We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel is right on Princess st and directly opposite the castle. As other reviewers have commented you do get exactly what you expect from this hotel chain. I think it is quite a new hotel and everything is very clean and new. The staff were young and friendly. My only gripe was that the service for our evening meal in the restaurant was very slow. The restaurant was far from busy but it took ages! I am a great fan of the meal deal where you get your evening meal and breakfast for around 22 pounds per person. Breakfast was also very good but it was busy on a Sunday a.m and there were some very grumpy folk waiting for breakfast items that kept running out; some folk have no patience! I would also like to give management some constructive advice about having a buzzer or bell on the bar. It was quiet late afternoon and twice we waited quite a while, as did other folk to get served.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,720)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,207 - 2,213 of 2,721 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here based on you know what you are getting with a premier inn and so no surprises good nights sleep, comfortable beds and bathroom, clean and all staff helpful and friendly. That has been my experience anyway although I have only stayed in premier inns in major cities ie London, Gatwick etc Edinburgh princess street did not disappoint in fact in excelled. Staff were extremely pleasant as well as doing their job perfectly and the bar area with the view of the Castle is pleasant enough to spend some time in having a night cap. The location is great fro public transport. we went on the train and walked down princess street straight to hotel which is between the shops on the main street. you may think this would make it noisy but it was completely silent at night in our room. it is a new hotel I think and they must have sound proofed it very well.

The on line booking, texts, auto check in with email bill so no wasting paper and envelopes is very slick. Price was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shangrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

From arriving to leaving the premier inn came up trumps. We use this chain as we only need a place to sleep and are not bothered about it been what is regarded as a low end chain and they never fail to impress. Our room had no view, but as I say we only sleep there. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Breakfast on our first morning was cooked to order as the hotel was quite and with a view of a sunny castle it was made even more enjoyable. Not opened long it was very fresh and clean, I am a big premier inn fan and always recommend them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Symon1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My partner wanted me to have a memorable 50th, and booked two nights, she asked the hotel if we could have top floor with view of the castle as its right there in front of the hotel.
They obliged in everything she asked and had even left a birthday card.
Lovely clean hotel, very friendly staff and will deff be going back.
Look for meal deals if you eat there in the evening, you can get a fantastic breakfast for just a few pounds more, the staff in restaurant where also very helpful and eager to please.
Alan

Room Tip: Try like we did for high up with view of castle our room was 501
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Fantastic location with great views of the Castle from its restaurant. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was lovely. The staff were very friendly. I will be booking here again for my next visit to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshbelly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

First class location, excellent hotel.
However, staff were rude, abrupt, unhelpful and unwilling to listen or do any work, such as refilling salad bar or serve you at bar.
Duty manager no help either.

Room Tip: Excellent location.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bampirhondda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

this was our first time in edinburgh, and we could have not picked a better place to stay, right in the middle of princess st. on arrival we were greated with a warm welcome which is a pleasent change from other hotels we have stayed at. hotel room was spotless and warm. bar staff were friendly and very helpful with places to go and see. view from bar area of the castle was to die for.will stay again and would recomend to anyone. the staff were brilliant and made all the difference.

Room Tip: if your lucky theres a few rooms look straight on to the castle
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanFerris475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing