We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay right in the heart of Edinburgh!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fab stay right in the heart of Edinburgh!!”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Basic yet safe, clean and spacious!! Right in the heart of the city nestled between shops on a main street. Stunning views of Edinburgh castle from the restaurant which I'm sure would cost a hell of a lot more if occupied by another chain.

I orginally contacted the hotel before we arrived and requested a castle view room. I was disappointed when they didnt deliver, however our room was on the fifth floor and at the back away from the roads so it was very quiet which I really appreciated after hearing others complain about the noise! Staff were helpful too, allowing us to use their computer and printer to check in for our flight home and print our boarding passes.

Bed was slightly too firm for our liking, but all in all the hotel is a great, cheap place to explore the beautiful city!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unlikelyrose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    763
    148
    32
    22
See reviews for
793
1,064
78
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Aust
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay here as the staff were friendly, the location great and the price reasonable. The rooms were comfy and spacious enough and we had a nice view of the castle out our window. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and we would definately recommend this hotel to our friends. If you don't mind a bit of walking you can do Edinburgh Castle on foot or the buses are about 10-15 mins walk straight down Princes St. You only get half an hour free wifi is the only downfall but we managed to keep to this.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02KJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was my first stay in a Premier Inn and I was most impressed. The size of our room was generous with a fantastic unobstructed view of Edinburgh Castle. There was no noise from Princes Street below. The hotel itself was incredibly clean, the staff very polite and the breakfast downstairs well priced with a very good selection. The room rate and central location were ideal. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and will be back. Everything seemed to all just work very well. Can't think of any faults or much else to add to the glowing reports this hotel has already received.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Lovely attentive staff, hotel itself and the rooms are very clean, fantastic location on Princes St, breakfast was really good and we also had dinner at the hotel one night which was very nice. What more could you want? We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herechoccychoccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

The 3rd Premier Inn we have stayed in and I can confirm they are identical in their purpleness. Very clean and comfortable. They are stripped back to basics but that is why they are cheap. No freeby shampoo in the bathroom and annoying toilet tissue dispensers.
The breakfasts are reliably good. Don't bother booking breakfast in advance unless you think it is a busy night. We got a voucher for £1 off breakfast that appeared over night obviously because there were not many booked in already.
The wifi that costs £3 for 24 hours is really annoying and keeps losing the connection.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwitRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

we stayed here a couple of week ago. Great hotel and staff were terrific. The location is one of the best right in Princess street So handy for all activities the breakfast was really good value dont know about evening meals we ate out, but it did look busy again great value.Will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed here for two nights from 8th December and couldn't have picked a better spot . We have stayed at many premier inns over the years but this was the best one to date . Everything was perfect , the staff , the restaurant and the rooms which were very quiet considering the hotel was on the main street of the capital city

Room Tip: Excellent location with restaurant overlooking Edinburgh castle . Also bus stop nearby for bus to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing