We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, great location.”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

As with most Premier Inns you know exactly what you're getting before you arrive - functional but clean and comfortable rooms and good value for money. Premier Inn, Princes Street adds very friendly and helpful staff, great food (at breakfast anyway - didn't try the dinners) and an ideal location (10 minute walk from Waverley Station). All in all a great base from which to explore Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonG41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    754
    146
    32
    20
See reviews for
783
1,046
76
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here when taking a trip overnight with our young family. We took the train and decided to walk from the station. It is a bit of a walk, probably 15 minutes, but is right on Princes Street. We asked for a view of the castle from our room, which we were given and it also gave us a great view of the rest of the city. The hotel itself appears to be quite new and was very clean and tidy. There is also a bar and restaurant if needed. There are several amenities closeby and a bus stop outside the hotel. All in all a good budget hotel in a central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the castle and get so much more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March for partners 30th Birthday. I asked in advance if there was a chance of a top floor room with Castle view, given the nature of the stay. I was very pleased that they were able to do this for me as I know there are only limited rooms with that view.
The hotel is right along Princess Street and offers the best location for the price.
You will not be disappointed with this hotel, regardless of what room you end up getting. This hotel is worthy of being in the top 10 of places to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayandLuke2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Excellent view overlooking edinburgh castle snow on the mountings ,central for eateries ,would stay for longer next time .Could not fault it , may think of hoggmony for new year Great breakfast set us up for the day ready for our journey


  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanpam683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Perfect location for local attractions.The staff are friendly and welcoming nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean, warm and spacious and the facilities are excellent. The food is good and plentiful and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to all age groups.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegadgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here for the second time while introducing my mum to Edinburgh. Perfectly located with beautiful views of the castle. The staff are brilliant and friendly (as always) and everything very shiny and comfy.

The restaurant is AMAZING! And was practically empty. We ate there in the evening twice as we always seem to find it difficult to find places to eat in Edinburgh. First night we were the only ones in there. The food was gorgeous and very well priced. Definitely recommend. Breakfast is also lovely and a help yourself cooked breakfast which I always prefer.

We had a twin room, and Premier Inn twin rooms are only the normal double bed and the sofa bed. The sofa bed isn't that comfy. We were also unfortunate enough to be facing onto an alley which one night saw a lot of talking and a possible fight. All of that and my usual not being able to sleep much away from home meant I didn't sleep for 3 nights but I didn't feel that this was the hotel's fault (although the bed could be comfier).

Bar is quite small when there's a rowdy group of drunken lads in there but otherwise this hotel is comfy, cosy, clean and perfectly placed in the most beautiful city in the UK.
Definitely staying here again when I can convince someone to come with me!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Friendly Staff, Spotlessly clean and great location! You might like to request a room to the front of the hotel. A fantastic view of the castle is waiting for you. Unfortunenately we were at the side:-(


  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adey_cart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing