We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night sleep guarenteed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I spent two nights here on business last week and it was quite outstanding. Spotlessly clean. Quiet (almost silent) room - amazing for a city centre hotel and every single member of staff was polite, helpful and accommodating.

It is in a great location on Princes street, central to shops, buses and trains. My ONLY criticism was the food was very basic in quality, so although they offer evening food, I suggest you wander out to one of the numerous nearby restaurants (catering for every taste) that are within two or three minutes walk! But that is the ONLY thing that wasn't perfect!

If you want somewhere to stay in Edinburgh at a reasonable price...look here first!

Room Tip: If you want to view the castle ask for room at the front. My room was at the back with no view but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoneWolf153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,341 - 2,347 of 2,741 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have stayed in a lot of hotels over the world but all I can say is Premier Inn Princess Street is its great value for money and the service is first class!!
Our room was on the 3rd Floor with stunning views of the Castle, the rooms have all you need and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was great. Could not here Princess Street in the room and the hotel was very quiet at night. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel to anyone ! Well Done Princess Street :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCSShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

jesus dont take a car. the city is totally gridlocked at the min, due to tram works, however the premiere inn is in a ideal spot for site seeing, well if you can park or get near it.....gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlockedgridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked gridlocked
being honest really bad for cars

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank homless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I was really looking forward to staying in this hotel. We had a fantastic experience at the Premier Inn at the Gyle Centre and we knew the hotels were opened at more or less the same time. I'll start with the positives, the hotel was clean,staff were super, castle views from our room and the dining room were great and the food was good. Unfortunately we found the communal areas to be quite cold so sitting in the restaurant and bar at night without a jacket was a bit uncomfortable. My biggest problem however was the noise from the street. The website does say to expect some noise if you have a room facing the castle, but I didn't sleep very well for the 2 nights we were there. It could have been because we were on the 3rd floor and nearest ground level, or perhaps the vent on the window wasn't working properly, but we could hear conversations that passers by were having! I would stay here again if we got a much better deal, we paid £175 for 2 nights, but I would definitely be asking for a quieter location.

Room Tip: I would not recommend room 319, far too much noise coming from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FEBlindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to provide this due to the noise disturbances you encountered throughout your stay.

Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Had a lovely stay here for two nights, excellent location, rooms were very clean and light. We were lucky to have a castle view. My parents joined us on the second night and were also lucky enough to be given a castle view room which was very spacious.

The staff were professional, helpful and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble.

My wife and I had to wait a little while because our room wasn't ready when we arrived, we didn't mind as it gave us time to sit in the bar area and enjoy the ambiance and a hot drink. The receptionist apologised for our wait and asked if we would like free refreshments, we didn't take this up, however was very impressed that it was offered.

Breakfast was very good and excellent value, my wife and I ordered poached eggs, done to perfection. Very good variety and would suit most tastes. The hot food was always kept topped up and fresh. Waiters were fantastic.

Would definitely stay here again, thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Room Tip: Room 417 had castle view, Room 424, very spacious again with a castle view, might be a corner room d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

best view from the restaurant ever,the staff were all friendly,helpful and fun,very important to me.they all seemed to enjoy there job.close to rose street,which has all you need on it, buses outside to go to the royal yacht,recommended.staff very helpful when needing transport anywhere.first time in edinburgh,cant wait to go back to see more sites.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Location excellent - rail station a short walk away, bus stop outside the hotel and important sightseeing destinations around within walking distance. Sayed here with my wife and infant child in september 2012. Rooms were spacious - a bonus in Europe (since we had an infant along, needed space for him to move around and were given a 3 bed room). This premier inn commanded a premium however justified by its location. The only glitch was that no inroom amenities like body lotion, soap, shampoo, etc. were provided which is a must these days in all hotels irrespective of their stars. Also, the tv set was a tad smaller and didnt have any international channel options. Being a new property, everything was in good shape. Service standards were decent. Overall a good destination if you just want to spend the night indoors.

Room Tip: Dont forget to pack lotions, shampoos and bath gels if you book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhisurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,878 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing