholly look after the quantity of food available. The chef can't keep an eye on it, so what happens is, the fried eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes, etc run out at the same time. This is an eat as much as you like breakfast, nobody is going to consider the person behind and just take one egg, bacon, etc - we've paid for it and its not cheap at £8.25! Premier Inn know how busy breakfast can get between 8 & 9.30am, why aren't there extra staff. This is a hotel on probably one of the most well known streets in Edinburgh, it has a prime spot, they should look after it! We were there on an ordinary weekend, I dread to think what it will be like when the tattoo is on together with Edinburgh Fringe. Premier Inn need to put customers before profits!

Having said all of the above, the actual food was good but it was a stressful time! We would stay again, mainly for its location but perhaps skip the breakfast if it was to stay chaotic.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank westlife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing