We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb find right in the City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A superb find right in the City Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is the first time we've ever stayed at a Premier Inn and it won't be the last. What a superb find this was. I have to admit to having been every so slightly sceptical of all the fab reviews on here as I've often thought of Premier Inns being rather "downmarket" but never again! From the moment we arrived on Friday evening to the moment we left on Monday morning we had a great stay. The staff are every bit as great as other reviewers have said, friendly, helpful, willing and everything done with a real smile (not a false grin!). They really seem happy to work there and want to make your stay as nice as possible. The rooms were clean and comfortable and although the hotel is right on Princes Street we heard absolutely nothing from our 6th floor room. We didn't have a castle-view room but this wasn't a problem as we only wanted somewhere to sleep. The all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast was excellent value and unlike many hotel buffets not too much was put out at one time so it was always hot and fresh. We ate in the hotel on two nights and again the food was excellent quality and good value for money. We only booked two weeks before our trip so paid nearly £100 per night for the room but as it was a weekend and right in the city centre, opposite the castle then this is to be expected. Fabulous comfortable beds and a great night's sleep. Would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    740
    143
    32
    19
See reviews for
771
1,032
74
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a lovely hotel, lovely people, great bedroom and bathroom, lovely food breakfast and evening meal, great location, 15 mins from train station, near shops and all the attractions, altogether a great hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a bedroom with a view of the castle, the only trouble is the traffic noise, there is a air v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandSue1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Breakfast was good with great choice and great value.
View of the castle was excellent from room.
Staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us.
Overall a great place that I will definately be returning to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Excellent hotel. Clean and comfortable. Excellent customer service. The restaurant food was excellent and good value for money. Situated opposite the Castle on Princes street, excellent position for sightseeing and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the bin alley as the recycling was collected at 4.30am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Had a five night stay and really enjoyed the whole package,stayed in hotels that cost a lot more and give a lot less.Usual Premier Inn clean,comfortable,staff very attentive,breakfast help youself to as much as you want,had one evening meal in hotel which was very good.The hotel is in the middle of Edinburgh with lots of attractions within walking distance.The only thing to watch out for is its so easy to walk past the place,there is no sign only a door with Premier on it,if coming from Waverley Station its about 30 yards after HSBC bank.
ps We stayed in edinburgh three years ago when Princess Street was dug up for the tram lines,after all that time the tram lines are no further than just round the corner from Princess Street,is it a joke put on by the Fringe Theatre to see when people finally get it?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed for one night on business - perfect city centre location. Staff exceptionally welcoming and couldn't do enough to help or please. All seemed very intent that I had an excellent stay. Room was beautifully clean, well presented, had everything I needed, well laid out, spacious and comfortable. For a "budget end" hotel, the facilities were excellent, VERY good shower, everything spotlessly clean. Room was quiet all night, comfortable and with adjustable and effective aircon. If I return to Edinburgh on business again, I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBarribal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Very good hotel, part of the newer style of Premier Inn's and in very good order. Staff were super helpful and friendly and we even ate dinner one night we were too tired to go out and whilst it was nothing fancy, it was very reasonable and good value and would recommend it for convenience for at least one night. Quite honestly, if you wanted a nice burger in a peaceful setting (its above street level) and great view of Edinburgh Castle, its hard to beat even if you just went for something to eat.

We went for a two night stay with our 8 and 11 year old kids and the staff couldn't have been nicer and the location for Central Edinburgh is perfect, no need for taxis or buses! This was similar to the experience we had at a newer style Premier Inn at Liverpool Airport and this was an equally enjoyable experience. I'm usually the first to complain but have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing