We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Went for two nights to see Edinburgh (so basically used the room for sleeping). Room was spotless, perfectly tidy. Bed was very comfortable after walking around all day. Kettle and tv handy. All you can eat breakfast brilliant, good quality food and very good price. Staff very helpful and knowledgable of local area. Very very good stay for a very low price. Couldn't pick a fault if I had too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 231MichaelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    754
    146
    32
    20
See reviews for
783
1,046
76
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location for Edinburgh City base. Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff who always said hello. Modern and clean. Good bar and lounge just off main restaurant. Efficient check in. New looking bathroom and usual Premier Inn quality bedroom.

The hotel's main entrance is located on Princes Street between Starbuck's and New Look. This puts the hotel in a really good spot immediately by an on street bus interchange and a couple of minutes walk to the airport link coach stop, which doubles as a bus stop adjacent a large Church.

We arrived by plane, caught the airport link coach which is located immediately after the departure exit doors, there was no wait for the coach or any buses we caught to get about in Edinburgh, it has a really efficient and regular bus and airport link service - you'd be made to try and drive. The coach dropped us off on Princes Street within 20 to 30m of the Hotel.

We had asked for a Castle view room and our wish was granted. We stayed on the 4th floor with brilliant unobstructed views of the Castle. I would recommend anyone staying here to request this.

We were easily able to get about by walking, bus and coach taking in Edinburgh Castle, Camera Obscura, Royal Yatch Britannia, Open Top Bus Tour and Edinburgh Zoo during our short stay. The hotel is located perfectly for these attractions and of course the shops on Princes Street and restaurants on or off the parallel Rose Street.

The weather was cold at the start of April. The snow on the Pentland Hills visible from most places provided a stunning backdrop.

A great stay at a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Castle view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert-ErnieAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

easter trip with two other couples ideal location facing the castle, very clean place to stay ,15 minute walk from waverley station, breakfast very good cooked or continental,bar prices a bit steep though, would stay again.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the front castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRY3748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport pagnell, U.K.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and i new what to expect from the hotel as we've stayed at Premier Inns before and this did not disappoint, a reasonable price,a clean comfortable room and bathroom with a good location opposite the castle and within easy walking distance of Edinburghs sights. We did not use the hotels restaurant as we chose to eat outside but looking at the menu the choice was somewhat minimal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newcanadafan429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very nice hotel where you will get a great nights sleep in very comfortable rooms which are cleaned to perfection each day. The breakfast (either continental or full english) is great. The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We will certainly stay here again as the location is perfect for us to get to the sights, attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Yes PI highly recommended you really have to applaud PI Princess St.

Very clean and staff very helpful and friendly and really laid back which is very helpful when you travel with children.

Corrina (staff memeber)is a bit of a hit with families and she is great!

Breakfast well stocked and clean and the unlimited salad bar with evening meal again great for children as opposed to chips,chips,chips!!

They also cover those cabin fever moments in the evening with a selection of children's games,colouring pencils and drawing pads available at the dining area.
Walk out on to Princess St to a variety of shops, cafe and lots to do.

The only con here is the rooms without opening windows, which means puddles of condensation on the window sill and running down thw walls every morning not great with young children in the room I let 2 members of staff know.

Would recommend but as mentioned slighty dubious about the temp,condensation in the rooms when staying longer that 3/4 nights.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We loved to stay at Premier Inn, staff was very professional and room was very clean and comfortable. You can choose if you like continental or english breakfast for a small price. We will soon stay again at Premier Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybille_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing