We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For shopping no better location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
DONAGHMORE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For shopping no better location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed with my wife from 2nd to 4th January 2013 and surely one of the best located hotels in Edinburgh for those who want to shop and drop, shop and drop. Anyone expecting luxurious surroundings with wide open reception, expansive restaurant and evening entertainment will be disappointed but the price paid more than compensated for their absence. Rooms are very clean with comfortable bed and our own experience was very very limited noise either within the hotel or from outside. Bathroom with great shower was also spotlessly clean. Room was cold despite several attempts to get it warm via air-conditioning. Resturant on the 2nd was the coldest restaurant I have ever eaten in. Both mentioned to the receptionist and both dealt with promptly.
Biggest draw back was the lack of a safe in the room to store valuables- really cannnot understand why this is so.
On meals breakfast was great -self service and as many times as you like. Dinner was something different. We had pre-paid the meals package and to our disbelief this meant that many of the options were not available to us despite the fact that some priced similarily - could not understand this and whilst again the food was good the choice was so limited that we eat out on the second night.
All in all would certainly use the hotel again but woudl not book the meal package - much too restrictive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    740
    143
    32
    19
See reviews for
771
1,032
74
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed here for three nights in January 2013. We were greeted by friendly and happy to help staff who kept our bags until check in and even after we had checked out which was great. the room was lovely and clean. There was plently of room and the bathroom was more than we expected and the towels were changed every day along with the bed sheets. I would recommend this Hotel for a short or long stay! p.s Breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed for two nights in October and had a brilliant time. The hotel was spotless and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The view from our room of the castle must be one of the best in Edinburgh. Didn't eat in the hotel as we were seduced by the many attractions of the city. Other large chains could learn much from Premier Inn's attention to detail, cleanliness and their positive attitude to children.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardtoPleaseMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Excellent location in the city centre with amazing views of the castle from the restaurant. Room was very clean and smartly decorated. Room had thermostat and air con making it easy for the room to be at the right temperature for a comfortable nights sleep. Staff very helpful. Would certainly stay again. Breakfast was expensive at £8.99 so ate at the BHS cafe a couple of minutes down the road for £3.25 !!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Usual Premier Inn good value, clean and accommodating rooms 10 mins walk from train station .tea and coffee making facilities in rooms and helpful staff on hand. Would definitely stay again.only thing we would mention would be the heat in the rooms and not being able to open the windows.... But really we should have turned on the air con earlier so that was our fault. Requested clean towels which were delivered without hesitation...lovely helpful staff throughout hotel.

Room Tip: Requested a castle view room but unfortunately there were none left.... Maybe ring hotel if you real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithboyd94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Perfect location right off the main street and brilliant view of the castle.

Went for Hogmanay so couldnt have got a better location for the fireworks.

Dirty pillow and bedsheet but apart from that was percfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kodak747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Fantastic location right in the middle of Princes Street in Edinburgh, quiet room which was great although room with a view over princes street would have been nice but it was a last minute booking and all those rooms gone. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, lovely clean spacious room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing