We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel to go to theatre ( the proclaimers) nice welcome from reception- our room was spotless ,bed was very comfortable,tea coffee facility in room. Very reasonably priced and great position right on princess street will certainly stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,600
    754
    146
    32
    20
See reviews for
784
1,047
76
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at here, as we had booked 2 concerts at the nearby Usher Hall. We have stayed in quite a few Premier Inns over the years and have always had good service, clean rooms etc, but this one is the best we have stayed at. It only opened this year and of course it looks lovely and new, but even so it was obviously being maintained by housekeeping to a very high standard.
The reception staff were very helpful and efficient, and the slight problem we had was resolved cheerfully without hesitation.
It is so perfectly placed on Princes Street, convenient for just about everything. We had the bonus of an amazing view from our room, of the Castle .

We did have breakfast on both mornings, the staff were welcoming and helpful. It was no problem to order items (eg. poached eggs ) from the menu . The order taken immediately and the items delivered as soon as my husband had finished his cereal.
There was a plentiful and varied buffet , good brands of cereals , with whole/semiskimmed/skimmed/soya milk,an excellent hot buffet , everything beautifully cooked . Fruit salad and yoghurt and summer fruits too. And really good croissants .
It was very busy the first morning, but the staff were replenishing and clearing/cleaning surprisingly quickly.

We have stayed at many different hotels in Edinburgh, and always wished Premier Inns would open one really central .At last they have and it is A Gem , it would be hard to find fault with anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Having to travel a lot with work and stay in a variety of hotels both home and abroad, I see a lot of good and bad hotels. Planning a city break with my wife we were surprised to see the premier inn on princes st rated so highly on tripadvisor.

We decided to take the plunge and book 3 nights. The location is great with stunning views of Edinburgh castle, ask for a castle view room in advance. The staff were very welcoming and took a keen interest in the individuals checking in.

Surprisingly good for a budget hotel! Stayed in much worse for double the price, I cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel other than the cost may be slightly higher than you would normally expect to pay for a premier inn but it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

Yes excellent, very good location on princes street very clean with friendly helpful staff nothing was to much bother from reception to the catering staff,good value for money and I would highly recommend as an affordable inexpensive hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

My Sister and I were going to see Keane play at the Usher Hall and this Premier Inn was the perfect location. No real complaints except the duvet was too heavy! Our twin room (314) had no view but was completely fine for our one night stay in Edinburgh. We ate at McDonalds just along the road. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Very clean hotel with very friendly staff. Would recommend. Please be aware though that the car park is £24 for 24 hour parking, extremely expensive. Didn't have breakfast, but will next time as it looked great!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Largs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed here for one night during a business trip. The hotel proved quite a challenge for my taxi driver to find - it has quite a subtle entrance on Princes Street. Reception and the restaurant/bar area is located on the 2nd floor, providing stunning views to the castle. The lift system takes a bit of getting used to. Rooms pretty well appointed with the normal lovely comfy beds. Staff very friendly and helpful. There was a mix-up with my room booking which meant I had to pay for it up front myself, because staff could not locate the required fax, however this has now been refunded. Breakfast was mediocre (but what you would expect from a budget hotel). Would recommend if you are on foot but not if travelling by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pie-in-the-skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing